1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Old post has gone dont no why, AMD ESSEX REMAP PROBLEMS

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by audia3turrbo, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    As said in the last post had a remap at AmD essex thurrock,Remap seemed ok for about 30 mins then started juddering i soon rung Amd about this problem and they said pop the car down,

    After poping the car down they said they recon it was the throttle body,So i let them clean this out,cut few stories short still jumping not all the time but still jumps,told AmD again and they said it would be the air mass sensor or temp sender as thease were the faults coming up after they done the remap,Dont no if they should have remaped the car with thease faults but hay....

    I got a brand new air mass and sender and still no change,so i put old air m ass back on,i have been up to AmD about 3 times which is a of time and money as i like just over hour and a half....

    I spoke to a dealer who does maps and he said it could be the map so i said to AmD i want to change to revo they said on the phone no problem we can do that for a extra £50 i fort to my self fantasic somthing is getting sorted...

    I got there on a friday left my car there for 5 hours for them to say car is fine drives spot on (FASTEST 1998 A3 I HAVE EVER DROVE FANTASTIC CAR) I said dont do the jumping all the time so i would like to get revo put on,They said we will do this for the extra £50 and we want you to buy and get fit a new airmass and temp sender,at this point i was so pi**ed off as i didnt have the money to get all done as he said would only cost me £50..

    I would like to no who has had any problems in the past and what AmD done to this,I took my car to a man nere me who had a play with the car feels better thsn it was but started juddering again have been told defo the map and go for a revo,sorry for the long post but best to let people no

    Cheers guys
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    hmmm
    #2
  4. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    :)
    #3
  5. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    Hmmm what lol ?
    #4
  6. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    I guess you sold speak to AMD and resolve the issue.
    #5
  7. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    I would say that this thread will go the same way tbh.

    so a3 tuuuuuurrrrrrbbbboooo you are trying to sell a car with a duff map huh!

    Nice work, if i do say so myself !
    #6
  8. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    :lmfao: sorry a3 turbo but you have shot yourself here....
    #7
  9. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    I am not selling the car for another four months as i need my second no claims first,the car will be sorted by then as i cant handel it any more,I am gonna give AmD another try but gonna get a revo put on,i dont want to pay £50 extra as i have been up there so many times will let you guys no what they say cheers.
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2010
    #8
  10. S3 Rav
    Offline

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    Why was the original thread deleted??
    #9
  11. L1 HCS
    Offline

    L1 HCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,601
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    It's not deleted, just placed in quarantine for a short while.
    #10
  12. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    You told me yesterday in your thread about how much your car was worth that the problem had been sorted?


    So make your mind up!.

    Oh, and go into AMD with your size 12's on if things are as posted.
    #11
  13. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    cant see why revo would make any difference.
    #12
  14. FactionOne
    Offline

    FactionOne Administrator Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    3,244
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    Aye, it's been put to one side because to be blunt, it descended very quickly into a bit of a witch hunt.

    I'll be posting in more depth about i) the previous post, ii) what happened to it, and iii) the issue in general shortly, between now and then I'd be eternally grateful if we could keep posts on this issue as constructive as possible - and if there's nothing constructive to be said, then there's nothing which needs to be said.

    Regards,

    Rob.
    #13
  15. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    sounds like a hose has popped off or something, with increase boost
    #14
  16. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 14, 2010]
    i posting as i want to see if the writing in location and post count turns red for me too.... ... .. .


    EDIT: yep it is!! i can sleep now...
    :icon_thumright:
    #15
  17. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,347
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Why have you not mentioned these very important FACTS regarding your car?

    You have 2 faults in your fault memory which we have told you at least 10 times via myself and 2 other members of my staff need sorting before you do anything else- low air mass reading and water temp sensor.

    You have NOT replaced your air flow meter with a NEW unit as you state. You tried one from your friends car which you said "made no difference."

    You fitted an aftermarket temp sensor which I told you not to do last time you came in, these are usually faulty before you even fit them. Only fit a genuine sensor which we have now done for you.

    Have the fault codes for the temp sensor come back? The air flow meter fault will have come back because you haven't replaced the unit.

    You said you didn't want us to change the air flow meter despite it having a fault.

    My exact words to on at least 5 occasions is that until you change both units and clear fault codes it is pointless looking any further.

