1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Original Audi number plate LED's that fit the A3 8P - plug & play!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by klik, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    We need an AITP LED fixer upper :laugh:
  2. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    N8,

    drive by to my stand before 10am and il sort them for you. it will have an RS6 parked near it.
    N8 likes this.
  3. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    tried again to code mine in with no joy. think i must have the wrong module. code accepts fine but still get the dis error. wondering could i fit resisters in the wiring like my new LED fogs have in from T8ups???

    would love to still keep the OEM lamps with out errors is poss.

    Jamie
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    I'll give you some air fresheners in exchange brother :wub:
    t8ups likes this.
  5. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    jamie,

    get in touch with SilkyS3, he did this months ago to his 2010 s3 and it works a treat. he should have pictures of where to mount.

    Thanks
  6. scotty0189
    Offline

    scotty0189 Prepairing to Land

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fitted mine last weekend on my 57 plate SB - work a treat :) Thanks for the part numbers!!
  7. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    214
    hi. did you check are they working? as when i did fit mine i was getting error on DIS because metal contacts on the back of the LED's were short and didn't seat on their place so one light didn't work at all. after few mins of trying to extend and position the contacts and screwing it tight, everything was fine.

    s.
  8. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7

    Yeah are they both seem to work straight from packet. I've looked at them a few times and they are always on.
  9. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    As if by miracle.....

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    They fixed themselves :wub:

    Over the moon with that ;)
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2012
  10. L1ARR
    Offline

    L1ARR Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    34
    What solved it in the end, a hammer and nails ;)
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,157
    Likes Received:
    686
    I extended the prongs on one, and left it, then today when I started the car, they were working :laugh:

    All I know is.....

    God works in mysterious ways
  12. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    214
    you had same issue that i had. glad you got it working. they do look great.
  13. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have same number, how do I change?
    Here's a few picture
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    What is that? Byte 23, Bit 6
    [​IMG]
  14. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is it possible to upgrade the software version above 650 I think ? Or how much roughly for a newer module?
  15. Jay.Ing
    Offline

    Jay.Ing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    30
    Turn the first '0' in the binary box to 1!
  16. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,194
    Likes Received:
    285
    White Audi RS3,

    you need to go to byte 17, turn the 1st 0 in the binary box to 1, then click into another byte, exit and do it. you may get a msg up giving 3 options, click no and it will save. and it may work.

    Thanks
    Trups
  17. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    You would need vas or odis to verify with vag germany if update was available, but newer versions are about £270.
  18. lala30
    Offline

    lala30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    with odis NO , with VAS maybe
  19. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    To verify if there's updates available you will be able to use odis & vas aswell, as its been done numerous times by my dealer, I know this as my ecu was done & I know the guys very well & my mate has updated with vas on his mk5 from home, lol.
  20. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okey, thanks a lot t8ups. I going to try that today.
    Does anyone know, how to get 09-cent.elect and Security Access? There is password or something...
  21. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to byte 17, turn the 1st 0 in the binary box to 1 but it doesn't work! What is wrong with my car?! Can anyone help me, lala30?
  22. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    i think you have the same problem as me. wrong SW cant remeber exactly but i think you need SW650 and above and you have the same as me which is SW615 so wont code up. it sucks, im going to see a guy i know with VAS hopefully i can update to module and then im able to code in LED plate lights.

    HTH
  23. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    79
    Not sure but I think the first binary number is the one at the right hand end of the code. Presumably that is the one you changed from zero to one ?
  24. eddyd
    Offline

    eddyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Google Translate

    Found this on google as Jambo26 says you need software version 0651 and above. My car is an early MY11, so I don't think I have this.
    Can this be upgraded without buying a new part? i.e updated by Audi.

    Thanks
    Ed
  25. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    this is what im hoping a can do. anyone with vas or odis can chech from what i can gather. hopefully find out at the weekend if mine will update.
  26. eddyd
    Offline

    eddyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks Jambo,
    Let us know how you get on.
  27. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    i will fella, was gonna go down the load resister circuit option, but them thought about seeing about a update.
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,220
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Yes modules can be upgraded, but only with the upgrade file that comes with vas/odis or via the online link to germany.
  29. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is mine
    [​IMG]
    as same as you have :(

    I did according to this
    Then let as all know if there is anything new about this matter. I want to get LED lights work!!!

    But what is this??? I mean Byte 23, Bit 6
    [​IMG]
  30. A3_Adam
    Offline

    A3_Adam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Well after both Trups and I couldn't get these to work on my 53reg A3 at AITP, I've given up so I have a pair for sale if anyone's interested.
  31. martinivw
    Offline

    martinivw :)

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    18
    You have PM friend :)
  32. A3_Adam
    Offline

    A3_Adam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    PM Replied to
  33. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    hey guys, after speaking to a vw ex techy he asked if i could get him a SVM code for the central elec module for VAS . for him to be able to chech for updates on my central elec module hopefully getit up to aleast 0651.

    Hope this makes sense

    Cheers

    Jamie
  34. lala30
    Offline

    lala30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    new update VCDS have now
    in Byte 17 bit 7 :readit::salute:
  35. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    Presuming this is only for the 061 onwards
  36. eddyd
    Offline

    eddyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    Been looking for a solution on the net for a way to upgrade the module, so far I've found a "TPI 2029738". Which I believe is a technical fix for malfunctioning rear wiper etc, but basically updates the module to a more recent level.
    I think you should be able to ask for this at your Audi garage.

    I'll try and give my dealer a call some day and see.
  37. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is that TPI 2029738 the SMV code for the cental electrics module??
  38. eddyd
    Offline

    eddyd Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    2
    TPI is Technical Product Information which I think is the details of a known technical issue and the fix. In this case the fix in TPI 2029738, should be update electrics module with SVM??
    All the details are in German forums but basically you tell your dealer you are having intermittant problems with your rear wiper and sugest the TPI2029738, they update the module and all is good except you loose any previous coding.

    TPI's are listed in elsawin, mine is out of date so maybe someone else can check what the TPI exactly states.
  39. White Audi RS3
    Offline

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I check what is my current TPI? And where can it be changed? Audi dealer?
    [​IMG]
  40. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    304

Share This Page