1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oil pressure warning light, loss of performance

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mattyyy, Apr 14, 2012.

  1. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys

    Got my S3 couple of days ago, and running into my first problem.

    I've read many problems about oil pressure warning light causes/solutions but none of them mention a loss of performance also?

    This loss of performance isn't like stuttering, still very smooths but just no real performance. Hit limp mode?

    Suggestions?

    Appreciate it guys,
    Matty
    #1
  2. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    it's probably the turbo has now seized due to you driving it with no oil pressure
    #2
  3. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Not still driving it are you? No engine noises? Just no 'umpf' as such
    #3
  4. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, I'm not driving it.

    I obviously drove it for the last 50 metres to my house.

    But there was lost of "turbo" experience.
    #4
  5. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess the turbo is probably seized as you say because there is no turbo spool sound at all, and no escaping boost noise.

    I guess it's turbo replacement & sump off to check pick up perhaps? *sigh*
    #5
  6. S3 Rav
    Offline

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    26
    Not necessarily bud. There will be a loss of pressure just don't drive it anymore. I drove mine a few hundreds meters as I was on motorway and,y turbo was fine. Don't sweat just yet bud.
    #6
  7. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers :)

    Hm. Just trying to figure out why the loss of performance really along with the oil pressure light. :crying:
    #7
  8. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Obviously just checked my oil level. You know where the bend in the dipstick is to measure the level? Thought so. ;P

    Well, the level is roughly about couple of inches PAST that bend?!?!
    #8
  9. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Past? Above/below?
    #9
  10. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Above (towards dipstick handle).
    #10
  11. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Crank case pressure build up then if take a gamble at.
    #11
  12. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for the reply,
    Oh right, I was under the impression it was a low pressure light. My only thought would be that, the reason why the oil level is higher is because the rest of the oil has returned to the sump from the rest of the system but cannot get picked up again? Just a thought. :think:
    While the sump and might as well change pump as well etc is not a problem, a possible turbo change will prove a pain the arse as how fair they are towards the bulk head.

    :(
    #12
  13. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    I see what your saying, but I'm pretty sure the engine oil capacity is 4.6ltrs therefore even if all of it had gone down to dump (like your saying) it still should sit at the correct level.

    I'd check your crankcase breather. Probs blocked and causing pressure build up
    #13
  14. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Development:

    Just changed oil & filter. No oil pressure warning light when I drove about 100metres when it used to warn me within 5 metres of going over 2000rpm.

    Also, now getting a lot of blue smoke. Now, the way I think about it is this. Blue smoke usually a sign of oil burning, and I'm assuming I was not getting blue smoke/oil burning yesterday because there was barely any oil getting to the turbo to be burnt when it died (because turbo had no oil in the first place getting to it perhaps?) and now that there is pressure/oil getting there, because the turbo is dead, it just burns the oil (bust seals) and therefore producing blue smoke?

    Thoughts?
    #14
  15. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,296
    Likes Received:
    676
    its fcuked
    #15
  16. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Same as what happened to me a while back. Except I had no warning lights. Just blue smoke. Search forum for thread called S3 blue smoke.

    I now have oil pressure issues because the garage I used f***ed the bottom end changing rods.
    #16
  17. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Surely just a turbo change would sort this? :)
    #17
  18. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah it would. If its your turbo. I had engine rebuilt whilst garage was at it. Just causing me loads of trouble now. All it needed was a turbo.

    Not sure why ur getting oil pressure? Surely if your just burning oil then your just get blue smoke?

    Just saying as my turbo was fcked for about a month. A carried on driving it until garage could fit car in. Never had oil pressure warning.
    #18
  19. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    i think the low pressure has eaten the turbo, causing premature wear of the turbo seals. It's these worn seals that are causing the excessive oil burning.
    #19
  20. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, Byzan has virtually said what I have said.

    My turbo died yesterday due to lack of oil pressure, therefore wouldn't of had much blue smoke as there was barely any oil there no doubt.
    But now, out of know where from an oil/filter change it is blowing blue smoke and no warning lights. So now that there is oil at the turbo, it's just burning it up and still not spooling. Seized no doubt.

    I reckon turbo replacement and I'll be sorted. Just want some reassurance from people "in the know" ;P

    Then I can carry on with my plans :p
    #20
  21. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yeah I get ya.

    Just have it send off to be refurbed. Cheaper than buying a new unit.

    I payed around £810 for a brand new k04-023 turbo. If I could of waited for turbo to be repaired I would of
    #21
  22. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah righto mate, cheers.
    #22
  23. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right, found: AUDI TT S3 K04 TURBO 225 BHP KO4 | eBay

    Done a bit of research on here. Apparently even though it says it won't fit my APY. All I have to do is put a bolt in the egt hole? ;D

    So that should fit, the shaft play does worry me, though most turbo's have very small shaft play. So I'll end up buying that.

    Just wondering where people find there part numbers for the gaskets etc?

    Thanks, appreciate it!

    Matt
    #23
  24. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    I'd get the sump off and clean the pick up too. As long as that turbo has no cracks or in/ out play then that should be fine. I;d rather have a good used KKK turbo than a Chinese copy. Maybe later you could get your broken one refurbed to a better standard as you want more power... Muuuuhhahahaha
    #24
  25. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I've booked next sunday off at work to do the sump off/pick up job.

    Lol, yep I do. Planning the usual bypass stuff, fmic, remap etc.

    This has just got in the way of all my plans!!! noooooooooooooooooo :p

    Right, replacement turbo... let's go go go :p
    #25
  26. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    Have you taken the tip off and inspected the turbo?
    #26
  27. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,296
    Likes Received:
    676
    check the oil feed line to turbo is not choked with **** before fitting new unit.. and of course as said check oil pressure and pickup pipe before anything else
    #27
  28. tubby-ben
    Offline

    tubby-ben Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    2
    :icon_thumright:
    #28
  29. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bought that turbo I linked to.

    Thanks for the advice guys. Really do appreciate it. New to the S3 scene you see ;) :tocktock:

    Hopefully this fixes my performance/smoke issues. Then I'm back to where I began and can begin with adding to the standard performance :w00t:
    #29
  30. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right,

    Sump etc. is off, and there is no blockage in the oil pick. So I guess my option is oil pump. Though, I no longer have the oil pressure issue since I did an oil change, how could the oil pump prove to be intermittent?

    Also, I have some shell wear on a certain rod, so, going to do a bearing set as well. How much roughly cost wise are we speaking for the set of shells/bearings?

    Much appreciated,
    Matt
    #30
  31. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    a set of BE shells is around £50
    #31
  32. Mattyyy
    Offline

    Mattyyy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2011
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, lovely!

    Cheers for that mate :)

    Just want the car working again asap!!
    #32

Share This Page