1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

not a good start to owning a dtm help needed

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by DTM-Edition, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    got home this morning to my newly purchased dtm my dad had it on the charge as it was flat when he lifted it so i replaced the battery.
    all was good the car started ok but the remote wouldn't lock the car but i had to go for a spin came back had the car off and on a few times all was ok

    the car was running on the street and i popped the boot to wash round it and the car cut off and now wont start
    anyone any ideas
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. solaris
    Offline

    solaris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    When you replace the battery you need to start the car press and hold all four window buttons down for 5 secs and then lift and hold all buttons for 5 secs. That will reprogram your key.
    #2
  4. Cabbyfan
    Offline

    Cabbyfan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    19
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    While standing on one leg whistling the star spangled banner :)
    #3
  5. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    didnt work car still just turning over but not firing up
    #4
  6. Wrath
    Offline

    Wrath Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,189
    Likes Received:
    41
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    Is it worth trying another battery? If that works then either something is draining the battery or the alternator isn't charging it.
    #5
  7. arthurfuxake
    Offline

    arthurfuxake Controversial & Contradictive

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 14, 2011]
    Do u get a flashing imobiliser light on the dash when turning over the engine. Sounds like the key and imobiliser are out of sync.
    #6
  8. benr
    Offline

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Surely it wouldn't turn over if it was the immo.
    #7
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,221
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    It depends on how the Immo works.
    Some cuts spark, fuel, starter or all of the above.

    I'd go with arthurfuxake, re-sync the key to the car.
    #8
  10. benr
    Offline

    benr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Messages:
    819
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    You don't re-sync the immobiliser. It doesn't just loose its pairing.

    If it is the immobiliser kicking in then there will be a fault with either the key or the immo system.

    But yeah as above check any lights on the dash.

    edit:
    Just turn the ignition on, if the key flashes then its the immo.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
    #9
  11. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    You do have fuel in the car don't you ?
    #10
  12. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Try the spare key to see if that works.
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2011
    #11
  13. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Ok got it on vagcom had a load of faults mainly because of the battery but there was a fault with one of the ignition coils so I replaced it with one out of my mothers TT and still no change.
    Yes I have fuel in it I'm not an idiot lol it's still pumping fuel ok as I can hear the pump priming an I can smell it from the exhaust after churning for a while
    When I run the onboard computer check it brings up no problems either
    I have heard of the ignition coil loom burning out any one any ideas
    #12
  14. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Ok got it on vagcom had a load of faults mainly because of the battery but there was a fault with one of the ignition coils so I replaced it with one out of my mothers TT and still no change.
    Yes I have fuel in it I'm not an idiot lol it's still pumping fuel ok as I can hear the pump priming an I can smell it from the exhaust after churning for a while
    When I run the onboard computer check it brings up no problems either
    I have heard of the ignition coil loom burning out any one any ideas
    #13
  15. auroan
    Offline

    auroan Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,673
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    Post the fault codes then
    #14
  16. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 15, 2011]
    cleared them....... oops
    #15
  17. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,221
    Likes Received:
    1,039
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    Rescan after trying to start and see if they come back.
    #16
  18. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    Replaced coil and new set of plugs and no change at all I've give up and sent it to a local diagnostic guru il keep you'd informed
    #17
  19. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    554
    [Mar 16, 2011]
    lol 1 coil wouldnt stop it starting
    if its not the immo you realy need the codes
    pity you didnt keep the codes
    id go for a bad batt fuel pump immo link wire
    #18
  20. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    possible high pressure fuel pump failure tests done only putting out 53psi and should be putting out 200psi or so i have have been told.
    more tests to follow!!!
    #19
  21. sewell10
    Offline

    sewell10 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    let us no fella with the out come
    #20
  22. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,063
    Likes Received:
    554
    [Mar 17, 2011]
    did you get it started then
    #21
  23. DTM-Edition
    Offline

    DTM-Edition New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    all fixed the high pressure fuel pump was the problem! got it replaced and vagcom'd all good for the road now only i cant drive it because im on a night shift [​IMG]
    #22
  24. dubdemand
    Offline

    dubdemand VAG Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Glad to hear it got sorted out for you... Can't believe noone has bullied you for pics yet!?!

    Get 'em up! lol
    #23
  25. dubdemand
    Offline

    dubdemand VAG Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Glad to hear it got sorted out for you... Can't believe noone has bullied you for pics yet!?!

    Get 'em up! lol
    #24

Share This Page