1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oil change ? Castrol professional ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mattyboy199, Apr 15, 2008.

  1. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    After my visit to Jabba back in October time i had noticed that they used Castrol professional & from what i understand is 5W-30. After a quick search i have concluded that Castrol Magnatec 5W-30 is infact Castrol professional or the same as. Anyway i m planning an oil change so though i would run it past you guys.

    Can anyone confirm the above ?

    Thanks

    Matt
    #1
  2. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    I would use castrol edge,its fully synthetic.
    #2
  3. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Can someone answer my question (not being rude) Also, how many litres does the S3 engine take ? is it worth using an engine flush ?
    #3
  4. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Bump
    #4
  5. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    S3 engine will take a little under 5 litres with a filter change. I usually pour in 4.5l and then top up if necessary.
    #5
  6. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    Did you find what you was looking for?
    I wouldnt put a mineral oil in an S3?
    #6
  7. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes i did, i contacted Jabba & asked their advice.

    Castrol Edge is suitable although they recommended Casrtol SLX 4 which i cant find anywhere.

    They also said they have moved over to Mobil one ESP formula which i ll probably use as they sell top ups at the Esso stations.


    A bit confused why these oils only come in 4 litre tubs when for instance the S3 requires 4.5litres (i only checked Halfords though).
    #7
  8. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    I know its a right pain in 4 litre bottles.
    Didnt castrol slx just change name to castrol edge?
    I have just started using silkolene pro s 10w/50,excellent oil and comes in 5 litres.
    Looks weird though,its red.
    #8
  9. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    hmmm i would be careful you can only use certain oils so just check its compatible.
    #9
  10. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    Its in my GT-four.
    Oilman recommended this stuff so must be ok.
    #10
  11. mattyboy199
    Offline

    mattyboy199 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2005
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    11
    I would seriously check weather that oil is sufficient. It might be ok in your GT Four which is pretty old by now. There are certain requirements for the newer engine running semi sythentic may not be a good idea, this is just what i ve been told & i dont know if that oil is semi. check it out !
    #11
  12. james0808
    Offline

    james0808 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,548
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ester fully synthetic,top quality oil.I wouldnt put semi in a turbocharged car.
    #12

Share This Page