1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Problem with sound in a c6 rs6! Please help!

Discussion in 'A6/S6/Allroad forum (C6 Chassis)' started by Josh williams, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Hi guys.

    I have a c6 rs6 avant. I've had a new amp fitted as the old one was faulty, after it was fitted there was no sound due to component protection. I took it into audi and they removed the protection but still have no sound coming from the speakers. I've been told it could be the phone module which is under the passenger seat however the Bluetooth connects to the phone and my phone book etc comes up it will make and recieve calls just no sound.

    Same with everything else it all works on the screen the reversing camera comes up stereo all works just speakers seem to be inactive.

    Is is there anything I can try before having to send my car in somewhere?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Did you get a fault scan done?

    What year is the car? Does it have MMI 2G or 3G?
    #2
  3. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Audi wanted more money just to diagnose so I said I'll leave it for now!

    It's a 2008 car with dab aswell I'm not sure if that makes it 2g or 3g!
    #3
  4. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Re-read your post, phone module under the seat means 2G.

    You need the car scanned for faults regardless, no point in guessing what could be wrong.
    #4
  5. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Is this something vcds should show up?

    Back to the 2g/3G I had a look under the seat and couldn't see a phone module under there which means it could be 3G.

    I will try and get a picture asap!
    #5
  6. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Yes, VCDS would also help.

    It's not under the seat, it's under the carpet beneath the front passenger seat.

    MMI 3G's bluetooth is software.
    #6
  7. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    Will there be a visible break in the carpet under the seat to access it? I can see the part where all the wired go in from the seat but other than that the carpet rolls straight through to the back of the car with no visible flaps or anything
    #7
  8. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    You need to remove the seat, kick plate trim and then go from underneath.

    You still need a fault scan so don't do anything yet!!
    #8
  9. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [Apr 20, 2014]
    #9
  10. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    I will try get the car scanned ASAP and see what comes up!
    #10
  11. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [Apr 22, 2014]
    Remember to erase all faults, ignition off and on then rescan.
    #11
  12. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 1, 2014]
    Was out looking in the car tonight and found that for some reason the navigation unit has been unplugged and linked out with some sort of orange cable.

    i plugged it back in and the screen didn't turn on, un plugged it and put the link back in and the screen came on again. Now I'm pretty sure that this is the fault!

    I scanned it with a snap on solus as i haven't got access to a vag com yet and nothing come up.

    Does this sound like it could be my problem?
    #12
  13. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 1, 2014]
    The orange cable is the fiber optic for the car. There should be 3 cables going into the back of the navigation unit, the fiber optic cables (Input & output) power cable and GPS antenna, If just the optic cable has been bypassed then sound should work regardless.

    Do you know how it's been bypassed is it a connector like this
    mh4H3qC10yk4SXSfVfZToQQ.jpg

    Does the light on the DVD eject button light up on the navigation?

    Whoever disconnected the navigation may have removed the coding from the car so you may not see any error codes.

    If your anywhere around the north east I have vag-com and can check the MMI system.
    #13
  14. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 1, 2014]
    Unfortunately I'm in Peterborough.

    It is the optic cable that has been bypassed, but saying that the nav drive does nothing, no lights and doesn't even make a noise when you press the eject button asif it's dead.

    If the unit was faulty would this be the cause for no sound?

    As I'm confused why it has been linked out in the first place!
    #14
  15. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 1, 2014]
    Is the power cable connected, and is the fuse in place. It could have gone faulty and rather than replacing the unit they have just disabled it (Feck knows why on such an expensive motor) You can get replacement units on ebay for around £200 if yours is dead.

    AUDI MMI NAVIGATION SYSTEM UNIT GPS DVD 2G DRIVE A6 A8 A5 Q7 SAT NAV + DISC 07 | eBay

    If they have removed the coding in the can-gateway module then it easy to add back but you will need VCDS to do this. Regardless of this it would not affect the sound system.

    Even with the navigation disabled you should get sound, but without a full VCDS scan of the car and seeing the coding of the can-gateway and the other MMI modules its difficult to get to the bottom of the fault.
    #15
  16. Av4nt
    Offline

    Av4nt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    273
    [May 2, 2014]
    christ they make nothing easy do they...
    #16
  17. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 2, 2014]
    The power cable was connected but not doing anything at all no light or nothing.

    It's really annoying me as I love the car but no sound is horrible!

    I guess my only next option is a vag come scan before I go spending money on a new nav unit
    #17
  18. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 2, 2014]
    You need to find the fuse for the nav, the fuse location is on the right hand side of the car where the tools & jack is, I'm not sure which one it is at the moment but will check my car in a bit.
    #18
  19. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 2, 2014]
    Should be position 7 in the brown fuse carrier at the rear left of the car. If the fuse is in place use a volt meter on the connector going into the nav if there is power then the module is dead, and it will need to be replace as you will not be able to get access via VCDS. I have replaced a couple of dead modules over the years so it's not uncommon.

