1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Number Plate LED Lights

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by andyam, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    37
    Hi All,

    Recently brought a 56 Plate Audi A3 1.9 TDI.
    Ive purchased some LED Festoon Bulbs for my Number Plate, as I came to install them, i put the right one in and then tested it worked fine..put the left one in...it then turns on...and then after 5 seconds it goes off.
    If I put the original in on the left and keep the right one in its fine both work....soo im a bit stumped?
    Any Ideas guys? O the led is like sort of indented in a bit, but the connections still are touching etc.

    Much Help Appreciated! :)

    Thanks!! :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. *Müllërz

    *Müllërz REVOlutionary

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    5
    does you car have in the dashboard a yellow bulb sign?if yes you may need resistors
     
  4. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    #3 mike foster, Jan 19, 2011
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2011
  5. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    yes as mike said its been covered a thousand times
     
  6. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    37
    no my car doesnt...and sorry guys...ive read a few posts most are about the error light not read anything like this hence why i started a new thread but will read into it again...sorry again
     
  7. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    ok no probs dude , it sounds like a dodgy led to me where did you get them from ebay , halfords if you can take them back do so and ask if you could try a different set to see if its a bulb and not something with the car
     
  8. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    37
    well im waiting for a replacment LED....sooo i have to see...and I have been reading alot about LED bulbs but most of them are about the error lights so im pretty much very stumped TBH...just wanted to know if anyone has actually come across this problem?
     
  9. mike foster

    mike foster Fossie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    80
    The computer turns off the power to the bulb if it thinks it has blown. Due to the lower current consumption of led's the computer thinks the bulb has gone open circuit and hence it turns off after 5 seconds.

    Both sides of the car are independantly monitored therefore it is possible fior one to work and the other not.

    As I said before this as been covered dozens of times. There will be nothing wrong with the bulb and the next one is likely to be the same.

    The so called 'no canbus error' led's are not all the same, some work and some don't. Just about everyone has the problem.

    Once again please check all threads !
     
  10. andyam

    andyam Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    37
    sorry...
     

Share This Page