1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ODB Wiring

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,222
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 25, 2013]
    With 3 RNS units sat on my desk, I'm thinking of building a little test rig.
    I got power sorted out, need to get some speakers and the diag port done.

    The speakers are easy but I'm not sure on the diag port.

    Am I able to wiring in a port directly to the rns unit and use VCDS?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,222
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    Going by this image.

    [​IMG]


    Going by this I assume I get a plug, give it ground and live, then run 7 (K-Line or K1) and 15 (L-Line or K2) to the correct pins on the stereo.
    Same as the can-bus if I wanted to use that?
    #2
  4. Sulli79
    Offline

    Sulli79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    K and L plus power and a vcds search should come up with the rns as the only address, worth a go anyway
    problems might occur with canbus as missing node numbers so you would need to simulate the nodes to get the data flowing correctly, not worth the bother IMO
    #3
  5. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,222
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 26, 2013]
    Old school K-Line it is. :thumbsup:
    #4

Share This Page