1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Onboard Computer Mod

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by ShibbySi, Feb 9, 2011.

  1. ShibbySi
    Offline

    ShibbySi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    Having read the VAG mods recently on Detailing World its given me the idea of installing the onboard computer to my A4. Now I know that the info is there because I can plug one of these into the OBD11 port and I will have a working computer. However I would like to official Audi one built into the dash.

    So whats involved? Do I just need to get a new indicator stalk with the buttons on it and all the wires will be there behind the scenes to plug it all into. Or is there more to it than that? Will I need VAG-COM?

    Thanks chaps [​IMG]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,808
    Likes Received:
    500
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    yes stalk with buttons
    vcds to code
    and a wire so low washer fluid dont come on
    #2
  4. ShibbySi
    Offline

    ShibbySi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    Thanks for the info. Do you know what the codes should be?
    #3
  5. yorkster001
    Offline

    yorkster001 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Feb 9, 2011]
    RETRO FITTING DIS AND CRUISE ON A4 B6

    All you need to know is on the link above, enjoy!!

    P.s. I've completed this mod myself along with the optional washer bottle sensor. Not as complicated as you think and works a treat.
    #4
  6. ShibbySi
    Offline

    ShibbySi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    Thanks for the info. Just to clear one thing up... If i do the DIS only is there any chance i will need to change the SCM?

    Where did you get your new stalk from? I have rung around and everyone is saying Audi direct but they want £74.
    #5
  7. Tooks
    Offline

    Tooks Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    I fitted DIS to my A4 B6, and I did have to change the SCM. Mine was an early one with in theory the right code to work, but just wouldn't!

    I sourced a used one from a B7 S4 off eBay, and everything worked fine.

    With yours being a B7, I would think your SCM will be fine just for DIS.

    Regarding the stalk, I shopped around and in the end I had to get it from the dealer.
    #6
  8. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,808
    Likes Received:
    500
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    scm will be ok
    ebay for the stalk
    #7
  9. ShibbySi
    Offline

    ShibbySi New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 10, 2011]
    I have had a look on ebay and i dont think there is anything on there.
    #8

Share This Page