1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ohhhhh im so excited

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by AUDI TURBO, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    fogot to mention, if you want the best then you are looking at custom code or others that do a full custom map, this involves sitting on the rolling road for hours tweaking everything exactly to your car, but you are talking £500+++. i suggest this is only done after getting some mods done though.

    really you need to go down a modified turbo route to get the power you are after by the sounds of it. something like bryzan has done, got a ko3/ko4 hybrid/modded turbo and then a chip.
    #41
  2. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    What boost gauge you running as this may be reading wrong and where are you taped in to and have you got a filter in the line?
    #42
  3. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    AIR FILTER YES and boost gauge on manifold pipe near the top
    #43
  4. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    But is the gauge any good and is the pipe at the front of the manifold?
    #44
  5. Siena
    Offline

    Siena Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,626
    Likes Received:
    3
    11psi peak?? Gosh, that sucks.

    Have you spoken to the suppliers of that chip?
    #45
  6. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO TOOK FEED NEAR AIR FILTER?? AND IT WAS A AUTO GAUGE? BRAND
    #46
  7. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    took feed from near air filter!!!!

    The feed should come off the inlet manifold just at the top left of my picture.

    [​IMG]
    #47
  8. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    The usual feed is the one at the closest to the firewall, it goes from the manifold to the FPR ( silver thing) as long as you "t" in with no leaks its good to go
    #48
  9. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok now i'm paranoid :)

    i say only 180bhp on the rollers at flywheel, blamed air filter.

    i then only see about 0.8 bar boost, should i be seeing more, i was told originally that i should see upto 19psi, but mine overboosts at about 1 bar anyway, is my chip a good'un???

    must admit i wasn't exactly blown away with my remap, but this has got me thinking now.
    #49
  10. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    so feed should come from the small black pipe that is on the top of manifold near the front of car?
    #50
  11. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
  12. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO WOULD I REALLY GET A REALLY INACCUATE READING?
    #52
  13. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    possibly, you need to take reading from as near the engine as possible on the induction side, eg plenum chamber/inlet manifold.

    so i would on yours take it from the small pipe that goes between the fuel pressure regulator and the manifold at the rear of the engine bay, cut the small hose and t
    t-piece it, or get some more hose. this way you can then root it through to the battery tray area and follow the wiring harness into through the ecu box and into the car. this is what i did anyway.

    you can also do it from the pipe at the front that goes to the dump valve, but i just thought it was less tidy like that.
    #53
  14. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    You should see about 14-15psi but then you are running a bleed valve so maybe thats your prob or you have a bad leak.
    #54
  15. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    0.8 bar was with bleed valve closed fully, i have also done a boost leak test using the VAG equipment and everything is good.

    i'm going to change my n75 valve and take the bleed valve out, see what happens.
    #55
  16. jonnya
    Offline

    jonnya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to your sig you have lowered compression?

    Having a lowered CR and only running 0.8bar doesn't make a lot of sense to
    me. The whole point is so you can run more boost but with the same
    effective CR. What's your timing like?
    #56
  17. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    1ST and 2ND gear only get 10 psi 3rd gets a brief 12 psi 4th and 5th hold at 12 psi is that correct???????????? i thought should be 14 psi in all gears
    #57
  18. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    all pipes are ok checked everything is this correct
    #58
  19. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Thats probably about right as boost depends on load, more load in higher gears
    #59
  20. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    BUT how come loads of people ON HERE with same engine with remap getting 13 or 14 psi!!
    #60
  21. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    It depends on so many factors, even down to the type of fuel you are using.

    I have a k04-15 and jut about spike 15 if climbing a hill in 3rd or 4th @ 2500rpm and full throttle, as the spped increases the boost pressure drops. Trust me the car is plenty fast enough
    #61
  22. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,407
    Likes Received:
    126
    give the n75 valve a go,
    when I get mein replaced you are welcome to come see the difference, only takes 5 minutes to fit!
    #62
  23. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0

    i keep forgetting i have modded the engine internals, maybe why my car feels sluggish, doh.

    i have low compression pitons as i am going big turbo and loads of boost once i have funds to do it. still feeling the pinch from getting engine rebuilt and doing other bits. this modding stuff ain't cheap is it.

    thanks
    #63
  24. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    replace n75 with new n75 or a j valve
    #64
  25. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    dont know what to do people. ive never had a remapped car on a turbo. i dont know if this psi is right i dont want to go down the path of returning the chip and messing around if it is correct. i was told by multiple suppliers and people that have had 1.8t remapped should be 14 psi but i never asked wether that is in all gears or jsut 3rd and above? the thing is im only peaking at 12 psi so im STILL not at the 14 psi figure quoated?????? HELP
    #65
  26. jonnya
    Offline

    jonnya Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have VAG-COM or know someone with VAG-COM?

