1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OEM LED Numberplate Lights without errors 2010+

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by aky20, Nov 12, 2012.

  1. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 12, 2012]
    Hi all,

    I was browsing Kufatec and came across the following adaptor which I have not seen before:

    Adapter plate LEDs Audi A4 B6, B7 / Audi A3 8P-39298-1

    I have the A5 leds fitted, but as the car is on a 2010 plate it brings up an error. Would the above adaptor resolve this and has anyone used it and had any success?

    I imagine it connects to the wiring behind the plastic trim?

    Any ideas guys.


    Thanks in advance!
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 12, 2012]
    Based on me converting some German on the review posted see below it would appear to solve the problem on 2010 cars

    've Audi A3 Sportback 2.0 TDI 140 hp year 2010 8P install Simply for each! and working properly. And the error message is displayed in the FIS NOT more! Thank you!
    #2
  4. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 13, 2012]
    Update....

    According to Kufatec this adaptor will resolve the DIS error thrown out by the OEM LEDs.

    I have ordered and awaiting delivery.

    Will keep you posted of progress.
    #3
  5. daz.h
    Offline

    daz.h Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 13, 2012]
    :think: i cant understand why anyone would pay that extra price just to have led's fitted to the back, to which you will not see any benifit from.
    i fitted them to my 07 A3, only because a screw had come away from one light and the unit fallen out at some stage, mine work without any warnings, but i would not have gone to the lengths of the above just to have them.
    #4
  6. deanshaw24
    Offline

    deanshaw24 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Nov 13, 2012]
    Because they look so much better than halogen ones!
    #5
    MrWhItEwOlF and aky20 like this.
  7. Helifella
    Offline

    Helifella Flying low level

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    47
    [Nov 16, 2012]
    Did any of you spot the country flag icons (top right)

    Union flag ~ simples
    #6
  8. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 1, 2012]
    Right guys an update for you all...

    The wire finally arrived and I have just got around to fitting it from the pictures you will see dedication to the cause.

    [​IMG]

    This is the wire in the packaging it arrived within.

    [​IMG]

    Without the packaging.

    Okay clearly had to improvise as lacking a garage and natural light..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After battling with the boot panel it came off the wire was fitted in 10 minutes

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Wire fitted and working

    [​IMG]

    No more bulb out light, thank god the bulb light was driving me crazy now I have the low fuel light to look forward tooo.
    Last edited: Dec 1, 2012
    #7
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Dec 1, 2012]
    Good work mate. Love the outdoor lighting solution, haha.
    #8
    slimx likes this.
  10. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    292
    [Dec 2, 2012]
    on the loom is that 1 resistor per side or 2 resistors for the whole lot?
    #9
  11. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 2, 2012]
    Hi t8ups,

    It is that one resister for the whole lot.
    #10
  12. phil76
    Offline

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    568
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Dec 6, 2012]
    I am glad i have seen this as i thought the A5 lights just worked with no faults anyway,how much was the loom sorry? cant open the link from the work computer
    #11
  13. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    Hi mate,

    I came to about £35 i think for the loom and postage.
    #12
  14. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    do you know if these work on a 2011 A3. i was going to go down the route of replacing the bcm.
    #13
  15. Veneeringman
    Offline

    Veneeringman Bazinga VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    547
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    Hi Trups is your man on here, just fitted LED's to my 2011 S3 worked perfect all i needed to do was code them with VCDS.
    #14
  16. deanshaw24
    Offline

    deanshaw24 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    I tried coding mine, I have a 2010 s3, but my software wasn't high enough so couldn't code!
    #15
  17. poli84
    Offline

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Dec 19, 2012]
    This is my issue also.

    T8ups, do you think you can make a loom to get the OEM LED's working?
    35Euro from Kufatec is too much...
    #16
  18. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 19, 2012]
    Likewise here.
    #17
  19. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Dec 19, 2012]
    Hey guys! Thought I would add my 2 cents on the VCDS coding.

    I had some bright LEDs on my rear plate. Same ones as Warren. Only noticed when a friend was driving behind me that one of them had failed. I didn't get a warning on my DIS. I believe that if you code the car (Think it was called Cold monitoring) then if the light goes, you will get no warning it has.

    To me its not a massive issue, I would rather have the LEDs and no constant DIS warning when fitted.

