1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

permanent problem with the s3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by s3withproblems, Nov 21, 2004.

  1. s3withproblems
    Offline

    s3withproblems New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2004]
    Hello all
    Hope I can tell my problem in right words.The problem with my s3 is when I turn it on in the mornings(when the engine is cold) the rpm gauge keeps coming and going between around 700 and 1300 rpm for around 1 minute. And when the gauge comes down to 700 rpm the the car acts like it is going to stop and the gauge jumps again up with a shake in the car. It does never make the same thing until next morning. Every time I take it to service they clean the throttle valve but the problem goes on. Need help..
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. foolish3uk
    Offline

    foolish3uk Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 21, 2004]
    i believe you need a new dash cluster! take it to your stealer.
    #2
  4. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    foolish3uk said:
    i believe you need a new dash cluster! take it to your stealer.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Explain?? Surely if it was an immobiliser issue then it would run for a second and then stop.
    #3
  5. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,243
    Likes Received:
    131
    [Nov 23, 2004]
    (There is a method behind this madness, but I'll spare you an account because given the time I'm writing this it might not be perfect...) ...How about a dodgy Battery?

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #4
  6. AndrewB
    Offline

    AndrewB Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2004]
    Is nothing showing up on VW's 1551 tool, or can you get to a VAG-COM?

    I had a sensor fault once which caused my 1.8T revs to fluctuate a lot at idle. I think it was the engine temp sensor, but I wouldn't swear by it! Appeared on VAG-COM as a sensor fault, anyway.

    I think maybes the idle speed (and mixture, timing etc?) depends partly upon temperature. And that was getting confused, because of strange readings from the temperature sensor...

    Maybe. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #5
  7. s3withproblems
    Offline

    s3withproblems New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 23, 2004]
    temperature sensor may be the problem because I also have a temp gauge fault(It falls between 80-90 sometimes in the driving).I ll go and check it as soon as I have some time and money.
    Thanks for advices.
    #6

Share This Page