1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

oil advice (APY lump)

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Burnsie666, May 16, 2013.

  1. Burnsie666
    Offline

    Burnsie666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 16, 2013]
    Hi all

    Looking for a bit of info on oil grade, my APY S3 is due a change and a quick google search has brought up ALOT of different opinions. In the past i have topped up with edge 5w30 fully but looking online it seems a few people are running 100k plus 1.8 20VT lumps on 10w 40 semi?

    cars got 113K on it which i know isnt a million miles for a vag lump i just wanted to check before i go spending out on some potentially rubbish stuff :(

    cars used on a 30 mile comute everyday (motorway) and a quick b road blast to the grand parents at weekends ;)

    im used to n/a cars and allways used to run mobile one 10/40 semi or millers on my high mileage ZS180

    whats the general thoughts on the above? car does need a top up every now and then on the old 5w30 so should i be going thicker?

    Thanks in advance all! :)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. Dani_B19
    Offline

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,287
    Likes Received:
    90
    [May 16, 2013]
    Fully syn 5w-40 is what you need mate.
    #2
  4. Burnsie666
    Offline

    Burnsie666 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 16, 2013]
    ideal mate thanks for that! :)

    Have any of you used Lucas oil stabilizer in a s3 before? ive used on my kv6 but understand thats a whole different ball game compared to the s3 haha
    #3
  5. Vex182
    Offline

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    72
    [May 16, 2013]
    I agree with 5-40. I was on 5-30 and it was using a little of it and I mean a little. Since going on the 40w, it uses none.
    #4

Share This Page