1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phatbox info please.

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by doeboy, May 6, 2006.

  1. doeboy
    Offline

    doeboy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2006]
    Can someone post details/links about phatbox please.

    I've done a google uk search which didn't come up with much, are they us imports?

    Secondly i'd like to know how you can navigate 4000+ songs using a 1 line display, sound like it would be impossible.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2006]
    You can get UK versions of the units however importing it from one of the US ebay sellers is usually the cheapest method at around £140 (mikanmotors is recommended).

    Simply put, for navigating your tracks, it takes the place of a 6 disk changer, cd1= tracks, cd2=albums, cd3=genre, cd4=artists etc when you change to one of those cds you can use the left and right button to change through the options, the result is read back to you by a voice prompt from the Audi headunit. After 5 seconds it defaults back to cd1 so you can use left and right to change tracks in the playmode you've picked.

    Works very well with the limited functionality of std Audi headunits

    I believe theres a demo on the phatnoise website
    #2
  4. jdp1962
    Offline

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    5,904
    Likes Received:
    865
    [May 6, 2006]
    You could try sending a PM to RasA4. He has one fitted in his car.
    #3
  5. AndyM
    Offline

    AndyM Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 6, 2006]
    This is the link to the flash demo, should explain it pretty well for you Demo

    Also worth considering is looking at Phathack which allows you to fit larger than the std 20GB hard drive to the unit, was one of the first things I did after installing mine /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/cool.gif
    #4
  6. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 6, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    You can get UK versions of the units however importing it from one of the US ebay sellers is usually the cheapest method at around £140 (mikanmotors is recommended).

    Simply put, for navigating your tracks, it takes the place of a 6 disk changer, cd1= tracks, cd2=albums, cd3=genre, cd4=artists etc when you change to one of those cds you can use the left and right button to change through the options, the result is read back to you by a voice prompt from the Audi headunit. After 5 seconds it defaults back to cd1 so you can use left and right to change tracks in the playmode you've picked.

    Works very well with the limited functionality of std Audi headunits

    I believe theres a demo on the phatnoise website

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I got mine from mikanmotors and the service was excellent.

    As for the phatnoise, excellent bit of kit!
    #5
  7. ButchsTT
    Offline

    ButchsTT Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 25, 2006]
    i have had mine for about 1 yr love it I have it in My Audi Tt roadster only problem if you want to call it that was I had to modify the little door that the cd changer sit behind no major deal the other is how fast you can fill one up I have a 20gig but I bought a 100 gig drive from e-bay and have changed it so right now I have loads of space love it everyone should get one
    #6
  8. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,706
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Dec 25, 2006]
    Pretty excellant i ve found wasnt to sure when intialliy reading about it but bought one anyway & found it to be spot on especially considering non of these stereos were designed to have this connected it was purely an after thought which works great. Who needs an ipod ? who wants to fath around using an ipod while driving when you can simply go through your stereo.

    Simply press the scan button & the system will tell you what your listening to.

    Now go buy one ;-)
    #7
  9. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  10. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  11. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2007]
    If you can keep us updated on the phatnoise with the Concert/ symphony III it would be most appreciated.
    Edward
    #10
  12. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  13. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 8, 2007]
    I have a VW golf Mk5 with the RCD300, which has a quadlock on the back,
    the phatnoise worked fine with this (have heard rumours it is the same stereo as the concertIII, it certainly looks the same), the part numbers from VW i needed were:

    £28.09 Cable 1J0051592A
    £8.99 Adaptor 1J0051445D

    No promises to if they work or not, there is a picture of the RCD300 quadlock here if you can compare if it looks right:
    http://www.golf5-sound.de/Quadlock.jpg
    the
    Toureg quadlock is here:
    http://www.tm-techmark.com/touareg/audioonlyinstall.htm
    #12
  14. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  15. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 9, 2007]
    Just done some research, the adaptors look identical to the VW quadlock (just found some concert III pictures on ebay). This should mean that if you get the leads suggested earlier, then you should be able to connect it up(that is on the assumption that VW phatbox's and Audi ones are the same), though clearly its a case of caveat emptor!. Interestingly, it also appears to have Aux plugs, so you can plug in an auxilary input too.
    The back of the RCD300
    [​IMG]