    If I were you, I would log boost, N75 duty cycle, MAF, timing with VAG-COM
    and see what that looks like. Failing that, take it to someone who knows
    what they are doing. I can highly recommend MRC Tuning in Banbury for
    this.

    How much boost doesn't tell you or us anything about how your car is
    running or how much power it is making.
    #66
  27. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wouldn't get too hung up on it, it's not all about boost, best bet is to get it on a rolling road and get it tested for power and air/fuel ratio make sure it is fueling correctly and you get a figure of power that is expected, eg 180/190bhp at flywheel from remap, make sure you have no boost leaks and make sure the n75 valve is ok, vagcom didn't pick up that my n75 valve is faulty.

    i don't think you can log requested and actual boost on the older AEB engined A4's, not an expert but was looking into it on mine and couldn't do it.
    #67
  28. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    you right you cant, but he could log his MAF readings?? as a comparison and timing maybe
    #68
  29. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    have you got a breif explanation on how to do that????

    be interested in doing mine, but need to read up on logging a bit.
    #69
  30. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    now bin told that it could be a worn acuator rods assy?? how would i know and could this really be the problem. i feel im getting passed from pillar to post!!!!!!!!!!!!
    #70
  31. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
    Assuming you have VAG, you log into your engine, then select measuring blocks. If you the change one to block 2, that will give you MAF readings, and another to 19(i think)

    If you then look at the bottom of the page, you can press LOG and well the rest is easy. It places the log in a folder as a CSV file and you can read it using excel.
    #71
  32. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    i dont have vag no. just want this sorting!!!!!! and i can take it to a sort of local garage with rolling road WELL LANE turbo center for about £50 but would it prove out
    #72
  33. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    There is so many things that can cause these problems, it is in fact hard to diagnose over the web, the best we can do is other suggestions and in some cases how to test.

    Put it this way if you had put it in a garage I'm sure you would have been bent over and abused in way I would not like to mention when it came to paying the bill just to find this fault as they would have changed every thing.
    #73
  34. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    well only thing left to do now is replace acuator rod asyy and see if that cures it. oh and completey random where on earth can i get PROPER hose clips im using jubliee clips and i find if you tighten them too far it cuts the breather hoses.............so even though i put new pipes an dlips on there could be a small hole and i woudnt know?
    #74
  35. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    Get some silicone hoses of ebay and for small clips I tend to use Petrol clips and for the larger pipes T clamps work well and can also be found on ebay.
    #75
  36. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    just ordered forge dump valve see if that cures problem i let you all know
    #76
  37. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,568
    Likes Received:
    267
  38. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    are you sure there is something actually wrong with it?????

    you're going to have a hell of a problem finding a fault that isn't there!

    i maybe wrong but it might be that your boost is spot on, just because chip A gives 14 psi, doesn't mean chip B will as well.
    #78
  39. AUDI TURBO
    Offline

    AUDI TURBO Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes 007. no dont know if it faulty but before id even finished my conversation with the forge guy he knew straight away what i were going to say. he had exact problem on a 1996 audi before. they will change the spring inside for me too for the correct strength.
    #79
  40. macca
    Offline

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    forge do an actuator for the a4 ko3 i think. bit pricey mind.

    i can't really give any advice as you are getting almost identical what i'm getting and we may even have the same maps, mine is from chippeduk but i think they have a choice of several maps for each car sometimes depending on requirements etc. so maybe i have a fault as well.

    i'm not going to go down new actuator route as my turbo is going to be given the shove soon. There must be a way to test the actuator that is on there physically, though it is a pain to get to.

    maybe someone can help some more.
    #80

Share This Page