1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

OEM Aux in, easiest way?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Breezey, Dec 18, 2013.

  1. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi guys,


    Got a 2004 A3 (symphony 2 + bose ) After an oem head unit purely for aux in whislt keeping the Bose. I'm dubious about getting an RNS-E as i won't use it due to having tom tom on my iPhone. Basically my question is whats the easiest solution, in my mind I'm thinking of a symphony 2+ from an 06 on ( i can overcome the airel differences ) can you do aux in on the symphony 2 + ?
     
  2. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    You can get the OEM Aux-In on the II+ systems (2007+) and the RNS-E. Pretty simple install, 3 wires into the back of the head unit.

    Your only real option for the Symphony/Concert II (pre 2007) is with a CD-Changer emulator, something like a Connects2 system.
     
  3. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    From what I've read so far i did fear this about the cd changer emulator which i don't fancy doing much! think it'll have to be an 07 symphony 2+ and just use the ZF aireil with an aux in lead! either that or its non oem which i don't fancy doing as they look ****e!

    Thanks
     
  4. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Yup, good choice.

    You should be fine with the standard aerial system, officially its not the way its supposed to work but when I did the same mod it worked fine.

    You'll also need to piggyback a connection on your wiring as the II+ system requires 2 12v connections whereas your II radio requires ony 1.
     
  5. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh? haven't read up on that do you have any more info please which pins etc need piggy backing?
    cheers
     
  6. mitalm

    mitalm Audi A3

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    11
  7. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the post bud had a read of your thread, I may just go for one if the quality is that good! Plus being able to charge your phone from it aswell frees up the stupidly placed cigarette lighter lol!
     
  8. viceroy

    viceroy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    22
  9. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
  10. viceroy

    viceroy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    22
  11. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    theres no way it can be that simple as the actual head unit doesn't have an Aux function ? worth a bash anyway for the cost of the lead.
     
  12. viceroy

    viceroy Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    22
    Worked perfectly on mine.
    Bought the cable, plugged it in and it worked.
    Mine is a Symphony on a B8 though, but pretty sure it should work on an 8P
     
  13. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    B8 is a synphony 2 plus isn't it?
     
  14. mitalm

    mitalm Audi A3

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    11
    With the mini ISO connector you will either need an adaptor loom to keep the DIS functions etc, or have to cut the existing ISO connector to fit the mini ISO and keep existing function. But yeah viceroy that is by far the cheapest option and I'm pissed I didn't find anything like that!
     
  15. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    ive ordered the cable but I'm not going to hold my breath as I'm fairly certain the symphony 2 can't be programmed to receive an aux in connection which is why everyone has made these cd emulator boxes!
     
  16. Breezey

    Breezey Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    2
    Right so cable and keys have arrived i will be attacking this on sunday more info to come i will do a guide if i can get it working!
     

Share This Page