1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Poor Radio Signal on RNSE

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by danomorgan, Mar 14, 2012.

  1. danomorgan
    Offline

    danomorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Hi All wondering if somebody can help?

    I have a 56MY Audi A3 with factory fitted RNS-E Unit, since purchasing the car the radio signal was poor but now a few years later it is worse than ever, only picking up one or two local stations (all the BBC stations are picked up fine) I cant remember the last time i was able to pick up XFM :-(

    I have checked the connection on the back of the headunit but not sure where it runs to after that? Also I think it may be exclusive to Fm frequencies only.

    Any help on this would be greatly appreciated

    Dan
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. Sandra
    Offline

    Sandra MODERATOR Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    16,192
    Likes Received:
    2,372
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Hi Dan, welcome to ASN. I am sure one of the guys be long shortly to help you. Have a read through the faqs at the top of the page to see if there is any info in here of use to you. Post some pics up of the car. Enjoy the forum. :)
    #2
  4. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Sounds like you need to upgradethe Amplifiers in the tail gate of the car as the RNS-E uses a different aerial system to that of the standard stereos, however this would only need to be done if your RNS-E was retrofitted.

    How sure are you that the RNS-E was fitted at factory?
    #3
  5. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    55
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    I,m glad you mentioned it. Mrs B,s Cab had a retrofit & the reception is also rubbish. What do i need to buy ?

    Cheers
    #4
  6. danomorgan
    Offline

    danomorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    I bought the car ex-demo from the Audi dealership & all the wiring to the RNS-E headunit looks factory so I would say pretty sure.

    I have the haynes manual for this model but it doesnt really show where the cables run for the Ariel? Are there any common faults related to the ariel that i should look at?
    #5
  7. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    All of the aerial stuff is in the boot trim.

    These are the parts KUFATEC GmbH & Co. KG - Aerial system - Retrofit - Audi A3 8P, but as you can see its only if you're going from a Symphony II+ (3) to a RNS-E.

    I'd get it on VCDS to check for any faults first, if you do need the above parts a "ZF to Ground" fault should be stored.
    #6
  8. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    I don't know the part numbers for the A4 Cab I'm afraid mate :(
    #7
  9. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    If it's factory fitted then no need to upgrade/change the antenna amps in the boot. They should be the correct ones already.

    I suspect that it may be connections to the boot that may be the issue, I would test the radio for faults with VCDS to see if any are present and maybe do test runs of new cables to the boot antenna module.

    I would also guess the same with the cab depending on it's age it's a well know fault for the antenna cables to break on the cabs as the wires pass through the boot hinges.
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2012
    #8
  10. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    55
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Cheers Craig

    ill run a check. The cab did have a single din and I upgraded to the double din and rns-e
    #9
  11. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Well if it was singe DIN then it did have the right antenna config as it would have been a concert II with HF/ZF antennas, unless it was a chorus whoich would not have had the ZF
    #10
  12. danomorgan
    Offline

    danomorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    cheers for the replies, going to run the VCDS tomorrow & see how i get on... Will post up my results soon.
    #11
  13. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    55
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    Not a clue Craig. I know that the station reception is a bit ropey sometimes but on the whole it isnt too bad. Will it tell me on a scan what amp is fitted ?
    #12
  14. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 14, 2012]
    No it won't tell what amps, but it will tell you if you have a bad connection to the boot with an open or closed circuit.
    #13
  15. danomorgan
    Offline

    danomorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2012]
    Ok so here are the VCDS findings.....

    Thursday,15,March,2012,20:08:48:36838
    VCDS Version: Release 10.6.3
    Data version: 20101206

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Chassis Type: 1K0
    Scan: 01 03 08 09 15 16 17 19 22 25 37 42 44 46 47 52 56 76 7D
    VIN: WAUZZZ8P07A055200 Mileage: 65400km/40637miles
    00-Steering Angle Sensor -- Status: OK 0000
    01-Engine -- Status: OK 0000
    03-ABS Brakes -- Status: OK 0000
    08-Auto HVAC -- Status: OK 0000
    09-Cent. Elect. -- Status: OK 0000
    15-Airbags -- Status: OK 0000
    16-Steering wheel -- Status: Malfunction 0010
    17-Instruments -- Status: OK 0000
    19-CAN Gateway -- Status: Malfunction 0010
    22-AWD -- Status: OK 0000
    25-Immobilizer -- Status: OK 0000
    37-Navigation -- Status: Malfunction 1010
    42-Door Elect, Driver -- Status: OK 0000
    44-Steering Assist -- Status: OK 0000
    46-Central Conv. -- Status: Malfunction 0010
    47-Sound System -- Status: OK 0000
    52-Door Elect, Pass. -- Status: Malfunction 0010
    56-Radio -- Status: Malfunction 1010
    76-Park Assist -- Status: OK 0000
    7D-Aux. Heat -- Status: OK 0000

