1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Number plate lights! What have I done?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by OVRA3, May 29, 2012.

  1. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    Hi all,

    Just tried to swap over my number plate bulbs with some led canbus ones but they didn't work put the old ones back in and now dis is showing bulbs out in the number plate?? Can't seem to get them to work.. Did a search and it's been said you need to reset on vcds? Is that right????

    Annoying.com
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Kelvin_S

    Kelvin_S Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    18
    Same here mate, I don't think I can return them. Receipt says specially ordered parts cannot be accepted for refund.
     
  4. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    Are your old ones working now though? Mine now just show a bulb out? Wonder if it now needs to be reset
     
  5. rOb_A

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    where did you buy the replacement led ones?
     
  6. Brodster

    Brodster For those that matter!!!!
    Team Ibis VCDS Map User Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S4

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,543
    Likes Received:
    879
    Dont take this the wrong way but have you turned the bulbs round coz if you've not got them in the correct way they wont work and will throw up a fault. Same thing happened to me and I just spun the round and popped them back in and voila.....working LED's with no faults.
     
  7. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    Got them from eBay.. The old ones dont work now either just get an error message :-( wonder if I now need to clear the error?
     
  8. Kelvin_S

    Kelvin_S Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    18
    I don't know haven't tried them, I still dead set on getting the new ones to work. I bought mine from bristol audi. You say bulb then LED?
     
  9. Brodster

    Brodster For those that matter!!!!
    Team Ibis VCDS Map User Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S4

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,543
    Likes Received:
    879
    Stupid me......spin the LED round the other way. If its flagged up a fault the car sometimes has the tendancy to isolate the circuit so needs to be cleared before it will work again.
     
  10. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    So if I put the old bulbs back in and clear the fault it should work?
     
  11. Brodster

    Brodster For those that matter!!!!
    Team Ibis VCDS Map User Audi Avant Owner Group Audi S4

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,543
    Likes Received:
    879
    In theory yes
     
  12. OVRA3

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    80
    Perhaps I need to invest in vcds lol :-( cheers buddy
     
  13. boost-addict

    boost-addict Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2011
    Messages:
    975
    Likes Received:
    36
    no he said

    "If its flagged up a fault the car sometimes has the tendancy to isolate the circuit so needs to be cleared before it will work again."
     
  14. Kelvin_S

    Kelvin_S Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    18
    How do you clear it? Can it isolate 1 side?
     
  15. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    I can do it for you ,im in Chedgrave 10 miles east of Norwich, have vcds pro.
     
  16. t8ups

    t8ups Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    506
    maybe the prongs are not making a connection?
     

Share This Page