1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Original Audi number plate LED's that fit the A3 8P - plug & play!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by klik, Mar 30, 2012.

  1. nshort10

    nshort10 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    14
    Mike you are the sort of guy that annoys me on these forums! You always have to get your bit in and always hate on people!

    If your not bothered about the led number plate bulbs, don't want them then why come out with a cheeky comment trying to make me look like I'm trying to get one over everyone else! When I'm not! Why u wanting the code so much!

    Im not the only person here who has cleared the error ( I didn't do it personally) everyone who has got the led number plate lights have have tried different codes and it's either worked or not! I was one who it didn't work for, I didn't even no what the hell vcds was!
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. t8ups

    t8ups Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    621
    Mike,

    This thread is to do with the OEM AUDI PLATE lamps, it has nothing to do with the bulbs that i sell. if members are getting the OEM ones and they are having issues with them what am i to do from my end? shall i buy everyones LED units off them cause they cant code the error out?

    i have tried to help out, as it has already been discussed plenty of times that the Audi a3 8P3 will just bring up an error, be it with the LED's i sell or if they are buying them from Audi. before i sell mine i do ask what year the car is an advise from there, im not going to sell something knowing full well it will bring up an error.

    in regards to Jambo, he did ask if i have error free ones to which i have said no and he did not purchase the LED festoon bulbs from me for the plates.

    And the issue thats needs to be sorted should be with Audi, not directing the issue with the error for the 8p3 and the OE LED lamps at me.

    if anyone who is in the northants area that wants Coding done on there cars with the BCM higher than 650 then let me know and i can code this for you. :)

    Thanks
     
  4. White Audi RS3

    White Audi RS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to get OEM LED lights to work without any errors. It's so annoying!:keule:
     
  5. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,851
    Likes Received:
    40
    but the new cu then, problem solved, either that or add load resistors
     
  6. pod_4

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    ive got a MY11 a3, will the a5 leds work or will they show the error in the DIS?
     
  7. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    158
    Read the thread
     
  8. pod_4

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    i have but there doesn't seem to be a definitive answer hence why i asked
     
  9. Jambo26

    Jambo26 Active Member
    Audi A3 Black Edition

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    25
    what age of car is it mate?
     
  10. pod_4

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    registered in march 2011
     
  11. Jambo26

    Jambo26 Active Member
    Audi A3 Black Edition

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    25
    without seeing your softwere version its hard to tell. but i have a march 2011 BE and mine throws up dis errors. do you VCDS?
     
  12. pod_4

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    unfortunately don't have access to VCDS. Might just order a set and see how i get on.
     
  13. Brodster

    Brodster Well-Known Member
    Team Ibis VCDS Map User Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S4

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,545
    Likes Received:
    882
    Bring it over to me buddy. Im not that far away from you
     
  14. pod_4

    pod_4 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    3
    Cheers mark. Ill order a set and drop you a pm to sort somethin out.
     
  15. Goththug69

    Goththug69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried to go through the thread but want to double check something, I have 57 plate A3 and guess the correct part numbers are

    4H0 943 021
    4H0 943 022​

    are these right? Many thanks
     
    #414 Goththug69, Nov 1, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2012
  16. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    158
  17. Jambo26

    Jambo26 Active Member
    Audi A3 Black Edition

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    25
    after checking a car at work i seen that byte 17 bit 7 was there for it. (it has the same sw as mine) but when i previously checked my own car after the vcds update it wasnt.:( so after seeing it was thre for his car i have just checked mine. its there ticked the box saved it but still no joy number plate lamp bulb error :(:(:(
     
  18. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    The label file may just generalise for that specific range of module versions, hence why it maybe isnt working for you & the coding option may take but may not relate to that setting for that module, if you get me.
     
  19. Jambo26

    Jambo26 Active Member
    Audi A3 Black Edition

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    25
    I thought that after I coded it and it didn't work. O well back to sorting out the module swap. Just waiting on some info I don't quite understand.
     
  20. Goththug69

    Goththug69 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I popped down to my local dealer today to buy the following led light parts and was told they cost £16 each, is that right? I thought they were in the £9 region. Is there anywhere else to order these from?

    4H0 943 021
    4H0 943 022
     
  21. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    56
    About right mate, they were £11.95 each before Audi had their price rise a couple weeks back. Although an extra £4 each is a bit steep!
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    158
    7 months on and being on for at least 4 hours per day I can report no problems whatsoever with these

    Well worth the money.
     
  24. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    In the A3 fella, do you mean?