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 16: Steering wheel Labels: 8P0-953-549-F.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 953 549 F HW: 8P0 953 549 F
    Component: J0527 H34 0070
    Coding: 0002042
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 41825980610F
    Part No: XXXXXXXXXXX
    Component: E0221 H07 0090
    1 Fault Found:
    01304 - Radio
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 19: CAN Gateway Labels: 1K0-907-530.lbl
    Part No SW: 1K0 907 530 J HW: 1K0 907 951
    Component: J533__Gateway H12 0160
    Revision: H12 Serial number: 320010672683FA
    Coding: BD0F0F4A07000101
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 2E58123CC091
    2 Faults Found:
    01300 - Control Module for Navigation with CD-Rom (J401)
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100100
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 61
    Mileage: 65254 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2012.03.13
    Time: 08:06:17
    01304 - Radio
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100100
    Fault Priority: 2
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 61
    Mileage: 65254 km
    Time Indication: 0
    Date: 2012.03.13
    Time: 08:06:17.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 37: Navigation Labels: 8E0-035-192-RNSE.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 035 192 H HW: 8P0 035 192 H
    Component: RNS-E HIGH EU H72 0650
    Revision: 01S Serial number: AUZBZ7F0971933
    Coding: 0205117
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 346C00542EBD
    1 Fault Found:
    01305 - Databus for Infotainment
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100100
    Fault Priority: 5
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 65
    .
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 46: Central Conv. Labels: 8P0-959-433.lbl
    Part No: 8P0 959 433 C
    Component: KSG H04 0050
    Coding: 198000403F3F8505489AC63300
    Shop #: WSC 00052 210 88667
    VCID: 3C7C287406ED
    Part No: 1K0 951 605 C
    Component: LIN BACKUP HORN H03 1301
    Part No: 1K0 907 719 C
    Component: Neigungssensor 005 0003
    Part No: 8P0 951 177
    Component: Innenraumueberw.H04 0020
    1 Fault Found:
    00332 - Control Circuit for Tank Flap
    007 - Short to Ground - Intermittent
    .
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 52: Door Elect, Pass. Labels: 8P0-959-802-MIN2.lbl
    Part No: 8P0 959 802 H
    Component: Tuer-SG 020 0090
    Coding: 0000560
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 41825980610F
    1 Fault Found:
    00933 - Electric Window Motor; Passenger Side (V148)
    005 - No or Incorrect Basic Setting / Adaptation - Intermittent
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Address 56: Radio Labels: 8E0-035-192-RNSE.lbl
    Part No SW: 8P0 035 192 H HW: 8P0 035 192 H
    Component: RNS-E HIGH EU H72 0650
    Revision: 01S Serial number: AUZBZ7F0971933
    Coding: 0205117
    Shop #: WSC 06314 000 00000
    VCID: 346C00542EBD
    1 Fault Found:
    01305 - Databus for Infotainment
    004 - No Signal/Communication - Intermittent
    Freeze Frame:
    Fault Status: 00100100
    Fault Priority: 5
    Fault Frequency: 1
    Reset counter: 65

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------.
    End ---------------------------------------------------------------------


    Not entirely sure where to go from here?
    #14
  16. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
  17. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Mar 15, 2012]
    Certainly not showing any antenna faults, it must be factory fit or it would be showing one fault.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2012
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Options now imho are to check all the coaxials front to back, the double connector that plugs in rear of rns sometimes one wire can become frayed, but this is usually from in/out all the time, but could check this, other option is to test rns in another car & vice versa.
    #17
  19. danomorgan
    Offline

    danomorgan New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2012]
    Cheers Warren, had a look through your thread & then had an inspection of the Antenna system.

    After removing the boot trim to access the amps it is clear that the headUnit is factory as the amps & wiring are all (OEM looking) correct for an RNSE unit.

    I had a look at the looping on the back window & some of this was quite dirty where the trim normally covers it, this was cleaned with a dry cloth but still hasn't made any difference to my poor FM radio signal. (bit of a shot in the dark i know)

    I did notice after having a mess around with the headunit that this problem is exclusive to the FM waveband only.

    I unplugged the 3 way plug from the upper amp to see what happened & all Stations were lost, plugged back in & then unplugged the green & balck 2 way plug the other side that actually attaches to the back window, this didnt make any difference to the radio signal & Radio 1 was still working (only station i could pick up). Thought that this might have made a difference?

    I did take some pictures but not quite sure how to add them?

    Nigel, I will try what you said on Sunday if i get a chance..... I did read somewhere that it could be damage to the back window loop that could cause this? Although mine doesn't look damaged??
    #18

Share This Page