1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ordered Some Non-LED Super White Bulbs For A3/S3 2010+ Number Plate Lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Paullie, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,473
    W8 Performance are sending me an offcut of tinted Lamin-X to put over the rear number plate LED's to tone them down a bit. I'll put some pics up when it's on to show if it's improved things.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    That's a really good idea, Warren. I'm sure I have a bit of light smoke tint in the garage, so if it works for you I may pop my LED's back in and do the same :icon_thumright:. I really love LED's, but I have to say I do find these 18 SMD units we have, a tad too bright. :wub: xx
     
  4. warren_S5

    warren_S5 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,230
    Likes Received:
    2,473
    I'm with you on that, they're just too bright, and I wonder whether they got round the error code issue by bulking out on bulbs and increasing voltage / current etc.

    I think I get away with it slightly easier on a black car as it's harder to light up black paint! That said I hear my cars rear plate can be seen at night from the international space station!
     
    Paullie likes this.
  5. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    Hehe, yeah the only things visible from space are the Great Wall Of China and our LED number plate lights :laugh:. I think you're 100% correct about how they managed to get round the Canbus issue by increasing the number of bulbs (and therefore the power draw being detected by the Canbus system) as we had the same problem with LED sidelights and fogs on the VXR's. The only fogs that worked were 68 SMD ones and 'tower' LED's for the sidelights with at least 10 SMD chips on. :wub: xx
     
  6. t8ups

    t8ups Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,413
    Likes Received:
    343
    i had some LED's with the smaller LED 3528's on them, basicly the smaller ones like on your units, with 3 differant resistant levels, getting it right is the hard part, anyway for some reason the factory sent me 1 of each, this dont help as in the 2009+ you have to change both bulbs to get the error, if you leave 1 halogen in and put 1 led in you wont get an error so i have asked the factory to send me a pair of each out so i am trying to solve it.

    sometimes if the resistance is too high it will put an error up also.

    Also Paulie, when i sell to astra owners i use a 1 led non canbus bulb for the sidelight, works without issues. the plate lamps have to be canbus on them.

    not tried fogs, but i have 1 in at the weekend so will have a go.

    Thanks
    Trups
     
  7. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    That's weird Trups, is this Astra H's (MK5)? Your single LED bulbs must be more advanced than the earlier ones myself and other lots of VXRO members tried (in 2008-2009). I tried 3 different non-Canbus LED sidelight bulbs and was so disappointed that none of them would work, ..they would light up and immediately go out. The other guys could only get the single LED bulbs to work if they had in line resistors fitted, but then one of the lads discovered the 'tower' type LED's with lots of SMD chips on and these worked fine for everyone who wanted them. I bought PIAA Hyper Tera Euro LED's for my car in the end. They only had 1 LED, but they had a round metal disc resistor pack wired into them. They were extortionately priced too. :(

    I really hope you can sot out some not quite so bright LED's for our plate lights. Goodness knows how many orders you'd get for them! :wub: xx
     
  8. downtothebone

    downtothebone Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    38
    Those of you who ordered the 'uprated' festoon bright white bulbs from EM Tuning should check your housings. The ones I received were rated 10W which at the time I did not realise were far higher than the 5W OEM rating (Homer moment but I was trusting the supplier). Anyway after one bulb blew within a couple of months I went to change back to the OEM units and found this ...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This is only my experience with these bulbs on a 2011 A3 so I cannot comment on the product as a whole. EM Tuning did offer to replace the housings. Anyway just a warning for those who deviate from the OEM products - you take your chances.
     
    #207 downtothebone, Sep 20, 2012
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2012
    RYes3 likes this.
  9. rdfcpete

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    11
    These look superb Warren :yum:

    Is it a fair assumption that given that these work on your 2011 canbus, that they'll be error free on the 2010 A3 8PA canbus too? (I've got a March 2010 170TDI Black Edition).
    I should have seen this earlier and saved myself £25 on the OEM Audi ones I bought - oops.

    The seller doesn't seem to have any available at the moment either. Are they regularly re-stocked do you know? Hope I haven't missed the boat! :slapped:

    Thanks.
     
  10. RYes3

    RYes3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    95
    I think i may too have had this issue as my EM Tuning bulbs keep blowing! I will out and check shortly!
     
  11. Ben S3 8P3

    Ben S3 8P3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    32
    Ive just managed to strip one of the screws on the number plate lights. Any advice on how to now remove it? Not happy :(
     
  12. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    No need to post twice - see answer in other post - drill the beast out !!
     
  13. MattyW19

    MattyW19 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    8
    Guys i've done exactly the same thing, i had these similar bulbs and i was told to get a screw which didn't strip on here off ebay when putting them in - It has :( I'm currently running on one standard one and another which has been bashed out and the screw left in there :(
     
  14. sliced

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    297
    Anyone want to do a group buy for these?
     

Share This Page