1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phone with RNS-E

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by edition, Jan 20, 2009.

  1. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Hopefully going to get my RNS-E fitted in the near future :)

    Just thinking while its in bits I might as well fit the bluetooth bits......

    I haven't searched as I also wanted to know if my Nokia N85 will work with it.


    Also what do I need to buy and what what will it cost?


    Regards,


    Jonathan


    p.s do i need a mfsw as well?
    #1
  2. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have a read here you'll see what other bits you need to fit the Audi system. You might want to contact S8craig or CraigyB (http://www.tclsatnav.com) on here as he'll most likely have the bits in stock and can fit it for £399. Top bloke, done loads for the guys on here.

    MFSW? erm it would be a good idea otherwise you'll have no push to talk button. If you don't have cruise you might also need a new steering controller to get the buttons to work.
    #2
  3. dmal
    Offline

    dmal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you do have cruise control do you have a rough idea of how much it will cost to buy the mfsw and fit it?
    #3
  4. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    See ebay for a MFSW, I think "NHN" has one for sale on here. Fitting? no idea, have a search around, there's been a few threads about this recently.
    #4
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Sorry guys the wheel sold ages ago but check on the bay as they've dropped in price tremendously

    Do the bluetooth install yourself, it'll save you anything upto £200 & its not to hard plus you learn something about your car

    The kit if you are patient can be bought for between £200-250 if you buy individually as others sell for about £400 from one seller but i know you can get cheaper if buy from multiple sellers from uk & de ebay sites

    Yeah new slip ring & steering control module are possibily needed depending on age of car really, vagcom scan can tell you if needed or not
    #5
  6. dmal
    Offline

    dmal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Strange but I contacted my local Audi and they said the MFFBSW cant be retro-fitted and is a factory-only option!
    #6
  7. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's a typical dealer answer I'm afraid. Most are unaware that this stuff can be done.
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    & you believed them after being on this site & readng how we fitted ours, strange.

    Also they're unaware of how to fix things aswell, lol, hence the name fitters rather than mechanics, thats why the forums are so good cause its like having a specialist for each part of your car

    But if you believe what they tell you then guess its gonna be a bit boring for you this site, cause you'll never fit anything you want, lol

    It can be done full stop, take my word for it & any of the boys on here with them installed.

    Anyway did some tidying up of temp wiring today John, fixed a fault on the adaptives control module which my silly temp power wire shorting so result, finally got my DRL's wired in & working of the oem new alum switch, result & was gonna connect the main beams but repair wires wrong size so have to do tomorrow now, but happy wirings alot tidier as was getting on my nerves

    ***** I forgot to check the adaptation & Basic Settings for the comfort menus, ok tomorrow
    #8
  9. dmal
    Offline

    dmal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Didnt say that, was just passing on what my local Audi said. I've read about people on here doing it, so I thought it was odd they said it was impossible when you guys dont seem to have a problem doing it.
    #9
  10. gr1zly
    Offline

    gr1zly Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    RNSE works with nokias which have Symbian but, it works much better with nokias with java....
    #10
  11. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK, waiting for an update....
    #11
  12. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    NHN where is the best place to buy these bits separatly then? Having difficulty finding them!!

    Dealers?
    #12
  13. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this too much? Link
    #13
  14. Lunker
    Offline

    Lunker New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also need to get BT retrofitted but could do with getting a vat receipt so that I can claim some of the cash back through my company. I tried my local dealer but they didn't know what parts I needed, they also told me that if any wires are cut then it will void the warranty on the electrics.

    Would any wires need cutting for the BT install?

    Is there somewhere I can source the parts where I can get a vat receipt, i.e. not eBay?
    #14
  15. SunnyDlite
    Offline

    SunnyDlite Six speed Shimano

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    from tclsatnav

    Concert II to RNS-E DVD Navigation. Price £1149

    Damn!!

    Might be tempted to give it a bash myself :)

    RNS-E doesnt have USB does it?
    #15
  16. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Nope, but it has 2 SD card slots, fill em up with mp3's and away you go...
    #16
  17. SunnyDlite
    Offline

    SunnyDlite Six speed Shimano

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    just SD or SDHC too?

    cards are cheap as chips these days, like a 10er for a sandisk sdhc 8gb

    plus why is the BT module soooo dear?

    my pioneer hu has BT USB Aux etc etc but just no satnav (main reason i wanted rns-e) i just dont want to do away with it

    think it'll b dodgy havin both rns-e and my headunit in....
    #17
  18. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, its just SD cards (up to 4GB) only SDHC won't work.
    #18
  19. SunnyDlite
    Offline

    SunnyDlite Six speed Shimano

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah well...

    2x 4gb still enuff :)
    #19

Share This Page