1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Onboard computer no display

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by slamdunc, Feb 16, 2012.

  1. slamdunc
    Offline

    slamdunc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 16, 2012]
    Hi all,

    I've just bought a 1999 S3 and the onboard computer display is completely blank. I've had a search on google and as a result tried switching it back on using the reset switch on the stalk and I've also tried removing and replacing both the fuses listed as instrument cluster in the handbook to see if this would help. Unfortunately to no avail. Is it common for these to die completely? Is there anything else I can check?

    There is a boost/oil temp/oil pressure gauge on the dash that the previous owner fitted which lights up with the dash lights. Could something maybe have been accidentally unplugged or similar when this was fitted? I don't really want to go pulling the dash to bits if these things generally just die anyway.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. slamdunc
    Offline

    slamdunc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    OK the computer just came on over the weekend. During my 10 mile journey it flashed on and off a few times and today is completely off again. The blown bulb warning light was on each time it decided to work but I have no blown bulbs. It also flashed up the coolant warning but I used to have the same problem on my MK4 Golf even though the coolant wasn't low.

    Does this sound like a loose connection or are they generally this unreliable?
    #2
  4. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,292
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    So the warning part of it is active, is that what you are saying?

    I know you have said you've pressed the reset button, but have you just tapped it once as opposed to keeping it pressed, as a tap switches the DIS display on and off. The warnings side of it is just always on. I take it, it displays 'OK' when you start the car, and if you start the car and press the left button on your clocks, it should cycle through the warning checks with animated symbols on the DIS in I remember correctly.
    #3
  5. dusty
    Offline

    dusty Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    Sounds more like a loose connection to me either on the back of the cluster or actually inside the cluster, I would check the connectors on the back of the cluster they could have a bad contact on the plugs especially if someone has got a lighting feed from the cluster for your new gauge
    #4
  6. Danio
    Offline

    Danio AUDI-MANIACS.COM

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2011
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    Yep check the wires on the back of the cluster,
    #5
  7. slamdunc
    Offline

    slamdunc New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2012]
    No the warning part wasn't active until the whole display suddenly started working at the weekend. It has stopped working again and the display is completely blank, including the part at the top where the bulb warning light appeared.

    I'll check the wires at the back of the cluster for a loose connection.
    #6

Share This Page