    Tim
    #18
  20. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 20, 2012]
    Yup, the coding does nothing to change the resistance tolerances to allow for LEDs...it simply removes the monitoring completely ;)
    #19
  21. deanshaw24
    Offline

    deanshaw24 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 20, 2012]
    ^^^ how do you code this?
    #20
  22. avvy786
    Offline

    avvy786 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 20, 2012]
    i would just go visit T8ups - has been doing car lighting for quite some time and always has a solution to bulb problems :D as done my car full interior and exterior and till today not experienced any faults :D
    #21
  23. poli84
    Offline

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Dec 21, 2012]
    So will this coding work on our MY10 to allow the OEM LED's and can it be done?
    Or does the module (or whatever it is called) need to be updated?
    #22
  24. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 21, 2012]
    Not sure what your CE unit software version is, but mine appears to be too early for the coding to apply to it yet too new for the LED units to work without removing "cold monitoring". I would think my (and maybe your) best bet would be to go for one of these Kufatec cables.
    #23
  25. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    292
    [Dec 21, 2012]
    I have sent away for a new mould to be made, i designed it for the RS4 owners so a resistor can be fitted to the bulb rather than buying a loom with them fitted, getting a test bulb next month from the mould so fingers crossed.
    #24
  26. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 8, 2013]
    Ordered a set of these today: AUDI A3 S3 A4 S4 RS4 A6 S6 RS6 A5 S5 Q7 A8 S8 10' 11' 12' LED license plate lamp | eBay

    Seller seems to swear blind they'll work without the need for coding and/or additional adapters so we'll see when they arrive :think:
    #25
  27. poli84
    Offline

    poli84 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    57
    [Jan 9, 2013]
    Looks forward to hearing the results T8ups!

    Let us know how you go, pics would be great.
    I'm hesitant about aftermarket LED's as they are typically too bright.

    OEM LED and a loom from T8ups is the best option i think.
    #26
  28. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 10, 2013]
    They do tend to be a bit bright, especially on lighter coloured cars. It wasn't such a concern on my previous car (a dolphin grey A3), but I had actually taken the unit apart and blacked out a row of LED's on the lens to reduce the amount of light and that seemed to work well.

    I'll be sure to post some pics of them fitted unmodified as well as after I fiddle around with either blacking out rows again OR possibly applying a layer or two of LaminX in their "tint" colour.
    #27
  29. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 17, 2013]
    #28
  30. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 22, 2013]
    Right, so the eBay units linked above worked 100%. As predicted they are a bit bright, but I'll be blacking out parts of the lens to see if this fixes it.
    #29
  31. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 22, 2013]
    Cheers for the feedback - good to know :icon_thumright:

    No DIS errors so far?
    #30
  32. brangus
    Offline

    brangus New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 25, 2013]

    Had mine installed for a week or so now and no faults. They are bright, but I think it looks OK.
    #31
  33. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 27, 2013]
    More useful evidence if yours is a MY2010+ ?
    #32
  34. Acheron
    Offline

    Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 27, 2013]
    No issues a week in :)
    #33
  35. rdfcpete
    Offline

    rdfcpete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Jan 31, 2013]

    Cheers. Did you remove the white padding that came on the inside of the units before fitting?
    #34
  36. Blackie
    Offline

    Blackie Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    54
    [Jan 31, 2013]
    Aky

    What colour are those rings ?

    Is it brown / black / red / gold ?

    If thats so each resistor is 1kohm

    3 in parallel is 333.33 ohms

    Should be easy enough to make & cost about 5 pence

    £35 my arse



    #35
  37. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 3, 2013]
    Erm just checking mate I think that is a correct colour combination, I need to have the boot panel off again in a couple of weeks so can check then for you mate.
    #36
  38. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 3, 2013]
    #37
  39. bulldog a3
    Offline

    bulldog a3 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 24, 2013]
    just ordered these - hope they work on my '12
    #38
  40. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Mar 30, 2013]
    Poor fitment in terms of the connections? It should fit okay as its the same connector

    I image that the pins on the led units have been bent to make sure they fit?
    #39
  41. downtothebone
    Offline

    downtothebone Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Mar 30, 2013]
    Worked for me after trying loads of others including the OEM units - seems to be pot luck ...
    #40

Share This Page