1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Outside Temperature Display?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by sssstew80, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. sssstew80
    Offline

    sssstew80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Should my 1998 A4 B5 1.8 which doesnt have the onboard computer, have an outside temp display?

    Ive found a pic of my type dash which does have it showing at the bottom :-

    [​IMG]

    But is this standard on all models?

    Mine currently is blank in this area, its a manual as well so i dont have the gear selections like the above pic.

    But what do other people have on their basic dash?
    #1
  2. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    Your photo doesnt work.

    AFAIK you should have a temperature display though.
    #2
  3. TeKnodriver
    Offline

    TeKnodriver Biodiesel Purrrr

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    in the large red section mine displays outside temperature and miles remaining before filling up tank
    although having said that it stopped working yesterday...
    maybe it's the weather
    #3
  4. jonnycraig
    Offline

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have a look in the fuse bay and see if theres a fuse in the allocated area No:9 on mine.
    #4
  5. sssstew80
    Offline

    sssstew80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    how about this photo :-

    [​IMG]

    Mine is just black, nothing showing in my two bottom sections. Sounds like i should have outside temp then?

    Will double check the fuse, thanks for the reference Jonny.
    #5
  6. Audipage
    Offline

    Audipage New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of my friend did had the same problem, but we thought it's just like that only and remains blank. Thanks from my side too.
    #6
  7. fARQUARE
    Offline

    fARQUARE Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting, assumed that those squares were warning lights of some description
    #7
  8. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    2
    They are, hes meaning the very bottom strip that in that pic displays a temp, below the gear selector numbers.
    #8
  9. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is there a small button on the underside of the wiper stalk?
    There is on a car that does have DIS and the button turns of the display.

    wonder if the basic style dash has a similar feature perhaps?
    #9
  10. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    No stalk buttons on non-DIS cars.
    #10
  11. ldoshiv2
    Offline

    ldoshiv2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check if you have the temperature sensor on the bottom of the front bumper. My first B5 was the same, blank, I never had a temperature sensor.
    #11
  12. jonnycraig
    Offline

    jonnycraig Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    My B5 hasnt got outside temp either, if you look in the fuse bay the area for the outside temp will be empty as in there will be no copper contacts for the fuse to go into, just a hole.
    #12
  13. sssstew80
    Offline

    sssstew80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    where abouts should i look on the bottom of the front bumper?

    I still need to check the fuse bay like Jonnycraig mentions.
    #13
  14. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    12
    On mine the temp sensor is clipped to a bracket immediately next to the PAS cooler loop.

    If you look down between the bumper and radiator with the bonnet open you can see the PAS cooler.
    #14
  15. sssstew80
    Offline

    sssstew80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, will take a look and let you know
    #15
  16. sssstew80
    Offline

    sssstew80 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK so took a look into this and can answer it now... its a no unfortunatly :(

    There looks to be a sensor in the location mentioned above :-

    [​IMG]

    But when i had the dash out to replace bulbs the section where it should be is an empty slot, waiting to accept what looks to be a plug in module which will do this feature :-

    The back bottom of the dash :-
    [​IMG]

    The slot looking down into it :-
    [​IMG]

    So i havent got an outside temp sensor :(
    #16
  17. ldoshiv2
    Offline

    ldoshiv2 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought that sensor was your outside temperature sensor ! strange myfirst 96 1.6 had the old 4 big illumination squares (handbrake, fuel, ect,)i never had the temperature, but then my 98 1.8 se a4 had the digital trip computer (with temperature) and my 00 1.9tdi fl has only the half Digital trip computer, Think it acctually goes by the specicitcation to get DIS: S.E, Quattro, QTS, T ect. as ive seen a facelight(non SE) with the old squares (although alot smaller squares)
    #17

Share This Page