1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parking Sensor Volume?????

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ScottishA4B9, Jun 4, 2011.

  1. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    Does anybody know how to adjust the volume on a 2007 S3????
    I cant find the option in the DIS and the handbook just lies!!!!
    I only have the rear sensors and not the parking Assist with the button on the centre console.
    Thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. 1animal1

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,976
    Likes Received:
    36
    my 2009 car has it on the DIS - although mines the white DIS so think its different possibly?
     
  4. a8 tech back

    a8 tech back Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    4
    #3 a8 tech back, Jun 4, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 4, 2011
  5. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I dont think mine are loud enough even on loudest setting lol
     
  6. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    Mine are OEM fit and the handbook says it should be under the 'Set' function on DIS but its not. Basically I cant hear anything when I engage reverse or reverse close to an object!!!!
     
  7. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    None of what that link says, makes ANY sense to me! Might as well be in Chinese!
     
  8. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    Any ideas folks?
    I just want them to work!!!!
     
  9. pi quattro

    pi quattro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have an 07 model and I can change volume AND tone of the beeps through the DIS. I have the red one too(older version)
     
  10. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    I looked EVERYWHERE through the DIS and the handbook said it should be under SET but its not!
    Can you tell me the exact menu options I need to go through please?
    Thanks
     
  11. pi quattro

    pi quattro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do tomorrow bud
     
  12. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    Legend mate! I just dont wanna spend loads on money taking it down the garage tomorrow
     
  13. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    I have OEM sensors in mine which i have been able to set the volume and tone only through VCDS, I do not have the option on my DIS.
     
  14. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    Although pi quattro says he can do his through the DIS which is the same year as mine! confused.com!!!!!
     
  15. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I wonder if yours are after market? If they dont beep when you put the car in reverse then they aren't working. A scan with VCDS would really help find out whats wrong.
     
  16. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    I got it scanned at the local VAG Specialist and there is a few faults with the signals being sent to a few things, inc. the Parking Sensors. They cleared them all and asked me to pop back in a few days to see if they come back on.
     
  17. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    77
    Should come up SET, CHECK, MENU OFF with the next press of the reset button after the large speed display. If you go into set you can change a whole variety of things inc parking sensors, miles/km, mph alarm settings etc. Mines an 07 2.0T s-line and I can adjust volume & tone. Strange if you dont have the SET function, my old 55 plate tdi quattro had it also........
     
  18. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    From a retro-fitted angle, mine doesnt give me the option either despite having a 2009 white LED cluster. I'm putting this down to the PDC module revision i have being an older one that pre-dates the DIS option. I can use the VCDS lead to change it though.

    I take it you never got a note of the fault code? The thing is, the OEM system lets out a long tone when when there is a fault with the system to let you know not to rely on it.
     
  19. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    77
    my bad, just read your thread properly.

    SET - PARKING AID - REAR - VOLUME or FREQUENCY.
     
  20. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    i have the set on mine but no option for parking sensor within it. maybe its something we can turn on within VCDS as mine too were retro fitted and i can change the tone/volume within VCDS
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Have you lot enabled Advanced Comfort Menu, maybe also related to your CE version & coding.

    Scottish, sounds to me like with all your questions a purchase of vcds would help you allot :)
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    Im going to go and check if the advance comfort menu is enabled on mine. need to charge up the laptop a bit first. really need to get a new battery for this laptop
     
  24. pi quattro

    pi quattro Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checked on mine -

    MENU>SET>PARKING AID>REAR the it's a choice for volume or tone.

    Hope this helps
     
  25. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    nigel where is the advanced comfort option? im looking on vcds now and i cannot find it.
    i have a 23 byte CE - 8P0 907 279 F
    B78A4F20B214100000160000160000000009FE175C0500
     
    #23 Ash187, Jun 6, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2011
  26. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    its under module for instruments (11?) Cant rem offhand if its coding or adaptations LOL
     
  27. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    just checked that, instruments is module 17 and the coding doesnt give me much to work with. i looked around on the forum and found an old post where Nigel said its byte 23 on module 09 but my byte 23 just has 00 and nothing written underneath that i can change. there is a manual bit number i can enter but i wouldnt have a clue what to put in
     
  28. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    go into instruments.
    select security access, use the code 13861
    select adaptation & choose channel 82. Its got 3 option 0-comfort menu active, 1-comfort menu disabled and 2-advance comfort menu active, so you want to select 2 and save it.
     
  29. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    i just set it to 2 and hit save, and now i cannot get the menu up on the DIS. just shows me computer 1 and 2 :uhm:

    it was set to 1 and that works the menu. if i put it to 0 it turns it off again... not quiet sure what it is doing
     
  30. ScottishA4B9

    ScottishA4B9 Well-Known Member
    Team Daytona Audi A4 S-line owners group TDi saloon

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    2,876
    Likes Received:
    724
    I know! lol. The VAG Speacialist said that there might have been a surge that effected a few things such as PAking Sensors and Air Con which would explain my Econ light staying on. Im getting them sorted next week.
     
  31. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    could be different version of modules are slightly different, hovering mouse pointer over the bit you type the new value in should make a pop up window appear showing acceptable values & what they do.
     
  32. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    i tired that but it didnt even tell me what channel 82 was, just had the value 1 in there.
    have poked around on other modules but couldnt find anything that would shed any light on this but still its not like i have lost anything.
    The OP may have a totally different issue to us on this, but being that my car is a my06 model i may not have the option to control the volume on the DIS anyway.
     
  33. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,705
    Likes Received:
    31
    I'm guessing its the PDC module that dictates whether you get the option in the DIS. I'm planning to get a newer one at some point (mine is the oldest revision), if it adds the control from the DIS I will let you know.
     
  34. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User Gold Supporter quattro Audi A5

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,428
    Likes Received:
    686
    hmm that could well be the PDC issue, im now wondering about the advance comfort option does not enable on my car, could it be due to an older cluster/incompatible DIS??
     

Share This Page