1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer head unit install help

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by B5QUAT, Jul 23, 2011.

  1. B5QUAT
    Offline

    B5QUAT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Just bought myself a Pioneer DEH 4300 UB head unit.

    I currently have the Bose Audi Concert system installed but the pixels on the display are goosed and the CD changer in the boot keeps playing up and saying "No CD".

    Now I know I need an adaptor plate to fit the Pioneer into the OEM housing (found that on ebay) but could anyone tell me what extra connectors (and any other stuff) I'd need please?

    The guy at the shop said there were a few options of leads I'd need depending on whether the system is amped at the front or just the rear. I wasn't sure so I thought I'd try to find out first.

    Looked in the boot and the rear speakers don't appear to have an amp attached to either of them (my previous B5 A4 Tdi did have this).

    The guy said one of the connectors was about 16 quid and the other was 30 odd!

    If anyone could give me any pointers I'd be grateful. Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    What year is the car?
    #2
  4. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    PC9-401 if the car is half amplified.

    PC9-408 If full BOSE and you do not have 4x (2x front and 2x rear) preouts on the rear of the new stereo.

    PC9-410 If you do have 4x (2x Front and 2x Rear) preouts on the stereo.

    Along With:

    FP-05-03 For Single DIN concert

    And

    PC5-91 Antenna Amplifier/Signal Seperator

    Should fit any B5 (unless double DIN) :salute:
    #3
  5. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    The dash adaptors are defo different between facelift and non-facelift. The first set of adaptors i got didnt fit my car because they're prefacelift ones.

    I really need to get one of those amplifier things, my radio reception is pretty poor.

    If its an early car (perhaps upto around '97) it may have no amplifier, and drives everything from the head unit. Our old '96 avant was like this.
    #4
  6. B5QUAT
    Offline

    B5QUAT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Sorry, it's a 99 T plate.
    #5
  7. B5QUAT
    Offline

    B5QUAT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    Thanks that's great. Have to check the back of the new stereo for the preouts.

    It's a single DIN concert and I'm pretty sure it's full BOSE as the speaker grilles in the front and rear doors have BOSE written on them and the ones on the back shelf have green BOSE stickers underneath.
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,571
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Jul 23, 2011]
    If its bose you should see the amp in the back somewhere (under the shelf on the left of a prefacelift, and in the cubby above the cd changer on a facelift), and the head unit will say "BOSE" when it powers on.

    You'll also have rear door speakers, non-bose saloons only have shelf speakers.
    #7
  9. a3Nate
    Offline

    a3Nate Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    i dont think i have bose....no visible labels etc but i do have a bass speaker over rear arch. fitted my head unit into the car which was a case of plug and play almost,couple of wires to reconnect to get all speakers working,my problem is despite being connected i have no permanent live to power the memory,as soon as keys removed all settings are lost back to default,is this common do i need to connect straight to battery to have a live feed for the memory?
    #8
  10. AR-rkon
    Online

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    yellow and red wires need switching round so they look like:

    Yellow > < Red
    Red >< Yellow

    Should maintain presets.
    #9
  11. a3Nate
    Offline

    a3Nate Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    thanks i'll give it a whirl tomorrow.
    #10

Share This Page