1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Please Help - Pin 12 Location (CH/LH Lights)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Garrry, Nov 5, 2013.

  1. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Really getting annoyed now.. About 5th time asking and it keeps saying your thread is being reviewed?

    Please can someone explain where PIN 12 IS ON THE E PLUG that you remove to add the 'simple' coming home light ground cable.

    I have had had a look on the connector (thing where you plug the plug into) and there are no numbers on it?!

    This is is the plug I am looking at - https://www.icloud.com/photostream/#A255Z2WMO2ibq

    I currently have my whole dash out and can't drive the car - just waiting for an answer.

    Please help!
    #1
  2. andyam
    Offline

    andyam Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    22
    #2
  3. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    Check on the top, bottom or front of the plug, you should see it numbered. You will also need to remove the inner connector to be able to push the pin in.
    #3
  4. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah that's the link I have been using but we can't find pin 12 location. Thank you though. I just can't find any numbers anywhere. Been looking at it for about 4 hours now. Getting raged that I am so moronic I can't find the bloody numbers. Is there anyway that someone can download the picture I took and upload it with correct pin circled. I do not want to pack the car away only have to take it apart another day. Thanks.
    #4
  5. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it this one? (Where the white square is).

    16 ▪️▪️▪️▫️▪️▪️
    8 ▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️▪️
    #5
  6. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    What kind of car do you have? The reason i'm asking is that I had done all the wiring before I realised that all I had to do was click the confort package in the vcds to activate these on the dash.... doh!

    And answer to your earlier question... you have to take the connecter completely out the housing and the pin numbers are on the inner connector...
    #6
  7. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah don't get me started, haha! It's a 55 Plate A3 SE. As far as I'm aware I need the ground cable and the feature added via VAG-COM.

    I had no idea that the plug splits into two pieces. I have given up for the evening. I would love for someone to just say 'this is the pin 12' *shows picture* because I won't know if it's the right one until I take it to a VAG-COM and see if it works after I have paid!

    I feel like throwing the car away after today's **** experience. All this has proved I shouldn't touch my car!
    #7
  8. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    Haha sometimes it gets like that.... i'll not depress you then and tell you I had it done in 15mins lol.... what will cheer you up though is that I shelled out £50 for a custom switch that I didnt need in the 1st place....

    I was gonna cut the ground from a switch on the dash and only press it on when I needed to use the feature, instead of always being on.. its a custom led lit oem switch that says lights on/off aswell ... I'm gonna stick it on the classifieds once its delivered (*sigh*)
    #8
  9. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Too late! Hahahaha.
    How do you split the connector open - not bothering to look tonight but is this obvious or will it be another 7 hours looking at it screaming for me tomorrow? I fail at everything.
    #9
  10. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    Its a wee bit tricky due to its location... you can see the tab on the side, you have to open that with a small flatblade and the connector slides out in the opposite direction... The pin numbers are located on the inner plug, but you'll need a torch to see them..

    Where are you located? Awk i'm not too bothered about the switch, because i'll recoup at least most of my money back amyway... the switch is oem and will fit in the dash next to the esp switch... be a good looking mod for anyone with a A3 and at least you'll be able to switch the coming home lights off when they are not required in summer instead of having to install the light sensor..

    And btw with modding anything, we all need to start somewhere, so I wouldnt throw in the towel just yet....
    #10
  11. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live down in Exeter, Devon. But staying with family in Cheltenham at the moment. Have you got a picture of the switch? What price you looking for it?
    #11
  12. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Success!!!


    I have completed this FINALLY!


    Anyone in the future looking you have to open the connector/ plug or whatever you want to call it to locate the numbers then the repair wire connector slips straight inside *giggity*.


    Picture of PIN 12 - https://www.icloud.com/photostream/#A255Z2WMO2ibq


    Thank you S3_Jacko - by far the most helpful!
    #12
  13. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    Ahhh.. ask a question on the site if theres anyone with a vcds down that way... most guys are willing to help and just slip them a few beer tokens for it... it was a local guy that done mine and I got a quote off an audi specialist, not even dealership for £50, so I politely said **** you (No thanks haha)....

    I've not got a pic of my switch yet, its still to arrive but once I get it, i'll prob stick it on classifieds for £40 delivered... cost me £52

    but have a look at these... I got the light on/off 1 as it suited the feature I was using it for
    CarStyle4you
    #13
  14. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    No probs, glad I could help....
    #14
  15. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks pretty smart and I would have it if it wasn't before Christmas. I really need to stop spending money on the car until like January.

    Just paid for all new headlight bulbs dipped/ main and sidelights. Went for OSRAM Night breaker Plus for the dipped and plus for the main - they are still not bright white but they are much better than the yellow rubbish standard ones!
    #15
  16. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    Yeah cant remember what bulbs I put on my old car, was a while ago now but they do make a difference... what I learned though is that its best to get a garage to fit them as its a mot failure if they are slighty out of alignment.. but that was audi that failed the car on that, other garages might not be as bad..

    You need to get some pics on and let everyone see what you've got....
    #16
  17. Garrry
    Offline

    Garrry New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah will do tomorrow. The main beam and side lights arrive tomorrow!
    #17
  18. LEE69
    Offline

    LEE69 07 170 DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    107
    I never knew the connector split I was getting 2 x 7 pins so was no help, never realised one was hidden.
    #18
  19. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    You dont need to split it to install the repair wire if you know specifically from the top which pin to use... the idea of splitting the connection is to locate the pin numbers...
    #19
  20. LEE69
    Offline

    LEE69 07 170 DSG

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    107
    Yeah but it was hidden hence me only getting 14 pins not 16 pins
    #20
  21. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    328
    Yeah there are 2 pins under the cover, but pin 12, if I remember is the pin above the grey wire on the left hand side, so you can still access it from the top
    #21

Share This Page