1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phonebook Setup

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by S-Line_Wales, Jan 1, 2010.

  1. S-Line_Wales

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone tell me how to list my contacts on the RNS-e that are BlueToothed from my iPhone alphabetically with first name first not last name, first name..Im sure my old phone transferred them this way..its driving me nuts..
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    So I assume its lists them already via BT, but not in the way you want them to?
     
  4. S-Line_Wales

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, they all transfer ok, but list as surname first, then first name..which is different from the contacts list in the phone..
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    So the contact settings within your handset dont have any options to show them in a certain format, I know most phones I've had can change how displayed either surname or first name 1st as such & I mean specific to remote contact list options not handset display as you've already said handset is fine, maybe check any BT settings, check any even unrelated contact settings as I atm dont recall any specific contact setup options for the BT unit & rns, however I have to go check mine shortly so I'll have a nosey, but sure its not the car as mine shows 1st/last & I havnt changed anything.
     
  6. Cockney Boy

    Cockney Boy Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    6
    You will have to make the changes within the handset and not the RNS-E as there is no option within the head unit to change the way the contacts are imported via BT.
     
  7. S-Line_Wales

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    iPhone is set up in contacts list to show First Name, Last Name, and also Sort Order First Name, Last Name. No other setting in phonebook or bluetooth on phone that I can see. Dont understand why they sync to the RNS-e via BT flawlessly, yet display the other way around..
     
  8. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,036
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    I'd try syncing with a desktop contact manager via BT & see if this has the same effect mate as maybe a bug with iphone firmware with BT & app on handset if you get me.
     
  9. S-Line_Wales

    S-Line_Wales Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any suggestions for a desktop contact manager ? Although saying that not sure if the iPhone allows this via BT anyway.. :rolleyes: :banghead:
     

Share This Page