1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Noob -TDI S LINE Problems - Engine Warning

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by D'janiero, May 28, 2013.

1. D'janiero

D'janiero New Member

[May 28, 2013]
    Hi guys,

I'm new to the Audi scene and purchased an 05 A3 TDI S line DSG last weekend.
    The car seemed Ok, had full Audi Service history, my mechanic checked it over etc.
    However, after around an hour after leaving the Dealership I bought it from, the engine warning light came on.

Although I didnt take a warranty out on the car, I was so annoyed I contacted the Salesman, and took it back to the dealership.
    They got their mechanic to check it over and said the fault codes found were a glow plug (didnt tell me on which cylinder), and a boostsensor.
    The mechanic cleared the fault codes, and the salesman assured me not to worry as the car is still driving OK.
    He insisted that I must have been driving full throttle at some point for the car to overboost, (I've been driving like Miss Daisy all weekend, just getting used to the car, so it hasn't been driven hard) and the fault code must have came up because it has been sat on the forecort for a while.
    He also suggested that I shouldnt worry about the glow plugs as they're a cheap fix.
    I explained that I wasnt happy given the amount I had paid the car, only for it throw up faults literally an hour after I drove away.
    However, The Salesman explained that, as I didnt pay the asking price for the car, he was unable to offer me a warranty with the sale; but was more than willing to give me a warranty for an additional £55 which would cover me for upto £500 in expenses.

So I'm unsure what to do from here e.g pay for the warranty to get the car fixed, or a friend of mine suggested to look into citizens advice about my consumer rights??