1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Permanant Live

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by vwgtiking, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 25, 2014]
    Is there one available from the fuse area similar to the ignition live for a headunit? Need a perm live for boost gauge.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 30, 2015]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,621
    Likes Received:
    1,302
    [Aug 26, 2014]
    Yeah just meter or use 12v screwdriver to check for lives, but tbh I would always use a new one unused by other systems.
    #2
  4. john777w
    Offline

    john777w Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 26, 2014]
    Easiest one is the black/yellow on the headlight switch or remove the fusebox & find a black or black/yellow in there.
    #3
  5. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 26, 2014]
    I don't have a meter or anything. Do you know if one in fuse box is permanent live?
    #4
  6. john777w
    Offline

    john777w Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 27, 2014]
    Just to clarify, do you need an ignition feed or a permanent live, as the boost gauge only works with the engine running, I assume you would need an ignition feed?? Also does the gauge have illumination? as you will need a sidelight feed for that!
    #5
  7. vwgtiking
    Offline

    vwgtiking Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 27, 2014]
    I need a permanent and ignition live for the gauge. But I already got the ignition wire. Just wondering if there is permanent live available from the fuse box.
    #6
  8. john777w
    Offline

    john777w Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Aug 27, 2014]
    There's lots of live wires in the fusebox, I would break into a thick red coming out of the fusebox, use a line fuse holder with a 2/3 amp fuse & run it to the gauge!
    #7

Share This Page