    I know you said the AMP has been replaced, this could have been caused the the faulty washer pipe that covers the modules with screen wash which is known for damaging the AMP and can get water into the other modules. I would check with your local Audi dealer to make sure all the outstanding recalls have been done on the car including the washer pipe.
    #19
  20. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 2, 2014]
    Checked the fuse and its okay, but haven't had chance to get the power to it.

    If there is power to it and the optic is linked out will a faulty unit stop the sound from working?
    #20
  21. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 2, 2014]
    No all you need for sound is the main MMI control head, AMP and an audio device CD/radio etc.

    If the fuse is Ok and the power connector is plugged then it does sound like the nav is dead the button on the found should be illuminated and mechanism should make a sound when you press the eject button.
    #21
  22. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 3, 2014]
    I would say the nav unit is knackered then.

    However I'm not to bothered about this yet my main problem is getting the sound to work as it's driving me up the wall having no music! I take it my next port of call is a vag com scan?
    #22
  23. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 3, 2014]
    Yes, need to see the status of each module and the coding.

    One other test is to remove the power connector from the AMP and leave for a minute and then reconnect. There is a know issue that causes the AMP to be stuck in mute, its a firmware fault that was fixed with later updates. You can do the update yourself just go to the Audi parts department and ask for 4L0998961 should be around £5, whatever you don don't ask about these discs or how to use them as you will be told a load of rubbish and asked to book the car in and charge £££ for a simple update.
    #23
  24. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 4, 2014]
    That sounds like what it is as everything functions normally just no sound!

    If I unplug the power will It not require component protection when I plug it back in?
    #24
  25. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 4, 2014]
    No, component protect is a one time configuration, it learns the VIN number of the car so will only require component protect removal if connected to another car, as it will detect the VIN number has changed.
    #25
  26. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 15, 2014]
    Little update from me, got hold of a vagcom and ran a scan on the car.

    The only faults that are showing up with any connection to the sound system is that the dab unit is lacking power and causing system limitation. Also ran a test on the speakers and found that "centre midrange/treble speaker" and "hat shelf speaker" wasn't making any sound what so ever, all other speakers functioned fine.

    Now my plan of attack was to get another fibre optic link to link the dab tuner out to see if this is causing a problem. If not then start trying to find out where these two speakers are that aren't working!

    Any input is greatly welcome! Josh.
    #26
  27. Delboi
    Offline

    Delboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    12
    [May 16, 2014]
    You may want to do a test on the most fibre optic system as there may be an issue there.

    You also mention you got a new amp, and then went to Audi to have component protection removed, which reading between the lines would tell me the amp most likely second hand?

    If it it is then there is the possibility it knackered.
    Last edited: May 16, 2014
    #27
  28. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 16, 2014]
    "system limitation" could well be the issue, from the sound of thing the washer pipe broke and has just about damaged every module bar the Radio. The speakers could be faulty or there is a wiring issue, have you checked the plug for any corrosion on the pins.
    #28
  29. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 16, 2014]
    Took the dab unit out and couldn't find any corrosion on the board or the plugs.

    I think I may have to take it to somewhere that can fix it as I think this is a little out of my depth.

    I just want the thing fixed now! Any recommendations that aren't to far from the Peterborough area?

    Thanks for all your help anyway!
    #29
  30. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 16, 2014]
    So you fitted a loop to isolated the DAB and still no sound?
    #30
  31. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 17, 2014]
    I haven't, I was going to buy one to try it but as it said supply voltage b+ is low so I thought it was a power issue.

    However I may purchase a loon and give it a go before I give up!
    #31
  32. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 17, 2014]
    I would bypass the DAB module, the fewer modules in the MOST loop the easier it will be to isolate the fault.
    #32
  33. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 17, 2014]
    Okay I'll get one on order and see how it goes!

    I'd be over the moon if that was the problem!
    #33
  34. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 21, 2014]
    Linked out the dab unit and still exactly the same!

    Looks like its a trip to the garage for me! thanks again
    #34
  35. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 21, 2014]
    #35
  36. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 21, 2014]
    The mute icon appears when you turn the volume all the way down and then disapeers when you turn the volume up.

    Trying to get my head around it is confusing as it's just one thing that's holding it off!
    #36
  37. Josh williams
    Offline

    Josh williams Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    37
    [May 23, 2014]
    So i was out in the car tonight and i decided to turn the volume all the way down so the mute icon was on, turned off the mmi then back on, turned the volume up and it worked!

    But then returned to the car 10 minutes later started it up and it didn't come on, after messing around doing the same thing by turning it down and then off and on about a dozen times it came back on, loaded up a cd and that worked.

    Turned the car off again and started it back up, then nothing again. Tried the same trick yet again and couldn't get the sound back on.

    Now this has confused me even more! Any ideas?
    #37
  38. B5NUT
    Offline

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,555
    Likes Received:
    321
    [May 24, 2014]
    Have you tried to reset the MMI to factory defaults, press the car then setup button, press the top right menu button. Select default settings, and reset all to factory default.
    #38

Share This Page