    Having said that your car has been test driven by myself twice and my colleague also twice and we can find the car has no driving problems and is, as I said the fastest NDBW 1.8T that I have driven. Here is a link to clarify where my experience of driving performance VAG vehicles- www.amdmilltekracing.com. I am driving the Golf. I think I am capable of giving you an informed opinion on whether your car is fast?

    Your A3 gives exceptional power figures and that translates onto the road. I told you when you first came in that the car had 2 faults which may come back but was driving fine on the pre-map roadtest and gave good power figures on the rolling road before and after.

    You either don't understand what 3 members of staff have told over the previous multiple conversations/ emails (and believe me we couldn't have explained it more simply), you don't believe us (despite showing you VAGCOM printouts) or you haven't got the money to buy a MAF sensor. We fitted the OE temp sensor for you and just charged you for the part. We offered to fit the air flow meter but you refused.

    I can't spend anymore time explaining to you that we can't find anything wrong with the car bar the VAGCOM faults- the car drives perfectly when we have driven it. I don't doubt that you have seen some "juddering" but as you refuse to fit the parts that are showing fault codes how can AmD be to blame?

    Regards
    Shaun Hollamby
    AmD Essex
    #16
  18. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Id recommend getting a new air flow meter, this could sort the problem.
    #17
  19. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 15, 2010]

    LOL
    #18
  20. chancer
    Offline

    chancer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    The map will be tried and tested, so I fail to see how the problem is the MAP. A MAP which works fine on other vehicles of the same pedigree. If indeed your car ahs faults showing up then until you replace the faulty parts with brand new originals and leave them on, you can't really blame the MAP or AMD
    #19
  21. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 15, 2010]

    Soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo much fail on behalf of the OP.
    #20
  22. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Hi guys had new air mass fitted today a bosh one from audi dealer and fitted from then for £40 plus part,Audi said the car was fast i said yh it has a map which they said they new buy putting it on there machine to check codes,there is no codes on there no more and i can show recipet and take pick of new park and still judders at low revs (some times) and at 100mph (some times) duno what i can do but i guss i need to get it mapped again at the weekend,i will show you guys the new rolling road again and as [​IMG] voorhees said you can get 205.6bhp out of my car i guss he no what his talking abot and you guys are all rong i have a standard k03 turbo early model 1998 but i have been told by many people 195bhp tops.
    Cheers guys for the help and fanks foorhees for the post back there is alot of unanswerd questions people wanted to no on my old post to as it seems im not the only person who has had trouble...
    #21
  23. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    MAF for 40 QUID? Bargain/steal
    #22
  24. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Am I the only one not getting this?:think:
    #23
  25. emery1990
    Offline

    emery1990 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,070
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Nope lol
    #24
  26. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    i mean fitted for £40 maff cost me £80
    #25
  27. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    So the MAF was goosed so you tried another (which I presume was also knackered) one off your mates car and t was still running badly...you then paid Audi for a new MAF and £40 to fit it and its running better?.

    You clearly know how to change the MAF if you put a mates on so why pay £40 to get them to fit one?.

    I've lost track.....
    #26
  28. sportquattro
    Offline

    sportquattro Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Audi A3Turrbo - Might one suggest the use of a spell checker when posting to the forum, it makes reading your post an awful lot easier.
    #27
  29. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Haha i can but i right so quick lol i never realy read it back i should do realy.

    No the car is not running better and also i paid the £40 so they could reset it on vagcom also so i have warranty on it

    Also its not just me who has had problems with AmD if you look at the post before there was a few people who has had problems

    Thanks again people.
    #28
  30. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Thats not what you wrote earlier.

    Plus how do you reset a MAF?!
    #29
  31. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Audi said you have to delete it from vag-com take the faults off,plus i said it cost me £40 plus the part...
    #30
  32. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    2 sides to every story...........
    #31
  33. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Apr 15, 2010]
    Question, did he actually change the sensor yet or just the MAF?
    #32
  34. Jay
    Offline

    Jay Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    You guys are mean!!!

    Could problem be related to a dodgy coilpack or plugs?
    #33
  35. shaun@amdessex.com
    Offline

    shaun@amdessex.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    Lewis

    So you have paid a dealer £40 to fit a Bosch MAF which also cost you £85. This is £50 more than it would have cost you had you had it fitted on Monday. The "Dealer" cleared the fault codes with VAGCOM? Usually a VAG dealer uses VAS 5052 for fault code reading?

