1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PRNDS flashing

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by les hook, Jul 7, 2010.

  1. les hook
    Offline

    les hook New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    The PRNDS indicator on the display has started to flash every few days, usually leaving the car switched of for a while stops it flashing, my car is a 2004 Avant 1.9 Diesel Multitronic, with 118000 on the clock.
    Is it a big job to cure and if so is there anywhere in Leeds that I could get it fixed, preferably not an Audi main dealer.

    Les
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. quattrojames
    Online

    quattrojames Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,893
    Likes Received:
    477
    [Jul 7, 2010]
    From memory it's the gearbox ECU on the way out - not a cheap fix iirc. Sorry I can't be more specific, try a search on here.
    #2
  4. SirSpanky
    Offline

    SirSpanky New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 8, 2010]
    Have to agree with quattrojames, time to find a good garage to check it out...

    If you're brave, you can order a refurb unit from someone like this:

    http://www.bba-reman.com/catalogue/Products.aspx?category=816

    and they'll knock £150 for sending your old one to them.

    All you need to do is unclip it and slide it off (carefully, as the plastic guides are a bit fragile) and put the new one on. There's a guide for doing it somewhere, but i couldn't find it just now... I'm fairly sure there is no coding to be done (but i have been known to be wrong).

    If you go to a garage, make sure you get the oil on the gearbox changed as well.

    Welcome to the (often expensive) multitronic owner's club!:)
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jul 8, 2010]
    Check the microswitch that is built into the gear unit below gearstick, basically its the switch that signals when its in park & unlocks the key for removal, mine was dodgy on the A3 SB & I messed with it a bit with a finger & hasnt done it since.
    #4
  6. blackpool1974
    Offline

    blackpool1974 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. a4 2.4 se
    Offline

    a4 2.4 se V6

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2010]
    Just had my multitronic ecu changed . Had the ecu recon by ecutesting and the work done by www.nass-techautos.co.uk ,vw and audi specialist, in the end all done for under£700 ... the car now drive sweet
    #6
  8. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 26, 2011]
    Hello, hope you don't mind bumping this thread. Mine just did this today, however it had no effect on the drive. It selected gear changed gear all faultlessly. Would a fault code show up on a scan?
    #7
  9. The Original Scarface
    Offline

    The Original Scarface No Ego

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Apr 27, 2011]
    This is exactly what happened to me on Bank Holiday Friday. Take a look at my thread it should be able to help you.
    #8
  10. The Original Scarface
    Offline

    The Original Scarface No Ego

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 3, 2011]
    What happened to your car in the end did you resolve the problem?
    #9
  11. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 4, 2011]
    Not had chance to look at it yet. Still works fine and hasn't flashed for a few days. I need to clean the contacts first... But I need to know how to locate it.. Any ideas?
    #10
  12. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 4, 2011]
    Hi mate

    How do I find this switch? And where is the ecu and how do you get to it?

    Cheers
    #11
  13. The Original Scarface
    Offline

    The Original Scarface No Ego

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    41
    [May 4, 2011]
    Hey mate im not a specialist but i do know the ECU chip is located somewhere in the gearbox well that's what my mechanic told me (Lol).
    #12
  14. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2011]
    Got a mate who is going to take a look if the worst comes to the worst ecu testing will repair for £250, plus a couple o hours labour for my mate to remove and replace £350 or so not too bad I guess :)

    It's ok at the moment touch wood
    #13
  15. ianh
    Offline

    ianh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2011]
    plus oil,£70 or so
    #14
  16. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2011]
    Chuff, forgot about that! What stuff do I need?
    #15
  17. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 8, 2011]
    Hasn't done this for days now... I'm guessing it will pop up again soon though
    #16
  18. E4
    Offline

    E4 2004 A4 3.0 V6 Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2011]
    Mine has started flashing today :( is it ok to drive until I can get to a specialist? Or am I making it worse ?? 3.0 v6 petrol
    #17
  19. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 8, 2011]
    I spoke too soon... Went to brum today and was flashing all the way there. Drives fine although Sport will not work. I pulled over turned off the engine, then back on.. No flashing. Been fine for the rest of the day. Mines been flashing on and off for a week or so now and still drives fine. I am thinking it's a bad contact / switch than the ecu on mine.. In on Tuesday for cam belt service and I have asked them to check gearbox contacts etc.. So we wait and see
    #18
  20. E4
    Offline

