1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Parking sensor module/wiring?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Lee_R, Aug 5, 2010.

  1. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    Guys, just got hold of a 2010 S line rear bumper with sensors and wiring. I know the sensors are smaller and further up the bumper so had a check under my 2004 and the fittings to the back of them are also different! So what shall I do?

    1. Cut the wires and solder on the plugs to the new sensors? (I assume wiring is the same)?

    or

    2. Find the module and hope the connection is the same (unlikely) If so where the hell is the module, is it easy to get to?

    Thanks!!!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    the wiring for the smaller(new) sensors are different, cause when i was doing my sensors, i got the bumper with the bigger sensors, but the guy had cut off the loom plug, so when i was in ELSAWIN double checking which wire goes where i did look into the new sensors and the wiring was different, you got ELSAWIN?
    #2
  4. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    oh and dont cut the wires from your old loom into the new sensors cause its different wiring, and the module is behind the drivers side trim in the boot, (but me pretty sure that , that module will not work with your new sensors)
    #3
  5. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    Sounds expensive!!!!! Any idea how much the new module is?
    #4
  6. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    you can check on ebay.de, i got my one(older one) for around £35, or the other option is to fit your older sensors in, if you need ELASWIN or ETKA give me a shout as me in BHAM
    #5
  7. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    had a look on ebay.de and their seems to be plenty on there. I just hve no idea which part number i need until I get mine out. Any idea what the part number of your older one was?
    #6
  8. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    Give me few mins I dig up the part number for our one and the new one
    #7
  9. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    the ones we got is 8p0 919 283(letter on end)
    the new one is 8e0 919 279

    but saying that , you will need to check with someone if the "loom" that goes to the car is the same as the one we have, that also may be differnent,i dont know for sure, so do think about that too, i would check for you but my ELSAWIN is on my laptop and that has crashed
    #8
  10. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    Thanks for that!

    8p0 919 283 is a popular one on .de. Not suprising if its the older one!

    Cant find any 279's but 8P0 919 475 is also very popular listing for A3. mmmmm

    Your right about the wire into the car. Would they really change that? Its stupid if they have!
    #9
  11. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    sorry mate the new one is 8P0 919 475,that part number i gave was for the buzzer
    #10
  12. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    ok cool, now i know what i need just need to check if they have the same connection into the cars loom! If your having a problem checking, who else is best to ask on here? I dont have ELSAWIN.

    On another note, once i take it apart and put the new one in, will it need re setting with vag com?
    #11
  13. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    to be honest even if the loom to the car is different, its not that hard to change the wires around, if i remember correctly there are 7 wires, 2 for live, 1 for ground, 2 for buzzer, 1 for can high, 1 for can low,
    i can give u a copy if elawin if you like
    #12
  14. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    the best guy i can think and whos advise i would trust with my eyes closed is NHN
    #13
  15. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    Ok lets 1st ask the sensor part number.
    #14
  16. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    new sensor is 420 919 475

    the loom in the new bumper is 8P0 971 085 A

    My PDC control box is more than likely 8P0 919283 so Which PCD box do i need to change to and is this new PDC box compatable with my cars loom?
    #15
  17. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 5, 2010]
    I've just noticed my new sensor is 420 919 475 and 8P0 919 475 is the suggested control box! Surely they match!!!???
    #16
  18. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 7, 2010]
    Did you get a chance to look Nige or can anyone else check?

    Thanks!
    #17
  19. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 7, 2010]
    hi mate yes they would work (that what it shows on ETKA)
    BUT the module (8P0 919 475) there are 3 on ETKA with D/E/F, me not too sure on this but i think u should ask NHN cause from them 3 they all might work, or one or two might be for the front sensors too, so me not too sure which module number to go with,

    as for the wiring to the car,it goes like this

    new
    16 pin connector (brown)
    pin 8 - earth
    pin 1 - 12v
    pin 15 - can low
    pin 6 - can high
    pin 2 - buzzer
    pin 10 - buzzer

    old
    16 pin connector (brown)
    pin 8 - earth
    pin 1 - 12v
    pin 3 - 12 v
    pin 7 - can low
    pin 14 - can high
    pin 2 - buzzer
    pin 10 - buzzer

    the only difference i can see is that our old one has 2 12v (1 live and 1 ingnition) where as the new module has only 1 12v
    and the canH and canL are in different pins as u can see, dont see it that hard to just swap around
    #18
  20. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 7, 2010]
    Thanks! So if I swap the wires round on my cars old loom the new sensors should work with the old module?
    #19
  21. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 8, 2010]
    No I don't think it would you would still need the module but don't know which (letter) one
    #20
  22. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 8, 2010]
    Ok I get you thanks again, you have been a great help......................Nige can you confirm?
    #21
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 8, 2010]
    Mate just done a 1k drive to italy so will need a while to get myself sorted as car is full of my ****, when I have etka etc back running will have a looksy.
    #22
  24. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    No worries, i'm in no rush. Thanks!
    #23
  25. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 16, 2010]
    Did you get a chance to check Nige?

