1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parrot Kit Quote

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by trevormuk1, May 12, 2008.

  1. MarcQuinlivan
    Offline

    MarcQuinlivan Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,539
    Likes Received:
    2
    これで、ここでは、少数の歴史と語ったが必要だ 無名の英雄 この土が削除されます ある人は、継承はされています 造幣局からの輸入 人々の多くがないのにネウルエウンイ 事実、この老いたहेごみमेरे 彼は帽子にゴミ収集した これは、うわっイレオルスがズボンです そして彼は、フラットに住んで協議会
    彼は'真のनानाである 大きな皿の後に起動チクヒギル 彼はउन्हें得ることができる職業を持って 彼は根が何उन्हेंデイジー電話
    #41
  2. RacingTeatray
    Offline

    RacingTeatray Freezing in Moscow

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perhaps Halfords are just idiots. It wouldn't be unheard of. I have Parrot systems in both my Alfa and my Merc, and they both cost well under 200 quid fitted. I had the dealers fit them when I bought the cars (second-hand) and they both did immaculate jobs - neither has ever gone wrong. Certainly, the main dealers will do this for you if you don't want to fork out for the fully-installed factory kit (385 quid is a bit steep, though not as steep as the 535 quid BMW charge!).
    #42
  3. alfiejts
    Offline

    alfiejts Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    4
    Mike - Just fitted an MK6100 to my A3 to replace a previous CK3000.

    Mine is a non-Bose ConcertII headset, so this might be different for you but mine was very straightforward.

    1) The Parrott ISO connectors simply slotted into place in the back of the head unit - taking the permanent live, earth and the speaker feeds.

    2) There's a wiring diagram on the head unit, showing which the "Tel Mute" input is on the radio. I bought a little 2mm spade connector and connected the Parrott "Tel Mute" wire onto the right connector pin on the back of the head unit as shown on the head unit wiring diagram. (It was none of the pre-wired parrott options that go into the Parrott wiring loom, so don't use them)

    3) I cut the orange "ignition feed" wire as you rightly say, the Canbus system doesn't provide a switched ignition feed to the head unit.
    Instead, I extended that orange wire and connected it into the fuse box at the right end of the dashboard.

    The picture in MarcQuinlivan's post (number 21 above) shows the idea. I got a spade connector and filed it down so that it would simply push into one of the spare unused connectors on the front of the fusebox.
    Some are live all the time and some are "switched ignition" live feeds, so you need to use a tester or use trial & error until you find one that goes off when the ignition goes off....

    Easy job overall...
    #43
  4. MikeSel^
    Offline

    MikeSel^ Systems Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks guys

    I've a mate coming round tommorow night to get this install sorted once an for all!

    :)

    I will let you know how it goes.
    #44
  5. Jay.Ing
    Offline

    Jay.Ing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    30
    Di it yourself mate, its very easy, i installed one in my old Ibiza FR and ive installed an aftermarket H/U in my A3 running a swithed live from the Fusebox!
    #45
  6. MikeSel^
    Offline

    MikeSel^ Systems Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally got mine sorted :) Thanks guys for the instructions.. Off to Maplins at the weekend to get the spade connectors to do the tel mute bit.

    Has anyone taken the back of the 'coin holder' out? IE the center console under the climate control controls, and radio etc? I want to mount the screen there, so want to lead the cables through that bit, but not sure how to get it off...

    Sorry for the vague description, I will post pics when I get a mo.

    Cheers
    #46

Share This Page