1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pressure Switch Location?????

Discussion in 'Air Conditioning' started by LordNelson, Sep 10, 2009.

  1. LordNelson
    Offline

    LordNelson Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone help my locate the Air-con pressure switch on my S3 8L (2000).

    I might be being stupid but cant locate it.:think:
    I need to test the switch before i go and buy a new one.

    thanks :beerchug:
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    You may have more luck in the 8L forum mate.
    #2
  3. mike-turbo
    Offline

    mike-turbo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    its behind the heat sheild at the back of the turbo
    #3
  4. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    On the A4's the pressure switch is located on the air-con radiator near the pass side headlight, its just a unscrew and change job..
    #4
  5. Wobbler
    Offline

    Wobbler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the system need the gas removing first? My A4 has a blown fuse 6 (air con pressure switch) and blows a new fuse as soon as the ignition is swiched on. I'm thinking that if the wiring is ok (will test for a dead short at the plug when I find the damn switch) then the pressure switch must have died and gone dead short.
    #5
  6. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yes mate if you want to change the pressure switch the whole system needs to be recovered
    #6
  7. Wobbler
    Offline

    Wobbler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    How the hell can you get to the sensor? Please tell me you don't have to remove the front bumper!!
    #7
  8. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    You may have more luck asking in the A4 forum mate.
    #8
  9. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    No it doesn't (B6 A4) it just unscrews and unplugs..
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Yeah this is where it is I believe, as thats what I had to change on my late 99 S3 once, I lost cold air, so changed this which was £50 & it worked again, its slightly more to the right IIRC from the turbo, but is hidden behind the heat shielding in that area attached to the silver pipes & as already said, they emptied system then regassed to do the job.
    #10
  11. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Ok if you do it that way you'll vent all the refrigerant!
    #11
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    I would have to agree, given the name of the actual switch it would suggest its not a good idea to undo it without removing the pressure it reads, given its refridgerant that wouldnt be wise huh Staz.
    #12
  13. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    ...and illegal!

    Plus it would allow air into the system if it was done that way so it'd have to be deep vacuumed before recharging.
    #13
  14. Wobbler
    Offline

    Wobbler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have read that the switch screws into a valve assembly similar to a tyre valve, although this would mean some gas would escape as the valve was removed/fitted.

    Think I'll get the garage to do it for me.
    #14
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Advisable mate, given the system involved & yes, iirc, it just screws onto the pipe as such.
    #15
  16. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Yeah and as the refrigerant escapes it super cools and will give you frostbite.
    #16
  17. Wobbler
    Offline

    Wobbler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sooo. gloves would be advisable then?.......just kidding, given that the bumper has to come off and that I have no inclination to undertake a job I'm unsure of, I'm gonna book it into the dealers.
    #17
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Why take it to a dealer mate, take it to any garage that has an ac gasser, they can remove the bumper & re-gas for a hell of alot cheaper than audi for sure.
    #18
  19. technics100
    Offline

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    Changing the G65 pressure switch does not vent the system. I have changed the sensor, it just unscrews and the new one screws in.
    #19
  20. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    How does it keep the refrigerant in then?
    #20

Share This Page