1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Original Audi number plate LED's that fit the A3 8P - plug & play!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by klik, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. Xerohour
    Offline

    Xerohour Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Guys,

    Ive been away from the forum for long time and came on as i noticed a number of new audi's driving around with LED reg lights. I figured that someone must have given it ago on here and you never fail to amaze me!

    So can someone help and let me know if i can order the A5 Led replacements for my A3 Black Edition?

    Its a 59 plate but was delivered in Jan 2010 if this helps.

    Thanks in advance!

    Nick
  2. A3_Black_Edition
    Offline

    A3_Black_Edition Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    I am also interested in finding this out. I have a 2012 A3 Black edition.

    Also I wondered how you contact TPS for part prices?

    Cheers,
    Si
  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    It's been covered this in thread for MY10+ cars
  4. A3_Black_Edition
    Offline

    A3_Black_Edition Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thanks, I will read the whole thing soon then.

    Cheers,
    Si
  5. Xerohour
    Offline

    Xerohour Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    1
    Forgive my ignorance, but i have no idea how what constitutes a MY10+ car.

    I would also challenge any new comer to this forum to have the faintest idea what has just gone on over the last 8 pages!

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
  6. A3_Black_Edition
    Offline

    A3_Black_Edition Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    19
    Basically read the last few pages... You buy the part numbers suggested but to get them to work you need to get them coded to the car.

    Cheers,
    Si
  7. djsherif
    Offline

    djsherif New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I'm having a hard time figuring out which area in VCDS I go into to change these settings.
  8. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    287
    go into 09 central electronics, then click coding and follow the guide in this thread.

    Thanks
  9. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    My coding guys is F5821F11B01410004D0000006400000000096E135A16021E000000000000

    It's not working on mine, mine is a MY08.
  10. L1ARR
    Offline

    L1ARR Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    34
    Where has lala30 gone when you need him?
  11. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Tell me about it! :laugh:
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    The coding is only available on the newer CE boards, it does show up on newer cars in VCDS now, its an option that would tell the car that circuit is running led's as in it will either lower the tolerance required to consider a bulb blown or it will disable that system check feature, so it doesnt check when cold or hot circuit, I'm going with the 1st option so it still knows if its working or not.

    Its just pure luck the tolerance on some older cars is good enough to notice the led's fall within spec to not trigger the bulb blown warning.

    N8 your car will need to have circuit modification, resistor pack probably added imho, to get rid of the warnings if its triggering yours.
  13. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Really? I have LEDs in there at present, they work fine, looks like I'll be selling mine then :laugh:
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    You said it wasnt working on mine, so by that assumed you meant the led's were warning on your dis.
  15. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Yes the Audi LEDS aren't working and I have an error light, but my old LED bulbs work without a hitch.
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Send them to me I'll have a play lol.
  17. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    287
    N8, adjust the clips on there to make sure the prongs are making contact, all the ones i have fitted didnt work without adjusting and they should work.
  18. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    I'll have a go brother ;)
  19. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    my long code is 4E000A2FA017F0C0207041E00100095C427E2BAA206DD12AE4008F840041 and my BCM PQ35 M 107 0615. is it possible to code my 2011 BE to work with audi LED number plate lights????
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2012
  20. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
  21. lala30
    Offline

    lala30 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    your long code for led is :

    4E000A2FA017F0C0207041E00100095C42FE2BAA206DD12AE4008F840041
  22. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    i tired this last night but it wouldnt code in.

    Just tried again wont accept code.

    BCM PQ35 M 107 0615. isthe 0615 the SW so this means i cant code LED number plate lamps in
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2012
  23. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    is this correct. if so is there any think i can do to keep the leds without the bulb out error. possibly resisters or something

    cheers
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    Go through your module coding & check for the tick box for led lights installed, if its not shown, its more than likely its not available on that board, although sometimes there are tickboxes not shown for your module that may work with manual hex coding, but you have to be careful you dont code something thats not reversable.
  25. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    They are so much shorter the prongs than my other holder.
  26. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    i tried to code FE from 7E but it wouldnt code in just reverts back to 7E. also it doesnt some just bit 7 which i think is what im trying to enable. also trying the foot well LED. but still brought error in dis. is there a way i can still use these genuine lights without coding and without errors??

    Cheers
  27. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,205
    Likes Received:
    287
    You footwell lights as LED wont error in the DISm there is something else causing that error.

    With the coding when changing, try change the code then clink onto another byte rather than pressing ok as it sometimes wont change.

    N8, you need you just bend them higher and they will work for you bud.
  28. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    Managed to code it up this morning but still got a bulb out error on number plate.
  29. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    they need a lot of adjustment brother, i had to take mine out a few times before i got ti just right
  30. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Yours working 100% brother?
  31. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    yeah they turned off every now and again because they were loose but got that sorted, whats going on with yours like?
  32. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    I'll look at it with my brother, come the weekend, he's up and we'll be detailing the car ;)
  33. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    cool im only a phonecall away bud its simple enough though
  34. Jay.Ing
    Online

    Jay.Ing Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    30
    So after spending hours playing round with my new VCDS lead (Thanks NHN!) I've finally got the bulb warning to turn off in my DIS! :)


    So for all you people who want to try it take a look at this how to!


    So first of all after you have ordered your OEM LED's 4H0 943 021 and 4H0 943 022 remove your old lamp units and COMPARE them. You will see that the LED ones have shorter contacts.


    Bend the contacts to a straighter alignment so they look similar to this:


    [​IMG]


    Then install them into place. You can use them like this but you will get a DIS warning.


    [​IMG].


    CODING.


    I have to thank lala30 for the research he did as i wouldn't have been able to put this together without his research.


    So boot up your VCDS and head on over to 09 - Central electrics module.


    Check for any fault codes before you start.


    Open up the Long coding and then long code helper, make a copy of your long code in paragraph1) (keep it somewhere safe)


    Click on byte 17 in paragraph 3)


    Right the key here is that if you look at my screen shot i HAVEN'T got Bit 7 (The one you meet to sellect to turn off bulb monitoring), the key here is to ignore the bits and look at the binary box this is where i have got 8 bits (0-7) so turning the first digit to '1' is the equivilant to ticking the bit box '7' (Binary is read backwards and starts at 0)


    BEFORE


    [​IMG]


    AFTER


    [​IMG]


    Close the Long code helper and save the code.


    After this i turned the ignition off and back on again, turned the lights on and…………………………….. NO BULB WARNINGS!!!


    I have a 2012 sport back BE so i don't know if this method will work with all but hey, worth a try in it!!!!!


    Thanks again to lala!

    Last edited: Aug 10, 2012
  35. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Who wants to get mine working at AITP? :)
  36. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    7
    il have a go at the binary, i thouht my 2011 be would be able to code u no problem, love the look of the oem plate lamps just not the bulb error on dis.
  37. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Mine don't even light up :laugh:
  38. poli84
    Offline

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    57
    Thanks for the clear write up Jay.Ing, it's really appreciated.
    I'm going to order these bulbs and give it a crack on my MY10.
  39. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    you got them in the right side lad? if you dont they wont work
  40. A3_Adam
    Offline

    A3_Adam Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    6
    Tried to get them working on my 53reg A3 ready for Aitp but had mixed results. Left one wouldn't light up at all but the right one flickered, stayed on for a few seconds then nothing. Any ideas?

Share This Page