1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Pmol66, Jul 19, 2014.

  1. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    I was just boosting and i heard a loud knock like a house brick had been launched through my front passenger side wheel arch.
    Power went and i managed to limp it round the corner.
    The front bumper had popped out of its clips where it meets the arch
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405805394.065713.jpg

    (Induction pipe takes air from inside this arch)
    I managed to get it home with difficulty. Struggled with hills, erratic revs (if any)
    when the pedals down. Idle is also erratic and cuts out.
    EPC light come on once but has stayed off.
    It may be worth noting that it hasn't run well lately. I had a new uprated ko4 fitted and its not been boosting well due to insufficient fuel getting through.
    Its now sitting half on kerb, half on ramp. Nothing obvious to me under there but my mechanical skills are.....Could be better lol.
    Is there anything i can check while i can get under?
    Thanks
    Paul
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. S3Hendry

    S3Hendry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    8
    Seems a bit a bit bizarre your bumper has detached as a result of your engine running incorrectly, I can only assume your bumper isn't fixed in its usual place because maybe it wasn't fixed in its proper position in the first place or maybe you struck something on the road, as a result disconnected the bumper fixings, either one it's easy to sort, just remove the torx srews holding the bumper on and line them back up, you need a simple torx bit set..available at most ind. supply shops..screws are easily accessible.. Pretty impossible to miss them..

    As for the the running issues, your best bet is plugging your car into a laptop via a diagnostic cable which is specifically for your car, you can locate a cable on ebay for around 20 notes, cable will plug into a 16 pin socket in drivers footwell, again impossible to miss, plug it in and post your fault codes and take it from there..no quick fix am afraid
     
  4. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yeah very strange, coincidence maybe.
    Thanks for your reply. I'll
    Get it scanned tomorrow hopfully... :/
     
  5. Joshstan

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Looks to me like a boost pipe has popped off down by that cooler my advice is take the bumper off and have a good look the problem is when a pipe pops off it will sit together and enough to run with no boost the second pressure builds it is pushed apart and you loose all form of drive same happened to me on Friday but was one of the top hoses and they come off with a hell of a force!!!
     
  6. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thanks for that mate. Reassurance :) that does sound plausible. Im heading home soon so i'll have the bumper off. See whats going on.
     
  7. Joshstan

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Let us know how you get on buddy!
     
  8. Lavis89

    Lavis89 Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep Team Sprint Audi A3 Audi S4

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,584
    Likes Received:
    471
    my vote would be boost pipe as well, would make sense
     
  9. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Haha your all good. The coolers loose i can move it side to side :) im taking the bumper off now
     
  10. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh ok. This maybe bad. Iv got some pics.
    The top of the cooler has came off and seal has dropped out. There is also oil around it but not in it
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405876139.295909.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405876146.689244.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405876154.087373.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405876164.235378.jpg
     
  11. Joshstan

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Are you running big power? Never seen that happen I'm afraid it's going to be new cooler time have you got a peice of pipe you could replace the intercooler with as a temporary fix?
     
  12. Joshstan

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    Check this item Number out on eBay 131246637053
     
  13. jasongtr

    jasongtr Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    37
  14. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Thats great mate. Cheers. Better prices than i expected. I'll start watching whats on there and get the part numbers off mine tomorrow.
    Not big big power. Its just not mapped correctly i think. It was mapped back in 2008 i'll add a photo of the dyno test from 08.
    I recently fitted a uprated k04 which is-
    "K04 turbine
    Billet K04 compressor with ETT
    Uprated bearing kit
    Modified compressor housing
    BBT ported and clearanced turbine housing"

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405881357.684561.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405881388.092328.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405881429.897594.jpg

    I didnt have the car back in 08 so im not sure what parts we're on it
     
  15. jasongtr

    jasongtr Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    37
    i trust you have rods fitted then
     
  16. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Im back. Sorry for the late reply. Used up all my mobile data yesterday.
     
  17. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Do you ask that because of the dyno print out? Its not pushing that anymore. Its probably between 220 and 240
     
  18. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    There is rust coloured oil pouring out of this cooler. And the pipe that connects the two has oil dripping from it.
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405966216.488171.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1405966360.086797.jpg
    Cant help worrying about turbo failure.
    Iv found a matching replacement anyway.... :/
     
  19. jasongtr

    jasongtr Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    37
    yes thats why, but at those levels no need
     
  20. Joshstan

    Joshstan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    17
    They are always full of bloody oil i think it's from the pcv system that's why I bunged a catch can on mine
     
    Pmol66 likes this.
  21. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Oh good good lol. It was pretty much standard. Iv fitted that uprated k04, 3" downpipe- miltech back, dv valve. Im just guessing the bhp at the min.
    Need to get a suitable map done then i'll get a dyno test
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Not a bad idea. Might be a bit too creative for my abilities though lol.
     
  24. jasongtr

    jasongtr Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    37
    commonly stated that the std rods are good for 300hp, although its the torque that breaks/bends them.
     
    Pmol66 likes this.
  25. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    If i add some green giant injectors, 4 bar fuel pressure reg and a stage 2 map?.. Is that going to be pushing my luck? Thats sort of the line i had drawn
     
  26. jasongtr

    jasongtr Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    37
    from what I've read on here,

    a decent map is essential so the power delivery is smooth
    4 bar fuel pressure reg will strain the fuel pump so you need to make sure its healthy (and even then I'm not sure its needed for 300hp)
    bigger injectors to go for is the bosch 550's as they have an OEM spray pattern
     
  27. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Cheers for all your help people. It was easier than i thought. The intercooler arrived yesterday and i had it done in an hr.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406418833.877736.jpg
    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1406418848.131357.jpg
     
  28. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    I think my turbo may have failed. It was a gleaming new one fitted a few months ago too!
    Its not running well at all. It pics up speed but its flat all through each gear.
     
  29. jamiebennett81

    jamiebennett81 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    69
    few things

    why were you boosting, if you knew it wasn't fueling right? What turbo did you have before? I am guessing a K03 and then you have fitted a K04? has it been properly setup and mapped, with required injectors etc? if not then that's a big issue.

    has it been scanned yet?

    oil in FMIC pipes can be normal, due to PCV system putting **** back into the TIP
     
  30. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    Iv been driving it a few days now just being careful, using as little revs as possible. I was planning on doing this until i can map it.
    Its only since i noticed a momentary stutter of power at very low revs i decided to do a bit of testing.
    It was a ko4 as standard. The turbo i bought is as follows.
    -K04 turbine
    Billet K04 compressor with ETT
    Uprated bearing kit
    Modified compressor housing
    BBT ported and clearanced turbine housing
     
  31. Pmol66

    Pmol66 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    258
    Likes Received:
    11
    And no its not been scanned yet. Iv been looking at buying the software. But it looks like i need it scanned asap now
     

Share This Page