    I can confirm that these worked superbly and looked very bright but DID permanently produce a DIS error in my March 2010 A3 BE. They continued to error after I set the LED plate option in VCDS unfortunately.

    They were swiftly sold on via eBay for £17.
     
  25. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,883
    Likes Received:
    158
    Yep I have them on my A3 and A6.
     
  26. aky20

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    4
    There is a solution, work perfectly on mine now.


    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-...numberplate-lights-without-errors-2010-a.html



     
  27. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    I did see this dude. I'm not interested in a load of extra Kufatec wiring (of which I've had small issues with Kufatec cables in the past with my RNS MDI input on my RNS510 in the MK5 GTI), mainly because also I've got a set of OEM+ LED bulb units that work a treat. They're very bright and one's just blown, but it's being replaced after around a months worth of use. No DIS errors and look the business for £26 all in.

    The OEM Audi units went pretty quickly once the VCDS fix didn't workaround the error on my A3 :icon_thumright:
     
  28. emval

    emval New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    These look Ice/cool blue in colour which is what im after can you confirm what part/model these are from tps? Most of these led upgrades are yellowish anyone know of some 6000k+ brightness in cool blue?
     
  29. emval

    emval New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone?
     
  30. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    29,268
    Likes Received:
    1,685
    Have you actually read the whole thread?
     
  31. t8ups

    t8ups Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    621
    As Nigel says, the part numbers for these are all over this thread.

    have a look at the OP
     
  32. shady-ninja

    shady-ninja Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    52
    can anyone recomend any multiple led bulbs that wont throw up errors on a 2010 A3 on ebay
     
  33. Artimus

    Artimus Shortback

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    476
  34. shady-ninja

    shady-ninja Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    996
    Likes Received:
    52
    i fitted near identical ones that i bought from TRUPS but they still threw up error on my dash.
    Ash187 tried to code it to work with no joy becaudse my car is a 2010 model, i would have to decline
    your link but many thanks.
    i need the multiple leds that have worked in the past as all the ebay links dont work.
     
  35. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    Just a little update for anyone with an 8P3 or late 2009 onwards car that's debating these - I've been running the 20odd LED units for over 9 months now with no major issues. The units need a bit of maneuvering to fit completely flush, but they are an excellent product for £25 or so. These are the more expensive ones that I think Paullie originally linked :icon_thumright: (could be wrong, I forget now).

    Night and day pics on my 2010 Black Edition. They can be seen from Nigeria, and that's with THREE, yup - three little layers of Lamin-X :arco::laugh:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  36. tcardio

    tcardio Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    878
    Likes Received:
    214
    my little observation from multiple threads read is the 2009 cars seem to be successful with all sorts of LED changes without DIS errors. seems like in 2010 audi put the hammer down
     
  37. TimWills28

    TimWills28 Well-Known Member
    Team Floret Silver VCDS Map User Audi A3 S-line owners group TDi

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    501
    Got mine off eBay....look quality and have served me well so far touch wood. 6 months
     
  38. rmlt2008

    rmlt2008 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Seen this thread the otherday trying to figure out how to get the error free LEDs to actually be error free on my 2011 a3.

    Found a crude way of avoiding the dreaded dash warning.
    image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
    So the halogen bulb is still in use so the computer doesn't throw up a error and the led bulb is still working as it should super bright!
    Cost me £2.99 only worrying thing is heat with two bulbs in at once but I don't think LEDs make much heat so I will keep a eye on it anyway see how long they last lolololololol
     
    Artimus likes this.
  39. Artimus

    Artimus Shortback

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2,004
    Likes Received:
    476
  40. Mario8P

    Mario8P Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2014
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    133
    Hey guys

    Just wanted to double check. My S3 sportback is produced on December 2009. There is no way to chode the original LEDs right? I either have to install a resistor or buy an aftermarket LEDs just like the ones mentioned here?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  41. Sparks#72

    Sparks#72 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Folks, First post on this forum. I can confirm that the long coding fix as mentioned on pages 7 & 8 ,works on my 61 plate (2012MY) Audi A3 Black Edition, just using after market LED bulbs. I didn't want to go to the expense of buying the genuine Audi light units if I couldn't eliminate the DIS error first. All seems good, so a big thank you to all the members who have previously posted in this thread.
     
  42. Shane-Ireland

    Shane-Ireland Member
    Team Ibis Team V6 quattro Audi S3 Audi A4 Audi Avant Owner Group TDi

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    21
    Thread bump....

    Bought the A5 LEDs this week, i have an 08 car, fitted them and the work but only stay illuminated for a few seconds before going off again, i don't know if there were any bulb errors before the went off.

    Anyone had this issue ?
     

Share This Page