    The quadlock and wiring diagram on the Concert III
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #14
  16. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  17. 4Ring Jelly
    Offline

    4Ring Jelly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 11, 2007]
    what are the dimensions of the phatbox??
    #16
  18. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  19. leecs3
    Offline

    leecs3 thinking about stuff

    Joined:
    May 13, 2006
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 12, 2007]
    got a link to his ebay shop?
    #18
  20. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  21. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  22. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2007]
    If that fails, try VW dealers,and see if that adaptor fits into the quadlock, am sure if you speak to them they may let you trial it without paying.
    Would offer for you to try my adaptor thats in my golf but you appear to be in Ireland so a bit difficult!
    #21
  23. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  24. marmite
    Offline

    marmite Counting the Tesco Club points

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 15, 2007]
    I have got the phatnoise and had it 3.5 years now
    It is very easy to use in the car and very easy software to load the music on with
    Takes some time to get the hang of though...but you hen start remembering discs numbers
    You can upgrade the hard drive in it to...there is a link somewhere on how to do it

    Natedog got one from US really cheap
    #23
  25. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 27, 2007]
    Hi Marc, any updateonthe cables for your Concert II/ headunit?
    cheers
    Edward
    #24
  26. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  27. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 2, 2007]
    Hi there, marc, have you sorted this out fully and got it working, or been givent he correct cable no for it?
    Cheers
    Edward
    #26
  28. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  29. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2007]
    That one then! :) Many thanks for updating us on that, sure there will be plenty of people who will find it usefull! Is the cable long enough? Where did you end up installing yours?
    Cheers
    Any pics would be appreciated!
    #28
  30. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  31. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 6, 2007]
    Am guessingit may well be down to price then! Was wondering, does your DIS display any extra track info? Or do you still just get track numbers?
    cheers
    #30
  32. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  33. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 7, 2007]
    The CD changer lead that AUDI recomends is a different code to the VW one, so will get whichever is cheapest! as they will both connect the phatnoise to the adaptor!
    STILL not heard when i am getting mine, apparently its on the country though!
    #32
  34. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  35. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2007]
    Thanks, thats fantastic, looks a lot like my Golf install, I may try and do what i did with my golf which is to slide the cables along the top of the glove box instead of removing it. MY big question was of course who to remove the headunit, which you have answered, the boot looks very complicated. YOu think there ouwld be space under the passenger seat?

    MANY thanks
    Edward
    #34
  36. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  37. Lowlife
    Offline

    Lowlife German Hardcore

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 18, 2007]
    Is it possible to fit phatnoise into a pre-facelift A4? Have only seen it on later models...
    #36
  38. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
  39. Lowlife
    Offline

    Lowlife German Hardcore

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    Not a clue! its a 97 r-reg if that helps, it has a concert HU thats a little longer than single din...
    #38
  40. timps
    Offline

    timps Shakersville

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 20, 2007]
    The concert HU (picture below) on a B5 is compatible with Phatnoise

    [​IMG]
    #39
  41. giblets46
    Offline

    giblets46 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2007]
    Juat installed my Phatnoise today, many thanks to Marcs excellent guide, though needless to say Audi's don't like being taken apart! (lots of cuts!).

    Managed to get the cable on top of the glove box with a coat hanger and only undoing the top screws on the glove box, but the side sills were the worst part, with several of the clips pulling out of the plastic and firmly embeded in the bodywork, and a couple of others the plastic gave way. A note that inthe sport back, the sill from front to back is in one long piece.
    In the boot, i managed to just pass the cable out of the side instead of though the coat hook area, and saved me having to take all the boot out!
    But...relieved i have got it out of the way! :)
    #40

Share This Page