1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oh no the cable question again !

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by moonlight, Jun 5, 2013.

  1. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    A thousand apologies this has been well threaded! Picked up my new a3 today. Dealer tested my iPhone 4 with the blue cable and no artwork so swapped for a red one.... Sorted. However now that I m home I ve attached my iPod and it shows as not supported The dealer kept the blue one... Is that the problem do I now need the blue one!? There are lots of related threads on here with various queries. I m going bog eyed using my phone going through them ! It's around 6 years old maybe gen 3 non touch. States version 1.3 in the spec

    Thanks !
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. ukm120

    ukm120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    12
    Think red cable only works with certain 'newer' apple products but does not support the older ipods. I've used the blue cable with an old iPod classic which will play but does not support album art. I'm sure ive seen a thread somewhere which says which iPods are supported with which cable.
     
    brad9753 likes this.
  4. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    Thanks. I ll pop back to Audi tom. Good excuse for a drive I guess. I was tempted to ask for the blue cable too .. Must have been too excited !
     
  5. ukm120

    ukm120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    12
    Found this on another thread posted by leof regarding the two cables compatibility -

    - 4F0 051 510 K (with blue marking) without Video function
    iPod mini (From Version 1.3.0)
    iPod nano
    iPod 4G (From Version 1.2.1), iPod 5G Video, iPod 6G classic
    iPod touch
    iPhone
    iPad (From Version 4.2.1)

    - 4F0 051 510 R (with red marking) with Video function
    iPod nano 5G (From Version 1.0.2)
    iPod touch 1G, 2G, 3G and 4G (From Version 3.0.0)
    iPhone 1G, 3G, 3GS and 4G (From Version 3.0.0)
    iPad (From Version 4.2.1)
     
  6. manmoth

    manmoth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    So if I have an iPhone 4S I should get the red?
     
  7. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    That's great. That answers it.. Need both! Or transfer my tunes onto my phone.... cheers
     
  8. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    yes. My iPhone 4S works with red but not blue
     
  9. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    The cables are actually black but with either a red or blue collar btw
     
  10. manmoth

    manmoth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    16
    Back to audi I go then.....thanks.
     
  11. SuffolkAudiMan

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    18
    Anyone connecting a Ipod Classic 160GB 7th gen? From looking at the above, I assume I will be needing the Blue Cable.
     
  12. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    I now have the red and blue....IPOD is 7 years old and will only play with the blue ...Iphone 4s will play with either but artwork only with red......I haven't worked out how to get artwork with blue yet for the IPOD (or if there's a shuffle/random) option either!...I think I read that it's possible ....
     
  13. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    I didn't think artwork worked with the Blue cable - happy to be wrong though.
     
  14. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    ah....that would save me time trying to work it out!...do you have shuffle option?
     
  15. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    Will have to check when I get back out to the car later. Will let you know!
     
  16. ukm120

    ukm120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    12
    Artwork only supported by red cable as far as I can work out.
     
  17. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    ok...that will indeed save me a whole lotta time!
    Had 2 hours in a jam earlier and couldn't work out how to shuffle..but there's a lot to take in at the mo...might be user error!

    Dealer told me it doesn't have voice activation....but it does!...
     
  18. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    Yep, all A3's have voice activation as standard. The tech pack gets you an improved 'whole word' version, but don't think there's much in it tbh.
     
  19. ukm120

    ukm120 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    12
    I know the feeling, I keep meaning to read the manual but tend to play around with the mmi until it does (or doesn't) do what I was after.
     
  20. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    after reading a few threads I conclude that it doesn't have shuffle!.shame.

    I studied the manual for a few mins ..some of it raised my hopes like home coming lights....no aint got that...aint got this...think I'll just drive it!
     
  21. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    struggled to ring anyone other than my ex!!!!..what's the chances!?...managed to cancel several times...ppheww...scrolled through it in the end....will get easier with use!
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    Yeah even my Tech Pack version struggles. I attempted to show it off to a friend by navigating to his post code, and instead it decided I said 'curry house' and picked out all the restaurants near by.... Work in progress!
     
  24. A3sportbackMark

    A3sportbackMark Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2013
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    230
    So, can you ask the dealer for both red and blue cables and are they willing to give you both? Or did you have to pay for the extra one?
     
