1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P-Torque Remap West Mids

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TM, Aug 26, 2011.

  1. TM
    Offline

    TM S-line SB

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 27, 2014]

  3. basssound
    Offline

    basssound Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    I had my 2004 Fr TDi130 Ibiza done by him, very nice lad and the service was top notch.
    The remap it's self is good, he tunes more on the high boost and less black smoke than other tuners do.
    The remap, straight through stainless, FMIC, uprated dog mount and panel filter show a reliable 178bhp and those figures
    have been proven on a set of well known rollers at a tuners in leeds, they said the boost at 1.5bar under full load is a bit high and that they could remap it to the same figures with less boost but more black smoke.
    On the day quite a few owners were left red faced when the cars didn't do the predicted figures, mine was over the top!!
    #2
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Will is a top guy. If your from the midlands why don't you pop over to Shark @ Mansfield next bank holiday Monday and get your car mapped? There will be offers on the day like
    #3
  5. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    A few years back i had my 130 Golf GT TDI mapped by Will. This was before he had his unit and he did it in his garage at home.

    Nice bloke, seemed to know his stuff, I never had a problem with the map.
    #4
  6. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,661
    Likes Received:
    627
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    I had my current A3 2.0TDI-140 remapped by Will at P-Torque back in October 2009. Very pleased with the service and the result. Would throughly recommend P-Torque.
    #5
  7. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    What sort of price does Will charge?
    #6
  8. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Back in the day on my MK4 it was £200 with discount because i was a UK-MKIVS forum member.
    #7
  9. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Cheers mate .
    #8
  10. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    No problem. :thumbsup:
    #9
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Steve why don't you come over to Shark next Monday it's not that far from you is it?
    #10
  12. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    He is a Top BLoke and knows his stuff.

    he charges for your car between £265 and £299 with before and after power runs on the rolling road,

    drop him an email as he is away this week but is responding to emails.
    #11
  13. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Bank holiday ? I will be on the beach ;)

    Will not be doing it this side of Christmas anyway :beerchug:
    #12
  14. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Ok bro and pm replies to mills
    #13
  15. TM
    Offline

    TM S-line SB

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Cheers guys :icon_thumright:
    #14
  16. TM
    Offline

    TM S-line SB

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 26, 2011]
    Now what kind of increase in insurance premium would be expected? Any ideas?

    If chosen to be disclosed that is.
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2011
    #15
  17. TM
    Offline

    TM S-line SB

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 30, 2011]
    "your A3 is £295.00 all in to remap. Power is increased to 190hp and 300lbs/ft torque. Dyno runs are included"

    I like these figures!
    #16
  18. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 31, 2011]
    I wouldn't remap your A3 to 190 BHP. I'm speaking from experience here, i did the same admittedly it was mapped by Will @ P-Torque, but the turbo went bang on my old 140 TDI DSG not long after, it was rolling roaded before and after. After it hit 190.2 BHP on the rollers.

    If i was to remap my new A3 i'd be willing to go to around 170 BHP, 190 BHP is too much for the turbo, a new turbo will cost you around £1000.
    #17
  19. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Aug 31, 2011]
    Aiden you got your current car mapped, I wouldn't say the turbo went due to the map.
    #18
  20. Agent_Trig
    Offline

    Agent_Trig Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Aug 31, 2011]
    This is something that concerns me... I would also like a remap soon but I am slightly worried about what it will do to the engine/turbo. My girlfriends dad's Golf GT TDi was remapped about 6 months ago and then the turbo went last week!

    Could be a complete coincidence though as the car has done just over 100k.

    Am I right to be concerned about remaps, or is it all just scare mongering?
    #19
  21. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 31, 2011]
    Nope it's not mapped I'm trying my best to refuse to do it although the temptation is getting to me. I'll regret it if i do map it and 5000 miles later it goes bang like the previous one.

    My previous A3 was mapped by RS Tuning in Leeds, it drove great and was fair nippy but i can't justify having to wax £1000 having the turbo fixed again.
    #20
  22. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Aug 31, 2011]
    To be fair my A3 had done around 70K when the turbo popped, i was the first owner of it so i don't know how the car had be treated before i owned it.

    Remappers (going from what they've told me) do tend to say that the 2.0L TDI 140 turbo isn't the strongest of units, they'll be plenty of remapped 2.0L TDI 140s and the owners haven't had a problem and then they'll will be owners, such as myself who have.. It's just a heck of a lot of money to put it right if it does fail. The turbo could fail at any time but in my opinion remapping them does shorten the life of a turbo.

    That said, i can't say i'll never remap a car again because they do transform the car but i think i would only do this with a 3rd party warranty in place, then again there's no guarantees that the warranty company will pay out either is there.
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2011
    #21
  23. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    How can you explain a turbo failing on a non mapped car then?

    a turbo can go if its got 500 miles or 150k on it, the turbo is the weakest part of an engine regardless if its been mapped or not.

    a map is not the only thing that can cause the turbo to go, it can be down to poor servicing or even not letting the car cool after a run,

    my mate used to have a 07 megane r26 230hp from new and the turbo went at 4500 miles, completly standard car?? no answers to it.
    #22
  24. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    Exactly the weakest part of the engine in your opinion. So if its the weakest part of the engine and you're putting around 30% increase of power through it do you not think that's going to have some sort of negative effect?

    My car was serviced every 10K and was left to warm up and cool down, standard procedure for me on any turbo charged car.

    Unlucky for your mate.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2011
    #23
  25. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    It just hit and miss really.
    #24
  26. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    I think you are correct, some cars need the turbo replacing after running a map for a while and some don't, i was just trying to make the OP aware that this may/may not be the case with them N8.

    :icon_thumright:
    #25
  27. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    If my turbo goes, I'll go Hybrid deffo.
    #26
  28. Lings
    Offline

    Lings Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,075
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    I think i will let my Turbo die before i even consider a map .Im no Nigel Mansell ,I prefer to tick around ,And my 140 bhp is adequate enough for the speed limits we have ;).Whats the point of 500 bhp on a 30 mph limit with cameras watching all around etc etc .I might map for MPG .:p
    #27
  29. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    I've heard this is the way forward for mapped cars.
    #28
  30. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    I think so too although, i have had higher powered cars than this A3 but MPG is what i am after at the moment especially with the cost of motoring at the moment. :icon_thumright:
    #29
  31. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,165
    Likes Received:
    692
    [Sep 1, 2011]
    You should map just for MPG Steve
    #30
  32. Unionbob
    Offline

    Unionbob New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 2, 2011]
    Hi all, I've recently had remap by will at p-torque, I've got a3 2.0 tfsi , wow after remap my car is a different beast( 255 bhp and 265 pft)
    Still getting 27 mpg around town ,cost was £295, will is a top guy and can't fault him, this was my second car I've had remapped by him .
    #31

Share This Page