1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parts for cruise control fit?

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Issac Hunt, Sep 5, 2007.

  1. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a B7 A4, thinking of retro-fitting cruise control. What parts will I need? Is it just the cruise stalk and lower steering column cowling?

    Simply fit the stalk and away you go? I have MFSW so dont think I will need steering wheel ECU and I have VAG-COM as well.

    Thanks...
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. terrymcg

    terrymcg Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for that link mate, that's just what I was looking for. Looks like a pretty straightforward job as I dont need to change the steering ECU, off to order some parts now. Thanks again!
     
  5. Andy D

    Andy D Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent link, I was kinda gutted when I bought my car and it never had cruise.

    Now I know my first modification t concentrate on.

    Let us know how you get on Isaac :)
     
  6. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    All fitted to the car now, cost for all the parts from the Audi dealer was about £60, was a very simple job to do - took about an hour from start to finish. Just waiting for my new HEX-CAN VAG-COM cable to arrive then I'll code it to the car so it works.
     
  7. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,I didnt want to start a new thread for one little question,I have now recieved my cruise control stalk and lower cowling.Do I need to purchase any fixing screws to mount the stalk?(2006 A4)

    tony
     
  8. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    No you wont need anymore screws.
     
  9. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, just fitting the cruise control,managed to clear all faults and recoded my steering wheel control(04041) but it wont work.Am i missing something? I printed off the pdf on the retofit site and all went well until it states: "coding for the engine"ENGINE 01,CODING-II 11,enter 11463 (do it). Well i cant select "CODING-II 11" as it is shaded out.

    Any ideas?


    Tony
     
  10. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you confident you dont need a new steering ECU? Do you have MFSW? If not then its likely the ECU needs changing.
     
  11. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    Can you select "LOGIN 11"? That's the one you want.
     
  12. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ido have the mfsw and the control arm pluged in to the contol module ok.

    as i say coding-II 11 is shaded out and in other modes the same button changes to "login in" ,so it looks like the program is not changing to Login.

    Now currently looking to enter the code in to the security 16 but having to wait 10mins to time out.

    Just to make sure i am singing from same book, Ihave opened vag com

    press select in top left corner
    then select 01 engine from the common tap
    its then i cant select coding/login it is shaded out

    Also in the soft coding box it states "long coding"
     
  13. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Security access 16 as refused the key.So it dont go there.


    tony
     
  14. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hooray done it!!

    I had to use the recode in the long code section,my old code was ..0104000318070020.. I then read:
    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/2.0l_TFSI_%28AXX/BGB/BPJ/BPY/BWA%29#Coding

    I had to change to;0104000318070120

    Also I dont get it how some people say you dont need extra screws in my install you do need screws? 2 screws hold on each stalk,I had to use one screw from the indicator stalk to hold the cruise stalk,so if you are planning an install buy 2 screws.
    Also be aware that because the battery has been disconnected you will need to pair up the car for the remote locking,instructions in the manual.
    Also the "one touch"windows need to be reset ,again in the manual.

    Now have a niced little "clock timer"light on dash when cruise is on,and feels strange when you can accelerate and deaccelerate moving the stalk and and down.

    Anyway,is there a reason why I couldn't use "login" or"coding-II"

    many thanks

    Tony
     
  15. Issac Hunt

    Issac Hunt Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I said you dont need 'extra' screws I meant that the kit I bought from Audi included the bits needed to complete the job, therefore no 'extra' screws were required. Sorry for the confusion:icon_thumright:

    Im unsure why the login or coding didnt work, I didnt need to use the long coding to set mine up. I run the same cable and version of VAG-COM. Glad to hear its all workling fine now though!
     
  16. tonycb6

    tonycb6 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh part from audi = screws
    part from vagparts = no screws

    cheers

    Tony
     
  17. PetrolDave

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    85
    Yes.

    Your ECU is one of the newer ones that uses long coding, the login is only needed for older type ECUs that use normal (I suppose we should now call it short) coding.
     
  18. gardham67

    gardham67 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    the audi retro fit site has been removed. Does anyone have another link on how to retofit to my 2006 A4 Cab with MFSW
    Thanks Rich
     
  19. The_Golfather

    The_Golfather Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can someone post the part number required for the cruise "kit" from Audi please?
     

Share This Page