Odd tyres on an S3 - problem?

jasonc

Reaction score
Hi all,

I've had my 58 plate facelift S3 Sportback (manual) for about 6 months now and covered about 6000 miles in it, all on the tyres that it was supplied with.

When I bought it I noticed that it was fitted with odd tyres on the front axle (1 Hankook and 1 Bridgestone) which I know is far from ideal but I quietly ignored this since they both had a lot of tread on them and having just paid for the car I didn't want to spend a load more cash replacing perfectly good tyres.

Yesterday I was checking the pressures and I noticed that the rear tyres (which I had previously thought were identical) have actually got different load ratings with one of them having a load rating that is lower (88) than the rating that seems to get specced for the S3 (92).

I'm not an expert on tyres (and this is my first 4WD car so any knowledge I have gathered over the years probably doesn't apply) but running a performance 4WD car which doesn't have matching tyres on either axle doesn't seem too clever to me - when I think of some of the speeds that I throw it into corners I'm starting to wonder if I'm being kept alive by the electronics!

The full spec of the tyres on the car:

Nearside Front: Hankook Ventus V12 Evo 225/40ZR18 92Y
Offside Front: Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 225/40R18 92Y

Nearside Rear: Bridgestone Potenza RE050A 225/40R18 92Y
Offside Rear: Bridgestone Potenza RE040 225/40ZR18 88Y

The rears are currently down to about 3-4mm and the fronts 5-6mm.

Any thoughts - am I being paranoid and should just wait for the tyres to reach the end of their natural life or should I just bite the bullet and order up a set of 4 brand new identical tyres?

Cheers.