  25. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well I got both but it was originally supplied with just the blue and swapped for the red as I only had my iPhone with me I called and asked for the blue. Foc
     
  26. RossR

    RossR Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    119
    So which cable do I need for a micro USB android phone? The green one???
     
  27. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    865
    I don't know - there is a micro USB cable available though. I intend to try and get as many cables as I can out of it... it's advertised as supporting all these connections so I think I should get the cables! I don't own anything made by Apple (and don't ever intend to) but I'll keep hold of them in case some friends want to link up their iphone/ipod one day.
     
  28. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,315
    Likes Received:
    486
    How did you trigger the voice control? If you say "enter postcode" rather than "enter address", then it should work better.

    Can't say I've had any issues with postcode voice entry - it often offers me a few variations but the one I want is always in the list. The only issue I've had is that it always says something like "no address could be found, do you want to navigate to the centre of town?" but, if you just say "yes", then it takes you to the postcode anyway. Bit weird.
     
  29. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    Yeah I think it was confusion on my part over the correct voice prompt. And you're right, it always says no streets found for voice postcodes, but works anyway if you say yes. I keep meaning to bring the handbook in from the car and read up on the voice commands.
     
  30. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    hmm once I get my retro fitted sat nav I'll have a play.

    I also have a usb cable that came with the car...aint used it yet..may never do.

    I seem to be all over the place with the MMI at present...the only time I've had to play with it is when I'm driving which can be a little distracting!..volume on the steering wheel...volume on the centre console...skip tracks on the steering wheel..skip tracks on the centre console...scroll through lists on the cluster display..scroll through lists on the MMI...voice activate between sources...or push buttons...I think I'm slightly less confused than I was yesterday..but only just! lol..for some reason I always end up scrolling up or down the wrong way first!
     
  31. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    Yes, the rotating dial goes the 'wrong' way to what you'd expect. Normally turning it clockwise should result in it moving down the list, whereas it does the opposite. Left hand drive perhaps....
     
  32. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    indeed!..it does have a nice feel to it....I just seem to be looking down at it too much .....at present
     
  33. mjcourtney

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,387
    Likes Received:
    387
    I found a video on youtube a few months ago of the Audi engineers designing the MMI Control dial. They were literally holding it to their ear to listen to the click and made sure it sounded 'consistent'. Good attention to detail. Can't find it at the moment!
     
    Sandra likes this.
  34. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    !...only in Germany
     
  35. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    feel quite comforted to know I'm driving a well put together machine...my Scirocco went yesterday...the Audi is definitely a step up..
     
    Sandra likes this.
  36. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator TeamMisano Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19,441
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Nice to hear your enjoying the car Moonlight. Any nice long drive planned for this weekend? :)x
     
  37. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,061
    Likes Received:
    865
    I think this is working as designed - if you look on the side of the menu that has the curved bit, that's supposed to represent the edge of the dial I think. As soon as you imagine this, it all works the right way around, but then I've only played with it briefly - this is how I understood it though.
     
    hittchy likes this.
  38. moonlight

    moonlight Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    108
    Hi Sandra....there are one or two areas where the Scirocco wins...but some of that is down to spec..overall the A3 is superior...and as much as I loved the look of the 'roc'...this A3 just looks nicer....I am very very happy with it.

    It was nice last night to get out of the shirt n tie...drove off to the gym on a fairly quiet road.....it's so quiet...will have to be very careful of my speed!...good to have the grin factor back....I haven't pushed it yet but I know it's very capable.

    A road to nowhere (talking heads) is on the cards!..looking dry tomorrow tooooo!
     
    Sandra likes this.
  39. AJB

    AJB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    24
    I think this is exactly right. I haven't got mine yet, but playing in the showroom I kept getting confused until I realised that I was meant to think of it as rotating the selection around the curved bit of the menu. Once I'd realised that it made perfect sense.
     
  40. hittchy

    hittchy Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    74
    Spot on.

    In fact, on my A4 it had a 'bullet point' to indicate the selection on the left hand side which made it easier to understand. It now comes naturally to me and I just don't think about it.
     
  41. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator TeamMisano Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19,441
    Likes Received:
    3,717
    Hope you have had a good run out in the new car and come home the " long way round" (stereophonics) :) x
     

Share This Page