1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

non original radio flashing but wont turn on, any help???

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by parma, Oct 12, 2009.

  1. parma

    parma smash it, don't bash it!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, i was losing power in my car so my mate said easiest thing to do is disconect the radio, so i did and it didnt stop anything.

    in the end it turned out to be the central locking system.

    well ive come to put the radio back in and all its doing is lighting up when the head lights are on but not accually turning on at all. the red lights under the facia front flash quickly but irregularly.12 volt is being sent to the radio btw

    has any 1 else experienced this and no how to cure it??

    many thanks for reading
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Is it getting 12v both on the permanent live and the ignition live?

    What deck is it?
     
  4. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Also check the fuse on the back of the HU. As Oranoco says it needs 2 seperate 12v feeds in order to function.
     
  5. parma

    parma smash it, don't bash it!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeh its getin 12v on the permanent wire and 12v on the other wire when you turn the lights on.
    yeh the fuse on the back is fine too, its not the radio i think because i tryed another radio just now and its done the same :(

    gettin abit complecated for a radio lol
     
  6. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Check the fuse on the car itself for the stereo circuit. I'm assuming it's fitted with ISO plugs and some clot hasn't hacked the wiring plugs out?
     
  7. parma

    parma smash it, don't bash it!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    yep fuse is fine and tested it for no small break dwn and plugs are fine 12v goin through them and back out. this is realy confusing me now :( cheers
     
  8. Oranoco

    Oranoco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,529
    Likes Received:
    284
    Just a thought but try taking the earth out the loom and put a wire straight from the HU wiring to a ground point and see what that does. Wondering if you have an earthing issue?
     
  9. parma

    parma smash it, don't bash it!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok ill go have a quick try, get bk to ya in a bit
     
  10. andybnwc

    andybnwc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need 2 live feeds when the ignition is on regardless of the headlights so forget about that one for now. These shoud be be going to the red and yellow cables at rear of the headunit . The orange is for illumination ie from headlamps for auto dim etc. If for example you are missing a constant feed then when the ign is on you will prob get the power light on and maybe even be able to eject discs. But the unit will still not power up without the 2 feed both red and yellow.

    Quick recap cables at headunit end need to be as follows
    yellow -constant feed regardless of whats going on ie lights off and key out
    red- over 12v live when ignition is on
    orange when - over 12v when headlamps turn on.
    Black - earthed at all times ,if this is picking up power at any time you have a problem.

    If this still does not work join the red and the yellow together and put on a live feed and earth the black directly to bare metal just to test the actuall headunit.
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Also disconnect everything from the HU apart from the black power ISO connector and see if it powers up. Could be you have a short somewhere if a second HU has the same problem. If it works then plug connectors back in one by one and see what causes the power down.
     
  12. parma

    parma smash it, don't bash it!

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive got it workin :p so much of a relief, thort i was goin crazy with something so simple!!

    i got it working bi splicing the red to yellow lead between the head unit and female iso connectors because there was no red lead running in to the iso connector. makes me wonder how it ever worked with out having ignition power going in to before i took it out :S

    thanks for all the help uve been reali reali helpful :icon_thumright::respekt::rockwoot:
    this is how happy i am now ive got music back :jump:

    thanks agen
     
  13. andybnwc

    andybnwc Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    0
    best thing you can do now is run a ignition from the buzz bar under the steering column left one marked x75 that way you wont get any drains when left for a while or acidentally leaving it on.
     

Share This Page