1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

precoded key programming, and cheapo ebay keys info before you buy!

Discussion in 'General Automotive Chat' started by @udi A3, Jul 9, 2013.

  1. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Ok, so some of you may have worked out by now im playing with keys as a hobby, not just vag cars, but all cars.
    Where possible i have offered help to forum members, and only asked my costs are covered. This isnt an advert btw, i am well aware of the policy around sponsors and adverts etc.

    However having been asked recently about pre coded keys, i just wanted to make a few things clear.
    I personally CANNOT pre code keys. I can re sync a key to a car, i can program a precoded key to a car. I use advanced diagnostics equipment for this, but VCDS may also work.

    To precode a key, I would need to read the cars info with one machine, but then literally use 'brute force' trying 256 combinations for the last byte of data of precode info, with the help of a second machine. Both diagnostic machines needed cost in excess of 2grand each, and one uses a token prepayment system. These tokens I buy in advance and range in cost from 30-50quid!
    Reading a pin code / skc uses one token, programming a key uses another (vcds obviously is useful here), and precoding im not sure, i havent bought the extra 2k worth of tools needed!!

    Bearing in mind the cost of the machinary and tokens, its very important that correct parts are bought, not just anything that might be cheap on ebay. Tokens used to program cant be reimbursed when used in error.

    I understand keys are very expensive at the dealer, in most cases an auto locksmith will be cheaper. However I understand the costs involved to produce a key as i own a tenth of the equipment an auto locksmith may own!

    Another thing you should be aware of is the cheap hard metal used on some keys, most key cutters i know will not cut them as they damage the cutting equipment. Best off letting the locksmith supply if he is going to cut it.

    Now, I would advise anyone with only one key to get a spare ASAP. To make a key you need ignition, it can be bypassed, but if you lose your key youll need a professional to gain entry, pick and decode your lock (i have tools to do this too, but they are not cheap and break easy) . You will also need to prove ownership, a bit hard if your out away from home. These costs could be through the roof, so well worth buying even a non remote key just to start the car.

    Most of the keys I can program are with VCDS and pin retrieval, im always happy to help members as long as it costs me nothing.

    Hoping this post clears up some questions as i have seen a lot of key requests flying around the forum, i just with i could help more people (ive lost my keys before and it was nasty!)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,079
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    so how much for a key for a 2007 a4 ?
    #2
  4. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    187
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    Thanks for your info but I have just bought a key from eBay so light be a bit late for me (ebay lost no:- 400521415463) it has a blank blade and a virgin id48 chip fitted, I have my skc code attached to the plastic key that you get when the car is new.

    So basically am I right in thinking all I need to do is get the blade cut and supply the auto lock smith my skc code and he can the reprogram my new key to the car. No doubt its not going to be that easy but.
    #3
  5. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,079
    Likes Received:
    558
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    yes easy with the skc
    i have mine aswell
    #4
  6. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    If thats the correct key for your car and a new chip then anyone with vcds can do this for you. Thats not a precoded key
    #5
  7. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    187
    [Jul 9, 2013]
    It's the same part number and frequency as my key I have so here's hoping. Thanks for the info.
    #6
  8. craigynett
    Offline

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    a 2007 A4 is going to be precoded, he hasn't got the equipment to do that himself
    #7
  9. craigynett
    Offline

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    it's a used key, so the transponder isn't going to be virgin(blank) even though is states it's been "virginilized" (sellers word not mine! lol!

    There's equipment available to unlock id48 VAG transponders but just because it's been unlocked it doesn't mean it can be programmed to any other VAG using the same type of transponder. It all depends on which immob type the car has, read immob info in below link

    Immobilizer - Ross-Tech Wiki

    So if you're car has immob 1 or 2 then you can program an unlocked transponder with the SKC. What year is your car?
    #8
  10. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    187
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    It's a 2002 s3.
    #9
  11. craigynett
    Offline

    craigynett Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    that's a close 1. Could be immob 2 or 3. Can't tell without connecting VCDS & seeing if it gives the 17 digit VIN in the "extra fields" part when logging into dash or immob module
    #10
  12. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    187
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    As long as I can get it cut and programmed for the central locking I will be happy
    #11
  13. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    815
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    Iain I have VCDS mate so if its purely a VCDS tweak then bring her over mate.
    #12
  14. shariain
    Offline

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    187
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    Cheers I will hold you to that once I get the blade cut.
    #13
  15. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    Vcds can determine the immo type but skc still needed to code a key.
    #14
  16. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jul 10, 2013]
    Correct, I need to get my hands on your precoding gear lol, unfortunately I cant afford the small mortgage!
    #15

Share This Page