Potential S3 Purchase & Dealer Issues

Splathead

Reaction score
Hi

I'm a newbie here and a potential S3 owner. I am new to the world of Audi and have a couple of questions with regard to new car supply / buying issues.

I had my first test drive today on muddy, salty country roads of my choice and was very impressed with the speed, traction, ride comfort and handling. It really is an awesome car especially when I had worked out to keep my foot on the throttle all of the way through corners - that's a shock after driving a powerful front drive car!

However, it all started to go wrong when I got back to the dealer; first with a laughable offer for my current car and then with what feels like Pressure Sales Techniques.

I have managed to negotiate a £1000 ish discount off the S3 but now the pressure is really on.

The Dealer (Stealer?) says that they have been allocated just 3 S3's for the next year - 2 of them 5 Door Models!!!! (That's news to me!) Therefore, if I order one now, they will not be able to get hold of any more for the whole of next year and would rather wait for someone who will pay the full price. Therefore, I am being hassled for a decision. (Four calls while I have been writing this - un-answered!) If I buy, they have offered me a ride in an R8 though!!!!!

My question is, are S3 numbers really limited or am I just being subjected to pressure sales? Also, as they have offered me the ridiculous trade-in value for my mint Alfa 147GTA, I am thinking that I should forgoe the dealer experience and buy over the internet (Autoebid, Motorlogix, Coast2Coast, etc) as I will have to sell my car privately anyway. However, if S3 numbers are limited, will the internet brokers struggle to get hold of one?

Just FYI, My S3 Spec would be:
Sprint Blue
Leather / Alcantara Seats (Black)
Parking Sensors
Adaptve Lights
Flat Bottomed Steering Wheel
Automatic Wipers / Lights
Dimming & Folding Door Mirrors
Tyre Pressure Sensors
(With DVD Sat Nav to be retro-fitted later)