1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parking Sensors Retrofit

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by VTEC_Killer, Jan 28, 2007.

  1. VTEC_Killer
    Offline

    VTEC_Killer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2007]
    I fitted the genuine Audi parking sensors to my A4 (B6) yesterday and it is well worth the retro fit - if anyone is thinking of doing this then I would highly recommended it :icon_thumright:

    I didn't do a How 2 guide but if anyone needs any help on doing this; I'll be happy to advise.

    I'll try getting some pictures up when I get the chance

    Sheraz
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. Sinny71
    Offline

    Sinny71 S55 LKS

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 28, 2007]
    I have toyed with the thought of doing this but wasn't sure how difficult it would be?? Was it straight forward enough?
    #2
  4. pav-g
    Offline

    pav-g Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    734
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 28, 2007]
    Same here, but was waiting for someone to try it first, Sheraz your from West Yorkshire - whereabouts? if your anywhere near Bradford perhaps I can check them out in person, also did you fit them yourself or get a specialist to do them, when it comes to wires and electrics the closest Ive got is to change a plug and a light bulb.

    pav-g
    #3
  5. VTEC_Killer
    Offline

    VTEC_Killer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2007]
    To be honest it is pretty straight forward; it is best to have a couple of spare hands. It took me over 4 hours to do but I took it nice and easy just so there are no mistakes.

    A followed the following how2 guide from a member on TSN:
    http://www.tyresmoke.net/ubbthreads/showflat.php/Cat/1,2,12,15,22,25,26,27,3/Number/1054776/an/0/page/0#1054776

    Pav-G - I live in Bradford

    The genuine kit gives you full instructions on fitting inc which wires need connectiong etc (except for taking your bumper off)

    Sheraz
    #4
  6. tractorman
    Offline

    tractorman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jan 29, 2007]
    Is there just the rear kit available or can a front set be fitted on aswell?
    #5
  7. VTEC_Killer
    Offline

    VTEC_Killer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2007]
    I believe there is a front kit but that is a bigger job as it has a switch which needs installing on the dash somewhere.
    #6
  8. VennyQuattro
    Offline

    VennyQuattro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2007]
    looks quite straightforward, where did the kit come from and how much did it cost?
    #7
  9. VTEC_Killer
    Offline

    VTEC_Killer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 29, 2007]
    Bought the kit from Ebay (Audi dealer) for £130 inc delivery - it was on as a special price (RRP is £200)

    Defo worth the retrofit :rock:
    #8
  10. VennyQuattro
    Offline

    VennyQuattro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2007]
    Definately worth the money!
    My only concern would be making the holes in the bumper without burring the outer edges because it could end up looking ugly!
    Did you use a hole saw of the appropriate size? how did you prevent burring?
    #9
  11. VTEC_Killer
    Offline

    VTEC_Killer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 31, 2007]
    That was my concern at first BUT it was fine once I used the right tools!

    I initially drilled a 3mm hole (you can make 6mm if you want) and then I used a corn drill to make the right size - the good thing with the corn drill is that you can keep checking/fitting the sensors until the size is perfect!

    I hardly got any burring with the corn drill as I did it slowly - but you can always use a file/sand paper to smooth it off.

    As the sensor covers the edges; you won't have any probs of it looking ugly :thumbsup:
    #10
  12. VennyQuattro
    Offline

    VennyQuattro Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 5, 2007]
    Not sure what a corn drill is?
    Heard of a hole saw and a tapered ream, but never come accross on of those!
    #11

Share This Page