    You say that you still have a judder, is this now all the time because over 20 minutes of road tests on monday it was not noticeable?

    Did the dealer reset the adaptation values and throttle body? This also needs to be done when fitting a MAF. A VAG dealer would know this?

    With regards to your previous post, here is an email coincidentally received this morning from a customer who had his Audi A4 remapped with AmD yesterday:

    "I came in today and had a remap and very impressed. Im now interesting in firstly the Milltek exhaust but would like the look of the RS4 with the oval tailpipes. I have also seen this kit on the internet and wondered if you can source this cheaper and could also fit and spray if not just to supply. if so what would the cost be. http://www.prestigestyling.co.uk/index.asp. White Audi A4 3.0 tdi cab"

    We have had 14 Audis in our workshop this week which is approximately 20% of the total number of vehicles booked in this week.

    Next week we have 12 Audis booked in so far including an Audi R8 for full exhaust and remap.

    The customer who mentioned in the previous thread about coming in on saturday and we thought he was having front droplinks but he was actually having rear droplinks. I dealt with him directly and this was a misunderstanding that at most "cost" the customer 30 minutes of his time. He was happy with how the car drove when he left and as far as I was aware was not upset when he left either. His decision "not to use us again" is obviously his but maybe a little irrational?

    We have many happy AmD customers and the most common way that customers hear about us is through recommendation which means we are doing something right?

    We are a busy successful workshop and as such occasionally things to not go to plan but I can guarantee that we will do our best to sort any problems out.

    With regards Lewis A3 I can't comment anymore on this unless we work on the car. When he has come into the workshop he has either not had the parts fitted that we recommended, had cheaper alternative parts fitted or refused to have the correct parts fitted when he was here.

    As I have said, probably 20 times now, the car is fast and giving good power, we could find no juddering.

    Regards
    Shaun Hollamby
    AmD Essex
    #34
  36. shaun@amdessex.com
    Offline

    shaun@amdessex.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    Here is a post that you have put up on this site regarding your car after it was remapped. This is 3 days after you had the car remapped so I don't know where the 30 minutes bit comes into it?
    "Hi have just had a remap from AmD Essex,just to say a big thanks i love it moves like a **** of a stick but when i was there they said i should upgrade my dump valve standard one for a FORGE DUMP VALVE FMDV007 but i don't no what difference this will make and if it is worth getting this,also i would like to no if there is any point getting a dump valve or will this loose me power i am looking for more power as i only have 205.8 bhp but i don't want go to over the top,my car has done 110,000 miles and don't want it going bang lol if any body could give me some advise would be great...Ps any body have any alloys for my car near Essex could pick up and only looking for 17 inch"

    Lewis I am more than happy to look at your car and first of all get the car to replicate the fault but it doesn't help by lying to make you seem like the victim which does neither of us any good?

    Regards
    Shaun Hollamby
    AmD Essex.


    Last edited: Apr 16, 2010
    #35
  37. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    as i said it dose not do it all the time,am not blaming you but has only happened since i have had the map,i am booked in for a map tomorro will let you no what happends and can also post a print out of the roller,if its not the map i will post to let you no thanks for your time
    #36
  38. shaun@amdessex.com
    Offline

    shaun@amdessex.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    But this makes absolutely no sense at all?
    #37
  39. Matt82
    Offline

    Matt82 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2,366
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    the maf issue might not actually be MAF related. if there is a big issue with the intake plumbing then a MAF code can show. my ecu had a moan about the MAF when i bought the car with a massive boost leak
    #38
  40. shaun@amdessex.com
    Offline

    shaun@amdessex.com Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    That is correct but the car does not have a boost leak. The MAF would be the first thing to change as its showing a fault even though the air flow readings are good. Its a process of elimination but start with the most probable logical possibilities.
    #39
  41. audia3turrbo
    Offline

    audia3turrbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2010]
    just to keep update spoke to another revo dealer and ifi pop it down today they can fit in for the afternoon its gonnabe 400 quid but its worth it if it drives ok

    its a few hours drive so i will be able to tell on the way back if it still judders

    let you guys no later cheers
    #40
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page