1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer AVIC-D3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jacko4130, Apr 11, 2008.

  1. Jacko4130
    Offline

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    Looking into fitting this head unit into my s3, any one fitted a after market headunit to a s3 before?

    Had any problems doing so?


    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. sitrials
    Offline

    sitrials Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    get the right bose connection lead, and facia adapter, other than that space is a bit limited especially if the wiring has a big fuse box on it like my alpine.
    #2
  4. Jacko4130
    Offline

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    So as long as i let them know what car its going into the should be able to supply me with the correct leads?
    #3
  5. sitrials
    Offline

    sitrials Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    yeah if you get from a respectable retailer outlet not like halfrauds!
    #4
  6. Aky
    Offline

    Aky Aky

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    I retro fitted a Sony and it buzzed like hell - something to do with the OEM amp so I reverted back to standard and bought an Ipod.
    #5
  7. sitrials
    Offline

    sitrials Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    my alpine pops when changing tracks but its strange it only happens on certain models of head units.
    #6
  8. Jacko4130
    Offline

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    Oh right, this a common thing then? I want it to sound right if spending 700 quid on a headunit, or is it gonna be one of those things that will either work or not?
    #7
  9. sitrials
    Offline

    sitrials Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    yeah you need a harness that has RCA jacks on it.
    #8
  10. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    709
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    i fitted a pioneer flip out screen with a separate sat nav unit with cd changer and ipod control to my S3 and had no problems at all when running it through the Bose amp and speakers. Make sure you get the right converter and do a good job on the wiring and you should be fine.
    #9
  11. Jacko4130
    Offline

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    Right gonna buy one in the next week or so, thanks guys
    #10

Share This Page