1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oil level sensor trigger level

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by MS3, Sep 29, 2012.

  1. MS3

    MS3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    on the APY, how much oil is in the engine when the oil level symbol comes on? The Owner's manual doesn't say.

    I got an oil pressure light come on when I went round a sharp corner. When I checked the oil level it needed 1.25 litres of oil to bring the dipstick level up to minimum. It's a 1999 year S3 but the low level symbol never came up. It is still driving fine.
     
  2. s33nyboy12

    s33nyboy12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,461
    Likes Received:
    188
    Check oil more regular and do not rely on them crappy sensors. I'd scan the car with vag com to check if that sensor even still works.

    I replaced mine when I dropped and cleaned sump. £19 from tps for sensor with o ring

    Cheers, Sean
     
  3. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,533
    Likes Received:
    463
    i didnt think a '99 has oil level sensing?

    Digital clock or analog?


    Analog clock almost certainly doesnt have it.
     
  4. Squirrelofdoom

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    18
    my '99 APY has oil level sensing
     
  5. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,380
    Likes Received:
    620
    aint the oil lever and preasure 2 diffrent sensors ?
     
  6. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,533
    Likes Received:
    463
    yep. But hes saying he got the pressure light because the level was low, yet got no level warning.

    Squirrel: i presume your dials have a digital clock? This seems to be the detail. If they have Digital clock they have the gubbins for level sensing and running AVS. If it has analog clock it doesnt.
     
  7. Squirrelofdoom

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    18
    yeah, digital clock
     

Share This Page