1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Oh go on then, where's the CTS on my 2.0 TDi - BRD engine...

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by Richardesty, Jul 22, 2012.

  1. Richardesty
    Offline

    Richardesty loves quattro

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    750
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jul 22, 2012]
    I've looked at all the different guides, checked elsawin and etka and searched my engine bay with a torch - still can't seem to locate my coolant emperature sensor!

    It's the 2.0 TDi 170 engine code BRD

    Any ideas guys...
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 20, 2014]

  3. ricochet
    Offline

    ricochet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    anyone know if theres a photo showing location of coolnat temp sensor on 2.0 TDI 170 engine? Thanks
    #2
  4. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,806
    Likes Received:
    500
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    hard to see its down the back just feel for ir
    say around 6" down very tight
    #3
  5. ricochet
    Offline

    ricochet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Is that behind the engine - say, under the wiring plug for the injectors and glow plugs?
    #4
  6. CHEZ
    Offline

    CHEZ moderately amusing

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    554
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    #5
    ricochet likes this.
  7. ricochet
    Offline

    ricochet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    Thanks very much for reply Chez, I'm all cleaned up now - will attack the beast again first thing tomorrow and post how I get on, thanks again
    #6
  8. CHEZ
    Offline

    CHEZ moderately amusing

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,795
    Likes Received:
    554
    [Apr 29, 2013]
    it is a doddle mate once that pesky clip is out!
    follow the above advise and you cant go wrong!
    good luck and keep me posted!
    #7
  9. hubbo1
    Offline

    hubbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 1, 2013]
    just changed mine-what a pig! you are almost doing it blind. took about 30 minutes.
    #8
  10. ricochet
    Offline

    ricochet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 1, 2013]
    Any chance of posting a photo with arrow to CTS location please hubbo? Cheers
    #9
  11. hubbo1
    Offline

    hubbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 2, 2013]
    you cant actually see it to photograph! if you find the fuel temp sensor, follow the wire back to the loom, there will be another wire the same as the one going to the fuel temp sensor, follow that with your hand and you will come to the plug on the coolant temp sensor. remove the fuel filter to make it a bit easier. hope that helps. I will try post a pic of the general area later.
    #10
  12. ricochet
    Offline

    ricochet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 2, 2013]
    Thanks again Hubbo....errrr....which is the fuel temp' sensor!!
    #11
  13. hubbo1
    Offline

    hubbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 2, 2013]
    follow the fuel lines from the fuel filter-it is nearly dead centre at back top of engine, its the same type of sensor as the coolant one
    #12
  14. hubbo1
    Offline

    hubbo1 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 7, 2013]
    this has cured my starting issues instantly-starts on the button-no rough starts now!
    #13
  15. dk1234
    Offline

    dk1234 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2012
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 10, 2013]
    I need to do this aswell as I keep getting a Coolant warning message on the DIS and changed the coolant bottle already, you haven't got a pic have you? I've got a 2.0 fsi. Did you have to remove anything to get to the CTS or did you just do it blind as I see mentioned above by somebody else?
    #14

Share This Page