    thanks
    #24
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 16, 2010]
    Lee really sorry fella, not yet as baby popped out yesterday & week leading upto has been hectic, typical but I'm free tomorrow morn so will have a looksy ok.
    #25
  27. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 17, 2010]
    Congrats! Dont worry about it, you must be far to busy to worry about my parking sensor confusion!!! :)
    #26
  28. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 19, 2010]
    woo congrats Nige!! i'm quite interested in this too btw
    #27
  29. VWAddict
    Offline

    VWAddict Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    656
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Aug 19, 2010]
    Nigel...

    Congratulations!

    Mother and Baby doing well, I hope?

    Keith
    #28
  30. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Aug 19, 2010]
    Congratulations Nigel - hope all ok.

    Now the fun starts !!!

    :beerchug:
    #29
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 29, 2010]
    Ok Lee, where are we at with this, have you got sensors or still just a bumper?
    #30
  32. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 30, 2010]
    Got everything mate, bumper, sensors, and sensor loom from a 59 plate.

    New sensors are 420 919 475

    The new loom in the new bumper is 8P0 971 085 A

    My PDC control box is more than likely 8P0 919 283 (old 2004 version) so which PCD box do i need to change to?

    Cheers!
    #31
  33. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 2, 2010]
    Help!!!
    #32
  34. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    Got bored, ripped the car to bits this afternoon, strangely and in contradiction to the general concensus on this site, my 2010 sensor loom plugged straight into my old 2004 PDC box and worked perfectly......cant explain why!

    Hope Sarah isnt reading this as she junked her modern, new, cool, small sensors for her big ugly old ones on the basis that they were not compatible!

    I have no techincal knowledge as to why to be fair! just worked, nohing on DIS, bleeping correctly etc etc

    I'm just glad i tried before ordering!:icon_thumright:
    #33
  35. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    hmm you might just have made my life a lot easier. just wanted to ask, how is the PDC box wired into the car? i have aftermarket sensors but have just bought a new '09 bumper with PDC holes and wanna have the '09 factory fit set so basically i'm gonna need all the wiring etc
    #34
  36. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    It sits in the rear quater panel behind the carpetted panel. 1 plug goes out of it to the sensors and 1 plug comes in from down low in the rear quarter. I can only assume its connected to the cars main loom somewhere down the line.
    #35
  37. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    right gonna have to wait until nige has a spare moment then. which considering the move and the new kid is gonna be...

    hmm...

    18 years?
    #36
  38. khalil
    Offline

    khalil Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2006
    Messages:
    769
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2010]
    glad mate it all worked out ,
    #37
  39. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 4, 2010]
    That sounds like PDC unit i have and it doesnt come up on the DIS either so i must be the revison as i have new gateway, cluster & convenience module. Cant check as Im still in the IOM at the moment.
    #38
  40. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 4, 2010]
    Nope, got etka back up, now elsa lol.

    Sorry Lee, it has been little harsh for family of late, so havnt had chance to do laptop.

    Assuming you've checked coding & no errors.

    We thought the sensors would work tbh but with possibility of issues.

    Anyway the part number 420 919 475 actually comes up as an R8 PDC module, not a sensor, lol, you sure its that & doesnt have a letter on end as I've checked fair bit & doesnt exist.
    #39
  41. sub39h
    Offline

    sub39h Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2,502
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Sep 4, 2010]
    sorry nigel, i've been looking for this answer for ages and i know you've put it in another thread but across loads of posts so i'm a little confused.

    if i were to retrofit the factory fit kit what would i need? so far i've worked out i need:

    bumper that fits/has been modded to accept sensors
    sensors x 4
    loom from sensors to PDC box
    speaker
    loom from box to car

    is that it? and how would i go about wiring the PDC box into my car? do i have to take the whole thing apart?
    #40

Share This Page