1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oil pressure light flashes in display, but oil pressure is ok, even new sensor

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Finnie1967, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. Finnie1967
    Offline

    Finnie1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Everybody,
    I have a problem with my Audi A4 B6 1.6 from 2003, in the large middle display I have a warning: Oil pressure with big letters and a blinking image of an oil can above it. It starts when the ignition is turned on and I drive away and won't stop until I turn off the ignition. The car has been to a Audi specialist garage who has measured the oli pressure ( was ok, at 4 bar ), made a reading from the boardcomputer ( nothing reported ), replaced a piece of wireing ( there was a doubt if the malfunction could be in there ), and placed a brand new oil pressure sensor. Also all the wireing between the boardcomputer and the display in the dash was tested, no problem found there. Still the warning won't go away, it comes back every time I use the car accompanied with three annoying beeps. According to the mechanic the motherboard at the back of the display ( could ) be the one that's defective, but can't tell for sure. This "repair" has cost me REALLY a lot of cash until now, and the problem is still not gone away. Does anyone on this forum dealed with this problem ( or something close like this ) before and possibly know of any solution? I really rather know for sure before I throw any more cash at it, and replace the whole dash unit.
    thanks in advance,
    greetings Finnie
    #1
  2. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,703
    Likes Received:
    489
    just get a sh dash pod dont buy new
    have it coded
    or send your dash away to be checked.
    #2
  3. dualmono21
    Offline

    dualmono21 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    58
    i have just had a very very similar thing and it turned out to be unrelated to the oil pressure sensor and more to do with the coding of the instrument binnacle i managed to sort mine out
    where are you located and do you know anyone with vag com vcds ???
    #3
  4. Finnie1967
    Offline

    Finnie1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi dualmono21,
    thanks for your reply, really appreciate it! I live in the Netherlands near Amsterdam. I know somebody with vagcom vdcs, but when I took my car to the garage last time ( see original post ) they hooked the vdcs on the computer in the Audi, but didn't find a problem with it. Can you please tell me what the vdcs turned out on your Audi??? Hope to hear from you, thanks a lot,

    greeting Finnie!!
    #4
  5. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    start at the fault end, your oil presure switch may be the cause and it will be the cheapest by far to try 1st, i had this isses a while ago and a simple change of the sessor was the fix, £12 and all is well 9+ months later,
    #5
  6. Finnie1967
    Offline

    Finnie1967 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Turkster,
    Thanks for your reply. if you mean by oil pressure switch the oil pressure sensor, as you can see in the original post, this was already replaced for a new one. If you mean something else, please let me know.
    Greetings Finnie
    #6

Share This Page