    E4 2004 A4 3.0 V6 Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 9, 2011]
    Hoping it's an electrical gremlin too
    #19
  21. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 9, 2011]
    Just ran a scan on mine... (did it twice)

    Monday,09,May,2011,18:34:38:26365
    VCDS Version: Release 805.1

    Address 02: Auto Trans
    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 910 155
    Component and/or Version: V30 01J 3.0l 5V RdW 3120
    Software Coding: 0000001
    Work Shop Code: WSC 04926
    1 Fault Found

    17090 - Transmission Range Sensor (F125): Implausible Signal
    P0706 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame
    RPM: 1536 /min
    RPM: 0 /min
    RPM: 0 /min
    (no units): 13.0
    Torque: 0.0 Nm
    Temperature: 47.0°C
    T.B. Angle: 0.0°
    Bin. Bits: 0001 0 1

    Monday,09,May,2011,18:36:15:26365
    VCDS Version: Release 805.1

    Address 02: Auto Trans
    Control Module Part Number: 8E0 910 155
    Component and/or Version: V30 01J 3.0l 5V RdW 3120
    Software Coding: 0000001
    Work Shop Code: WSC 04926
    1 Fault Found

    17090 - Transmission Range Sensor (F125): Implausible Signal
    P0706 - 000 - -
    Freeze Frame
    RPM: 96 /min
    RPM: 0 /min
    RPM: 0 /min
    (no units): 1.0
    Torque: 244.0 Nm
    Temperature: 46.0°C
    T.B. Angle: 0.0°
    Bin. Bits: 0001 0 0

    Ross-tech Wiki...

    17090 - Transmission Range Sensor (F125): Implausible Signal

    Possible Causes
    Failed Multi-Function Transmission Range Switch (F125)
    Wiring harness issue between F125 and TCM
    Failed TCM
    Possible Solutions
    Inspect wiring harness between F125 and TCM, repair as needed
    Replace Multi-Function Transmission Range Switch (F125)
    Replace TCM

    The question is - could this just be a simple wiring fault? If so where would I start?

    Help appreciated :)
    #20
  22. Iyole
    Offline

    Iyole N/A Rools

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 9, 2011]
    I've had the same problem the last 6 weeks.....Intermitent.......and drives fine when flashing but.

    I'm thinking contact below Gear Lever....which I was unaware of....
    #21
  23. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 9, 2011]
    #22
  24. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 9, 2011]
    #23
  25. tariqonnet
    Offline

    tariqonnet tariqonnet

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 10, 2011]
    I'm having this problem since 6 months now, it usually comes when I start the car and the temperature of my car is in between 0-90 i.e. engine has not reached its optimum temperature. for eg. I drove the car for a while and then park it for about 10-15 min. and try to start again. and when the car is heated up, I move it to "P" and the flashing is gone. If I take care of this (letting the car cool down before I restart) then this problem doesn't come for weeks. I do not feel any power loss as such during the problem.
    I'm not sure about living with this problem, may be I'm killing the gearbox gradually?
    any suggestions.
    Last edited: May 10, 2011
    #24
  26. bad8008
    Offline

    bad8008 entry level???? :)

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 17, 2011]
    PRNDS flashing, isn't that limp mode.
    Happened to my wives B7 A4 Avant. I swapped the 317 Relay from the ECU box to the lower compartment, now its the intermittent engine start unless I fiddle with the swapped ECU at the lower compartment. No more PRNDS flashing, so confirm its the ECU Relay.
    #25
  27. Micki
    Offline

    Micki New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 11, 2011]
    I've had this problem for a while on my vehicle and I've just found out what the problem is. I came across a website called ECU Testing and they describe the exact symptoms of my car. I phoned a local place called Regal who do ECU testing and it is definately much cheaper than going through Audi dealership.
    #26
  28. V8Guzzler
    Offline

    V8Guzzler Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 17, 2011]
    #27

Share This Page