1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Not to sure about this???

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by audi_a3_turbo, Feb 17, 2010.

  1. audi_a3_turbo
    Offline

    audi_a3_turbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,554
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    It would fit, but the routing is a bit different.

    You'd be foolish to spend that much money on one of those though, these are perfectly good enough - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/NEW-Cold-Air-...arts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item518ebdaf4f
    #2
  4. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,682
    Likes Received:
    300
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    I would not risk that cheap one, its mounted low down where it may encounter more debris and moisture, i also bet the fitration level isnt up to much on that cheap one either.

    The K&N unit will have a much better level of filtration for sure.
    #3
  5. leshkin
    Offline

    leshkin Hold my beer... VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    Just get some ducting in there for a couple of quid and save your monies :)
    #4
  6. djdougalno1
    Offline

    djdougalno1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    it wont fit anyway as ure turbo intake is 2.5 inch where as the 225 bhp is 3 inch so you would need a custom tip and a bigger maf sensor
    #5
  7. audi_a3_turbo
    Offline

    audi_a3_turbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    right okay then guys thanks for the answers. I want a cda induction kit but I cant afford one!
    #6
  8. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    Dont bother, stock airbox is FINE on our cars mate.
    #7
  9. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,554
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 17, 2010]
    The K&N one is mounted in the same place, and there is a plastic guard around and under it to protect it from water and debris.

    My girlfriends been running hers for a while, and Prawns been running one of those for years with no problems.
    #8
  10. audi_a3_turbo
    Offline

    audi_a3_turbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2010]
    #9
  11. Broken Byzan
    Offline

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,682
    Likes Received:
    300
    [Feb 18, 2010]
    The K&N filter unit is mounted higher up, the el cheapo on is mounted on the end of the pipe.

    Stay stock its good for over 350BHP of flow,causes no restriction on my car on it's hybrid
    #10
  12. audi_a3_turbo
    Offline

    audi_a3_turbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2010]
    okay then so shoud i just go with the replacement element then? if so which would you recommend?
    #11
  13. audi_a3_turbo
    Offline

    audi_a3_turbo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2010]
    i just thought that the apollo one looks oky as it is an enclosed unit.
    #12
  14. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,554
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Feb 18, 2010]
    Surely that makes no difference if there is a cold air feed going down to where the "el cheapo" ones mount anyway? You can quite clearly see the cold air feed in that photo...By using words like "risk" and "el cheapo" you make them seem ****, when they quite simply aren't.

    From my experience with those I'd spend the saved £100 on an F007P instead of an air filter which you don't really need anyway! Because as you say a standard setup if fine for the power anyway, the only reason to fit a filter to an A3 is for the sound!
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2010
    #13

Share This Page