1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd or obd2 or canbus?? 51 plate s3

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by jedwa115, Sep 5, 2006.

  1. jedwa115
    Offline

    jedwa115 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2006]
    A mate has offered to hook my S3 up to VAG-COM to try and get to the bottom of the problems I am having with my alarm. I haven't ever used VAG-COM. He's asking if my car is obd or obd2 or canbus??

    Anyone able to answer?

    It's a september '01 51 plate 210 facelift S3.

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 5, 2006]
    It uses an ODB2 socket, but uses a proprietary protocol to talk to the controllers - hence why VAGCOM was born. Non-canbus versions will work fine.
    #2
  4. jedwa115
    Offline

    jedwa115 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2006]
    cheers, any power related tweaks I can play with while I have it plugged in? I have a REVO remap and SPS3. Wandered if there's any way of checking my REVO settings are giving max return?
    #3

Share This Page