1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

obd cable help

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by a4singh, May 10, 2007.

  1. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi all,

    i bought an obd II cable off ebay a while back, and have only tried to get it working today.... Whe i plug it in it comes up with the installation thing saying 'USB<-->Serial' then asking me to install it... i didnt get any installation files with it or anything... can anybody recommend anything to get it wokring, or even suggest a new cable that i could buy? :think:

    thanks...
    #1
  2. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    what software? make sure you have the right version for your cable.
    I had the wrong version of rosstech VAGCom and it didnt work with my serial cable either
    #2
  3. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    well to get that working, i need to install my cable first, but dont have the drivers cus where i bought it from didnt give it to me... i just realised...

    wud u know of a cable on ebay that wud work correctly? i need both serial and usb.... thanks mate!
    #3
  4. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    3
    yup, a genuine Ross-Tech cable, any thing else just isn't worth it
    #4
  5. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    how much wud one of those set me back?
    #5
  6. shineydave
    Offline

    shineydave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    3
    check out their website, i would imagine the price is quite reasonable at the moment as the pound is so strong against the dollar
    #6
  7. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks mate!
    #7
  8. jcb
    Offline

    jcb Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Messages:
    4,118
    Likes Received:
    13
    I bought an eBay special but you don;t get all the functionality of the VAGCOm software unless you buy their cable.
    You can have my serial cable if you want! cost me &#163;15, well worth it for the airbag reset alone!
    #8
  9. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    jcb, will your serial cable work with vagcom 409.1? if so, how muc would you want for it posted? also, i need a usb calbe also, cus my laptop does not have a serial port! wanted the serial one for some other software i had, but the usb for vagcom!

    anyway, let me know how much u want for the serial cable of urs....
    #9
  10. Markey
    Offline

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can get a usb to serail convertor i use them all the time for connecting cisco cables to my non serial tablet.
    #10
  11. Jpc
    Offline

    Jpc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you d/l the drivers off this website it should work
    http://www.ftdichip.com/Documents/AppNotes.htm

    After the USB-Serial part it installs a virtual com port, check device manager after this is installed and it will give you the com port number which you can configure vag-com for.

    I've got mine running perfectly in Vista.
    #11
  12. NineNails
    Offline

    NineNails Proud sponsor of the snack food industry

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    3
    #12
  13. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys ill take a look at this today, hopefully i get it wokring and will be able to check my car out!!! ill let you know a bit later on how it goes...
    #13
  14. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jpc, thanks mate, that website worked and it installed the cable... ive set it to com port 2 becuase com 3 and 4 are taken, and vagcom seems to only have com 1 2 3 4 and usb... hope it works when i go to test it out in the car!
    #14
  15. Jpc
    Offline

    Jpc Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nae worries buddy, mine installed @ com4 and there was no need to change.

    Good luck
    #15
  16. a4singh
    Offline

    a4singh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks jpc, tested it out, it worked read codes, but stopped cus i need to login, i think i need to learn how to use the program properly, but will be good when i know!
    #16

Share This Page