1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer Sat Nav in place of Symphony II, but retained BOSE??

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by YorkshireSimon, Apr 28, 2005.

  1. YorkshireSimon
    Offline

    YorkshireSimon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 28, 2005]
    Hi

    Audi Sport newbie here...

    I have recently switched from my fuel guzzling Impreza STI to a A3 2lt TDI Sport.

    I had in my Impreza a fair amount of Pioneer Sat Nav and AV equipment, specifically the AVM9000R video master, AVIC9DVD nav unit, AVX7300 screen combination.

    My Audi A3 was ordered with the Symphony II Audio with BOSE.

    I am thinking of installing the Pioneer equipment in the Audi now, and have the following questions:

    1) Does the BOSE option have a seperate amp from the Symphony head unit

    2) If so, does anyone else have any experience of interfacing non Audi/BOSE audio equipment into the said amp / speaker system

    3) What would people suggest as the best option for the dash fascia. Audi supplied or car audio shop supplied.

    4) If anyone has used other audio equipment with the BOSE speaker setup, what has the overall impression of sound quality afterwards. I love the sound in the car at the moment and don't want to llose that. If that's the case, will prob sell the nav equipment.

    Any help would be much appreciated.

    Many Thanks
    Simon
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 23, 2014]

  3. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2005]
    You can just take a line level out of the pioneer unit into the bose, and it can all be done from behind the head unit too, nice an easy.

    Personally though I would sell the Pioneer gear and go for the Audi DVD Nav+ unit, it is actually a better head unit sound wise than the Symphony, is a very good nav system, and will allow you to play MP3's from SD cards and give you all the info on screen.

    Have a look at how intergrated it all looks in my A3 Gallery.

    HERE

    And here you can see all the track names up on screen.
    [​IMG]

    You can pick up the unit from www.ebay.de for around £600-800, you need to search for "RNS-E" and you want one with 8P in the code so it fits your A3.
    You can then buy the cable adpaters and a gps antenna from www.kuftec.de for around £60.
    It will take you 15 minutes to take out the Symphony and install the Navigation.
    #2
  4. YorkshireSimon
    Offline

    YorkshireSimon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2005]
    Gizze

    As you say, it does look very good indeed.

    The Pioneer system ain't bad either though, with the new CNDV-50MT software... ;-) Agreed, nowhere near as integrated looking, but I am keen to keep the features of the AV master that the Pioneer has.

    Also, don't want to spend a fortune on installation as I am in the middle of a house purchase, so retro fitting the Pioneer is a better option for me at the mo.

    Tried selling the Pioneer stuff on Ebay about a year ago and wasn't that impressed with the offers. Decided that keeping it was better value for money than selling for pennies.

    Cheers
    Simon
    #3
  5. YorkshireSimon
    Offline

    YorkshireSimon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 1, 2005]
    Ok

    I have been into a local car audio shop and enquired about the Can-bus active harness that i am going to need for the various nav unit inputs (speed, reverse, rpm etc). Not happy with the one that this particular shop offered, which only had speed and rpm and cost £170... /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/blush.gif

    I have spoken with CEL in Leicester and they reckon they have the can-bus adaptor that has all the outputs needed to make the installation simple, for around £80. Sounds like a bargain, so I wonder if there are any catches...?

    Also, when talking about the speaker harness, again another £40 or so, I was talking to the sales man and he reckons that the PC9-408 is the one I need for my Audi A3 as I have the full Bose setup (4 channel apparently). I would have preferred to have had the PC9-410 RCA active harness, as the AV master has the RCA outputs needed for this. Although the sales chap said that the RCA does not support full Bose, only rear Bose installations???? I am confused, I thought both harnesses were 4 channel options, so how is there a difference.

    Anyone else in the know or done this before know whether this is true? Or am I being mis-sold a cable harness to clear stock for them?

    Thanks
    Simon
    #4
  6. gizze
    Offline

    gizze Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 10, 2005]
    When it comes to adapters there are two available.
    One for the Bose set up has the connectors for line out front and rear and the other one has line out for the rears and hi level for the fronts.
    #5
  7. The Challinor
    Online

    The Challinor Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Oct 3, 2010]
    Hi Simon and welcome to the forum.

    1. The bose has a separate 6 channel amplifier so there are no concerns over changing the headunit.

    2. Just picked up a 58 plate S3 with bose and a Excellent Pioneer touchscreen headunit with satnav, card reader, usb, ipod, dvd, bluetooth phone, etc. I have the Pioneer avic f900bt and find it to be excellent, very very impressed.

    3. Matter of taste, not a fan of the buttons on the Audi ones and I fancied whole touchsreen hence why I went for one with the Pioneer headhunit in it.

    4. I'm very very impressed with the sound it kicks out, there are some excellent presets and Bass improvements on the headunit.

    I think the Pioneer fits in quite well and does not look out of place, put a link below to the badly taken Dealer photo lol.

    Benjamin Leo Challinor's Photos | Facebook
    #6
  8. CHRIS555
    Offline

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 4, 2010]
    Hey! Hope your well. I run a Pioneer AVIC 910 BT and I had to get a seperate wire from Pioneer (available through any Pioneer dealer/shop) which ran my BOSE perfectly. Works 10% and wouldn't change it. I did look at the Audi Sat Nav stuff but it looked a little standard for my liking.....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #7
  9. The Challinor
    Online

    The Challinor Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Oct 5, 2010]
    Do you also have that wired into steering wheel controls?
    #8
  10. foxterrier
    Offline

    foxterrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 8, 2010]
    What model/make CANBUS did you use to get the pioneer working in your A3?

    My F900bt is in my A3 (replaced Symphony) but has lost a lot of facilities since being removed from my Skoda Octavia. The chap who is fitting it has stated that it is proving difficult to find a CANBUS that allegedly works with my A3 and give me all features I had before (power after ignition has been switched, Speedpulse, etc etc).

    Any help would be appreciated. !!!
    #9
  11. The Challinor
    Online

    The Challinor Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Oct 8, 2010]
    I've got this in my 58 plate 8p3 S3 and mine powers on and off using ignition and I can use the steering wheel controls, they all work apart from the voice control button which does nothing.
    #10
  12. foxterrier
    Offline

    foxterrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2010]
    Thanx for that, but what model/make CANBUS did you use to get the pioneer working?

    Ta in advance.
    #11
  13. The Challinor
    Online

    The Challinor Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Oct 11, 2010]
    I'll have to pass on that one, was fitted to the car when I brought it. Sorry mate.
    #12
  14. The Challinor
    Online

    The Challinor Well-Known Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Oct 11, 2010]
    I'll have to pass on that one, was fitted to the car when I brought it. Sorry mate.
    #13
  15. foxterrier
    Offline

    foxterrier New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 11, 2010]
    Thanx anyway.
    #14

Share This Page